Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: We liked the location of the landscaping, size of the room and outdoor seating areas where one could enjoy a warm cup of coffee.
Cons: Size of the shower and install Mr. Slim mini splits in the rooms. Our AC was not working, but we cracked the window and that worked for us.
Location: The property is tucked in a beautiful neighborhood, which borders the beach. It was a short drive away from restaurants and retail.
We loved the location, willingness of the staff to assist the guests needs and the intimate feel of the property. We arrived after normal check in times and all the restaurants in the city were closed, the staff called everyone they believed would be open, but nothing was available. Instead of saying sorry about our luck, they went above and beyond to get me a bowl of cereal, which helped. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Garden

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The garden
Cons: Room furnishings
Location: The beach is very close
Very close to the beach. Courteous staff. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
It was a short get away. The location is walking distance to the beach. Andrea, the manager, was able to resolve our concern. We will stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2016
very nice place stay good view and close to the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Nice hotel. Close to beach

Posted May 18, 2016
Nice, older hotel. Because it is older the rooms are smaller with small bathrooms. It was clean and the staff was lovely. The continental breakfast was great and the coffee was wonderful. It's a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on the planet! Loved it
5 out of 5
by Dennis from Cambria

Comfort first.

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Quiet neigborhood, friendly staff, and good morning breakfast. This small very cute lhotel is close enough to Carmel center to walk to but far from any noise, and affordable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Discovery Bay, California

First time in Carmel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Proximity to ocean, breakfast, staff
Cons: There was a tacky looking tarp on the lobby roof, and a few areas where duct tape were on the exterior walls. Room didn't have a good odor.
Stayed the weekend of April 15 - 17 and had an amazing time. Good price for being so close to the beach. Our room was furthest from the ocean and we could still hear the waves crashing with the window open. Staff was really nice, breakfast was great and cozy with a big fireplace, and it seems they prioritize keeping the grounds and rooms clean. My only complaints would be that the room had a strange odor to it ( 2nd floor, Rm. 7 ). I have already recommended Colonial Terrace to others interested in visiting the area and will continue to do so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint relaxing beauty!

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
The staff, especially Helen, was incredibly welcoming, pleasant and extremely accommodating. The hotel is in a great area. So nice to hear the waves crashing from your room. The room was quite spacious and in working order, shower a bit small but worked fine for us. A five minute drive to shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay again. Btw, the breakfast was delish!