Ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Garden

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: The garden
Cons: Room furnishings
Location: The beach is very close
Very close to the beach. Courteous staff. Good breakfast.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 19, 2016
It was a short get away. The location is walking distance to the beach. Andrea, the manager, was able to resolve our concern. We will stay again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 22, 2016
very nice place stay good view and close to the beach
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from M

Nice hotel. Close to beach

Posted May 18, 2016
Nice, older hotel. Because it is older the rooms are smaller with small bathrooms. It was clean and the staff was lovely. The continental breakfast was great and the coffee was wonderful. It's a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on the planet! Loved it
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Discovery Bay, California

First time in Carmel

Posted Apr 22, 2016
Pros: Proximity to ocean, breakfast, staff
Cons: There was a tacky looking tarp on the lobby roof, and a few areas where duct tape were on the exterior walls. Room didn't have a good odor.
Stayed the weekend of April 15 - 17 and had an amazing time. Good price for being so close to the beach. Our room was furthest from the ocean and we could still hear the waves crashing with the window open. Staff was really nice, breakfast was great and cozy with a big fireplace, and it seems they prioritize keeping the grounds and rooms clean. My only complaints would be that the room had a strange odor to it ( 2nd floor, Rm. 7 ). I have already recommended Colonial Terrace to others interested in visiting the area and will continue to do so.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint relaxing beauty!

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
The staff, especially Helen, was incredibly welcoming, pleasant and extremely accommodating. The hotel is in a great area. So nice to hear the waves crashing from your room. The room was quite spacious and in working order, shower a bit small but worked fine for us. A five minute drive to shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay again. Btw, the breakfast was delish!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hbg, PA

Great staff.

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Driving PCH and wanted a place convenient to Monterey. Easy drive to 17 mile drive. East walk to beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 4, 2016
Pros: The staff was great.....
Cons: VERY MUCH MISLEADING ON ADVERTISING of the HOTEL>>>MORE LIKE A MOTEL> IT"S CUTE BUT NOT WORTH THE PRICE WAY WAY TOO FAR FROM EVERYTHING>
was very disappointed the ratings were not correct. The walk to beach was close to the cliff could not get down. Thet said the walk to shopping was 6 minutes...try 20 minutes. Six minutes by CAR> the picture of Hotel shows the Water...only from one place on walkway. Looked like almost every room could see some water. Smokebutts in can outside our door,had to ask to clean up after a day went by. We were put into the back as far as possible in corner with our window showing out to bankside of hotel into the bushes. I checked into other hotels at time of stay...could have been in downtown Carmel on MAIN STREET>>>OCEAN ST> for same cost 179.00 a nite. In fact I booked the room 2MONTHS ahead & got a mess for 2 LONG DAYS>>>>Sorry I will not be able to book any more hotels with you in the future. Colleen Melton
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cute, Throwback Hotel

Posted Feb 29, 2016 on Hotels
The room was dated, but cute and well maintained. It reminded me of old school New Jersey beach hotels. We had a gas fireplace, which was nice. The bed was comfortable and we walked to the downtown main shopping area. It took about 15 minutes. The beach was a 3 minute walk and very pretty. You can walk along the beach to get to Carmel River state park. You are also within a 5 minute drive of Point Lobos state park, which is worth seeing. The free parking was convenient. We would stay here again. Although the town itself does not have much nightlife. There is nothing to do after 10pm. If you're looking for a livelier location, try Monterey.