Ratings based on 1,494 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely location, clean rooms, and a fireplace!

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Just a comment to help the Inn staff staff better serve the guests in the future... We noticed the two staff were a little frazzled at check-in. Even with phones ringing and multi-tasking, it's important to attend to the guests, be calm, and let them know, "We'll be right with you."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Very nice, clean, quiet, and close to Monterey and Carmel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great economy hotel for a reasonable price.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
My first stay at this hotel was in 2011 and it was a great experience. Six years later, I continue to be satisfied with the high quality of service at a good price. This is an ideal choice for a short-term stay in the Monterey area, especially when you're on a travel budget. I would definitely recommend Colton Inn to both friends and family alike.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Cannery Row.

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: The hotel was located close to where we needed to go by car. Also, it was walking distance to many eateries which we thought was great.
Location: Had a wonderful breakfast/brunch at Rosines which is walking distance from the hotel.
Enjoyed our one night stay at the Colton Inn. The clerk at the desk was very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean room, clean bed, breakfast ok.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Overall Good choice and I would return as location fit the bill.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Pleasantly surprised...

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: Great value for the money. Clean. Rooms had great amenities and space.
Cons: n/a. For the price, the value is great.
Location: Hotel was within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. 10-15min walk to wharf. 20-25min walk to cannery row.
My wife and I stayed at the Colton Inn late June 2017. The hotel was clean and rooms were spacious. It worked out great for us. Hotel was close to restaurants and shopping which made it great for walking. Also, free parking was a great surprise. Overall we were pleasantly surprised at the value and amenities. Clean, free parking, free Wi-Fi and walking distance to great restaurants. Perfect place for a weekend getaway.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet neighborhood

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Nice quiet place in residential area close enough to numerous restaurants and the Warf.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pleasant. Good location. Near beach and restaurants.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from modesto, ca.

Half mile to downtown

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Quiet location.
Cons: Better mattresses.
Location: Close to downtown.
Room clean, mattress very firm, not pillow top . Free breakfast...not great. Quiet neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacrameto

Close to the aquarium

Posted Jun 10, 2017
It was nice and comfortable. I liked that it was quiet.