Ratings based on 1,451 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Great location

Posted May 22, 2017
The Inn is wonderfully average. Great for the price... not a hotel, but hey you're in Monterey so are you really staying inside anyway?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nicely renovated hotel

Posted May 21, 2017
Much better than average hotel fir this price. Great new rooms and lovely pool area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant budget option

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: The combination of quality and price was a winner! We also appreciated the refrigerator and microwave combination to help us with some cheap meals.
Cons: The room set up needs to be able to take advantage of the fireplace and needs a larger table for eating in-room.
Location: The motel is located on a main road, very near City Hall. It is a short distance to the old town restaurants, and a slightly furtger to the water.
The Colton is a motel-style property located within easy driving distance (and walking, if you don't mind an enjoyable walk through the city) of Fisherman's Wharf. Our room was large and clean. There was a fireplace that appeared to be working (using a DuraLog). The room was not set up so that one could relax either on the bed or in the chair and still see the fire, though, so we never used that option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to Conference Center and pier.

Posted May 12, 2017
Great option to the higher priced big hotels. And not as ragged as the worn down cheaper places. Rooms are quiet, reasonably updated. Service is good and I always come back to the Colton Inn.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from torono

Quiet and clean hotel.

Posted May 1, 2017
Walking distance to almost all locations. Staff are friendly. Community is quiet, friendly and safe.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa

Your online rating is inflated for this hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Little
Cons: Expedia should be more specific
No Central Heat - just a fancy space heater Advertised as having a fireplace -- there was one facing the closet and not within view -- It's on a busy street and a bit noisy. The Continetal breakfast was in the small foyer -- too crowed for four people to stand - no seating.. It wasn't awful.. but disappointing when compared to the current online rating. Not what I was expecting. I blame expedia more that teh hotel for how the place is presented.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
First hostess was not helpful and grumpy. The second one (in the morning) was just the opposite. Room OK. Location OK
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Z

Comfortable stay

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We had a pleasant experience at the Colton Inn. The rooms were spacious and clean. We got a standard two-queen room. It comfortably fit my family of four. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. The hotel offers complimentary continental breakfast, and they have a nice patio to eat breakfast outside. I'd recommend this hotel. It is close to Monterrey attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bothell, Washington

Walk to excellent restaurants and wharf

Posted Apr 9, 2017
This is a nice hotel. Breakfast is just fruit, pastries etc. we walked about 6 blocks to Rosine's each day - awesome!! The room was always clean and they were very accomodating when we needed anything. Front desk people were very helpful with suggestions for anything. The deck in the back was nice on a warm evening and there are lots of historic buildings around. We would stay here again!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Like motel 6

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Nothing like the website, reminded me of a motel 6. Tv didn't work, fireplace had a Duraflame log.