Ratings based on 1,834 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice cheap hotel close to aquarium

Posted Sep 21, 2017
cheap and nice facilities, only 10min drive from aquarium and easy to find
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location ,horribly dirty carpet, freezinpool

Posted Sep 12, 2017
I choose this place for the pool that was supposed to be heated, it was freezing! The location was good, the room was large and it had a refrigerator and microwave. But the carpet was so filthy! Pack baby wipes, flip flops or slippers so you can hop in and out of bed. I spent our stay yelling at my kids to keep feet toys and everything off the floor. I kept saying "The floor is lava". It was very gross and left black stains all over our feet. But the rest of room was clean despite a few things that needed updates.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are desperately disappointed with your review, to discover that you didn't have the wonderful stay with us that the vast majority of our guests have. Many people love the refreshment that our pool gives, particularly at this time of year. We are looking at deep-cleaning our carpets to freshen them up, as some of them are perhaps a bit tired looking. We would love for you to stay with us again - we are sure that everything will be to your satisfaction on your return visit. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, we really appreciate it. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tracy, CA

Motel Location good

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Close to ocean
Cons: fix the floors.
Location: close to everything
Can't sleep the floor make this weird noise when people walk upstairs room. I was just a nightmare and a big mistake stay in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that your fellow guests disturbed you to such an extent, and that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Super dirty. The rudest service and management. Location was terrible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your visit to our hotel. Perhaps, in the future, we can welcome you back and your experience will prove more positive. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointing facilities

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I was very disappointed by the fact that there were not enough parking spaces for all the guests. When asked by staff to accommodate, her attitude was noncaring, and unfriendly. When we had no other choice, but to stay there, again, I was disappointed to find out there was no bell service, no elevator and we had to carry all of our belongings up to the 2nd fl. The stairwell was dirty and sticky, as was the pool, and no room service. Yucky place to stay for over $500 for 2 nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to hear that our property was not entirely suitable for you. Monterey is an expensive area, and we are known for the great value that we provide here. In saying that, we do not have all of the facilities that the more expensive hotels in town have, and we are sorry if this is what you were expecting. We would dearly love to have more parking available for our guests, but, unfortunately, space around our hotel is very much at a premium. We do facilitate as many guests as we possibly can, but unfortunately, when we are very busy, some guests can't find a spot. We are very sorry for the inconvenience that this caused you. We appreciate your feedback, and we are sorry that our hotel was not better suited to your needs. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto, Ca.

Too noisy for comfort

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Cons: New beds, & new location.
Location: Monterey is one of the best places in the country; great food, great atmosphere, awesome Aquarium, Cannery Row, can't be beat!
Very noisy, low flying planes directly overhead. Load music playing until 3:00 am. Soft, lumpy, uncomfortable beds, with overstuffed pillows! Certainly not a place I would ever stay again, or recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry that you did not enjoy the wonderful, comfortable stay with us that the vast majority of our guests have. It is a pity that our property was not more suitable for your needs, but we appreciate you choosing to stay with us on this occasion; thank you. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pool not heated that's why I booked this hotel I asked for a credit they said they can't as I booked thru expedia I am disapointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that we were unable to assist you with canceling or changing your reservation. If you are staying with us, or indeed any hotel, again, do consider booking directly with the hotel, and you will have much more flexibility in relation to your booking and making changes. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we are sorry that our pool was such a disappointment to you. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 24, 2017
it was ok for my purpose. I went with family we had 2 rooms,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback; we are pleased that we provided suitable accommodation for you and your family. We hope to welcome you back if you require accommodation again in this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF BAY AREA

Noise Motel

Posted Aug 22, 2017
I knew I was staying in a motel in Monterey but expect little higher quality been in that city. I've stayed in others and had no problem. This motel was right next to a dance club and adult bookstore. So you can hear the music all night long. Also small airport nearby and jets fly very low over the motel, very noisy. The rooms were also dirty, as we found hair in our bathtub. The water pressure was terrible that I had to wash my face in the bathtub because of water coming out of the sink was trickling very slow. The air conditioning unit in the room was leaking water that I actually slipped in. Also the TV didn't work. Asked to change rooms but unfortunately they were booked so we were stuck staying in the room as there was no other rooms available anywhere. I would not stay here again and would not recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasing stay with us; it sounds as if our location and our property were not particularly suitable for your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

'Cheap'ish, and close to activities

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Overall not bad. Clean, quiet. Kind of on the outskirts of town, by the airport but within two and a half miles you can drive and be Brighton Monterey
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It was our pleasure to be your host on your recent visit. We are happy that everything was to your liking, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Monterey. Thank you for your review! Best wishes, Hotel Management