Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice staff and great breakfast

Posted Dec 21, 2016
very comfortable! everything is good. your staffs are professional, helpful and friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pinole

Needs Updating

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: We like the location.
Cons: Update all the rooms.
Location: Convenient location to the pebble beach golf courses, carmel, monterey cannery row, Monterey Aquarium.
We used to stay at this hotel every time we come to the Monterey and we have stopped staying at this hotel for quite some time due to the rooms needs serious updating and the room rates keeps going up. This stay our room has a mildew odor. and all the sinks in room does not drain well.The breakfast cook was late serving both mornings we at the hotel. Breakfast was suppose to start at 7am but the cook was not ready until 10 minutes later. When you are on a schedule 10 minutes is more time than we can spare.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Nice hotel close to pier.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
The hotel was ok. The only issues were some candy wrappers scattered next to one of the beds. That gave us the impression the room was not vacuumed and in the morning when we woke up there was a spider over my kids bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from visitor from Texas

Convenient to Monterrey and Carmel sightseeing.

Posted Nov 26, 2016
The hotel is in need of a facelift. One of the 3 elevators was unavailable which made for long waits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville CA

Great hotel, for aquarium and locale

Posted Nov 24, 2016
I had seen mixed reviews so I didn't know what to expect but everything about our stay was brilliant. We decided to break or Thanksgiving week trip to Legoland and Universal Studios and stop at the Monterey aquarium. I tried to book close to the aquarium but I'm glad I booked the Embassy because the aquarium area is so busy and crowded and this gets you out a bit. Why is it awesome?: Spacious carpark, incredibly nice and welcoming and helpful staff, great rooms - we easily fitted 5 in ours, great free breakfast in spacious dining room, good rate, clean and spacious. Also walking distance to Chilis- who do cater for gluten allergy/celiac of my family members. After the hustle and bustle of the aquarium, great place to escape and explore the locale.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs a facelift.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
As soon as we walked in, we commented this hotel seemed dated. One of the elevators was closed down which made for a lengthy wait. The rooms were a nice size but the bedding appeared old, carpet felt dirty, and the bathtub stained. Not up to Embassy Suites standards.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best hotel in Seaside; the Oakland of Monterey

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: The inclusive breakfast was amazing and the evening drinks were nice for relaxation.
Cons: The stairway is always a nice option but was extremely creepy. Why have room windows facing the interior of the building and windows without privacy?
Location: The hotel is reasonably close to Monterey and has a nice view from some of the rooms. Golf Courses, sea life, and tourist-oriented activities galore
Hotel check-in was very simple. There were many people staying at the hotel but the staff was able to accommodate everyone nicely. Happy hour provided complementary age-appropriate drinks each evening and a nice breakfast in the morning. The drawback is the hotel's fee for each night of parking that does not provide any assurance against theft or vandalism in an area outside of Monterey and in a commercial neighborhood. Another issue we had with the hotel is the design of having an interior facing window (next to the door) that allows passers-by to look through the living room of the suite and into the bathroom when not secured adequately. The design is unnecessary and just odd. Exterior windows lacked privacy shades, with sheer whites in their place. These are most often used to let ambient light in, and allow people outside to see inside when lit. Lastly, the bathroom left much to be desired in way of ventilation and fixtures. Overall the hotel is quite nice due to the customer service features but is not on par with elegant hotels yet lacks the privacy offered by a more affordable motel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from braden, fl

There was only on elevator opertaing .

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The staff did what the could. The construction was bad.
Cons: Only one elivator in opertation. Emergancy exits closed. TVs did not work proper. Wait time for elivator over 15 mins. Way to much construction to be rented. Sign at entry warned that cancer causing cleaning used . Never will stay again.
Location: Sea and monterey
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, USA

Great Hotel and Good Location

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast buffet is excellent with lots of healthy options. While we did not participate in the Happy Hour - the options looked good - chips and salsa and vegetables with dip. Hotel room was so nice as there was a living area with a TV as well as a TV in the bedroom. Adding this to my list of preferred Hotels to stay at in future. This particular location was close Fisherman's Wharf, Monterrey Bay Aquarium, and Cannery Row.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from US

Great family vacation location

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast, indoor pool, Starbucks in the lobby and close proximity to a number of destinations.
Cons: Room service missed a day. Room was a bit dirty until they came by after two phone calls.