Ratings based on 1,568 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Renovation

Posted May 15, 2017
The hotel should disclose the extent of the work being done which is really big. They only say it's the lobby and parking lot which is not true. The entire atrium is closed, partner the restaurant, arcade, and rooms which means a lot of noise. It is extremely dusty. We love this place and usually go there 3-4 times a year. We will definitely wait for all the work to finish.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Potentially beautiful hotel- remodel

Posted May 9, 2017
While we were there the hotel was being remodeled. It was very inconvenient to not have water from 9am to 5 pm each day. In addition, there was one working elevator each day for all of the guests. This means that we either had to take the stairs or wait for long periods of time. We usually LOVE all of our Embassy Suite stays. We love the rooms, hors'd oeuvres and breakfast. Hopefully, we will get to go back when the extensive remodel is done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento

Hotel with almost 60 percent under costraction

Posted May 9, 2017
We got there with familly reunion from Dubai and Canada and Southern California.when we got there it looked like construction zone with machinary.4 level and complete lobby was under complete remodeling.there was no notification on Expedia website.when we called they said the hotel had not notified them!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad experience/fraud with hotel management

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Free hot/cold breakfast
Cons: honesty and integrity
Location: Hotel is about 15 minute drive to main downtown tourist area
Hotel was under major renovation/construction. Construction was 7 days a week, 9am to 6pm. Drilling/jackhammer was so loud you could not inhabit the room. However corporate mgt knew this work is going to take 5 months but still let Expedia and their own reservation system book the rooms as if there was not a problem. When I checked in for 3 days (over $1000) all we were told was “Pardon our dust”. No explanation that there would be a problem. This is almost fraud. 4 hours later I complained and was offered a discount on the room of less than 10% but the desk person would have to call me back and confirm...never heard back. When I checked out I asked about the bill adjustment and was suddenly told that it would be $100 a night which I accepted (those that didn’t ask got nothing). I understand construction had to be done and it would take all day but it should not have been on weekends and they should have been honest about it from when the rooms were made available to book.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel renovation

Posted May 2, 2017
When we checked in the Hotel Staff warned us of the Hotel Renovation. Loud pounding noises from the heavy machine. This hotel gives complimentary drinks during happy hour and buffet breakfast. Free parking during renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Luis Obispo, CA

Wish they told us about construction

Posted Apr 23, 2017
My family & I (wife, 3 kids under 8) went to spend 1 night in Monterey to see the Aquarium and sightsee around the Pebble Beach area. Hotel seemed like a perfect fit, but we were not told about the MAJOR renovation project going on there, taking away 1/2 the point of choosing this hotel. Would go back, but definitely not until it's completely revised.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under construction

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Stayed one night, had a two rooms suite. Breakfast buffet was very good. Hotel is under major renovation. Construction in the lobby, some floors are taking place every day from 9 to 6. Stuff was very accommodating. We have been offered a complementary food and drinks.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel was being renovated.

Posted Apr 17, 2017
The hotel was being renovated. It smelled very bad both in the hallways and room. The noise was so loud due to the jack hammering that was happening during the day. I would never stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from E

Good breakfast.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
I had a very bad experience at the Embassy suites the hotel was going under construction so it was noisy and ugly plastic covers all over the hotel also the put me and my wife on the third floor. our room was extremely noisy because it was surrounded by AC and heating units those are huge and extremely noisy units and that was our view from every angle or every windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Great for family stay with kids!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
This hotel offers one of the best values in the Monterey area and it is excellent for families. They offer a complimentary buffet style breakfast in the central courtyard section. There is an indoor pool and a hot tub that is very popular with kids. Plus, there is a happy hour with a good selection of free drinks! We were certainly impressed with the place. Highly recommended.