Ratings based on 300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
It is the worst motel I have stayed in my entire travel in the states. No comment on it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Dilapidated Motel needs massive renovation

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: It was close to some nice places to eat.
Cons: Overall appearance.
Location: Restaurants
Confusing Motel setup. Owners own two motels side by side. Had to go between motels to find staff. Room had a dirty smell to it. Continental breakfast was almost nonexistent. Walls are paper thin. Would not recommend to others.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to business and ok parking

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: the rooms arte roomy
Cons: the tv cable dint work and front desk people are to rude
Location: restaurants and many stores
shed cover are clean but the towels not good the all
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca

Gateway Thunderbird Motel

Posted Jun 28, 2015
The staff are friendly and helpful. The motel is inexpensive compared to other similar "motels" versus "hotels" in Seaside/Monterey/Sand City/Marina area. The motel is very conveniently located to restaurants, shops and nearby stores. The exterior building needs to be painted and cleaned up. Interior rooms have newly remodeled bathrooms and are clean. The motel is old and the rooms are small, not much that the owners can do about that. The walls are thin so it isn't the most quiet - try to get a room at the back where there is less traffic noise. Everything inside the room is decent for the price. The room comes with a mini fridge and a microwave, which is a nice thing to have. Television in the room is small. I would stay here again if money was tight, and I was just looking for a place to sleep before heading out for a day on the coast. It felt safe and met the need for a place to sleep for a night when traving through Monterey.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Renoviertes Motel, leider mit Bettwanzen

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Wir waren bis zum Zeitpunkt, als wir am naechsten Tag die Bettwanzenbisse entdeckten eigentlich sehr zufrueden mit dem Motel. Normales Preis-Leistungsverhaeltnis fuer amerikanische Verhaeltnisse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ansprechendes Motel, leider gab es Bettwanzen

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Das Motelzimmer war zwar renoviert und auch augenscheinlich sehr sauber, wir haben uns am Tag des Aufenthalts sehr wohl gefuehlt. Auch das Bett war sehr bequem. Am naechsten Tag stellte mein Partner allerdings fest, dass er wiedermal von Bettwanzen gebissen worden war in der Nacht. Leidet ein haeufiges Problem in Californien Positiv: Nach entsprechender Beschwerde im Motel wurde Rueckzahlungsauftrag an Expedia seitens des Motels in Auftrag gegeben und Beauftragung eines Kammerjaegers versichert.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bettwanzen im Zimmer

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Das Motel ist an sich ok, eine typisch amerikanische Unterkunft. Was gar nicht geht sind die Bettwanzen. Diese widerlichen Wanzen saugen Blut, hinterlassen Bissstellen, welche erst anschwellen und spaeter Wasserblasen hinterlassen. Auch allergische Reaktionen sind aufgetreten. Das Motel hat zwar Rueckerstattung des Preises ueber Expedia zugesichert, bis jetzt habe ich jedoch noch kein Geld erhalten.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gutes Hotel

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: Gute Lage
Location: gut Essen gehen.
Gutes und sauberes Hotel. Gute Parkmöglichkeiten. Es is nicht weit bis zum Stadtzentrum.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Carlos CA and Germany

Nice and pleasant

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Nice and clean, good location to the freeway.
Cons: Maybe a coffeemaker in the room.
Location: good, and in easy reach to the beach, to Monterey and Carmel and Pebble beach.
Pleasantly surprised after having read many negative reviews. (We do not understand why) We did not have any. On the contrary people were friendly, they even let us check-in in the morning. The room was neat and clean, coffee we got at the reception and the bed was just excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 10, 2015
IT IS VERY NICE. CLEAN. THE BREAKFAST COULD BE IMPROVED. THE CHECK OUT TIME COULD BE LATTER AND THAT WOULD BE BETTER. IN A WORD, IT PRETTY GOOD AND IT IS A VALUABLE PRICE IN PALO ALTO.