Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room in a GREAT location

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: Location, room, cleanliness, views!
Cons: Since breakfast was included, we think they could have served a few more selections.
Location: The hotel is situated right across the street from a scenic trail along the waterfront. Also close to Monterey Aquarium and Canary.
This was our first experience at a B&B inn. My wife and I are pretty experienced travelers however we've never stayed at a B&B. We both agreed that the Green Gables Inn was a wonderful experience. Felt homey and our room was very comfortable. The location of the Inn is right across the street from the ocean and the view from our room was awesome! Staff was ok and there we you needed them. The room was well kept as well as the grounds. Also the dinning areas had wonderful views to the beautiful Monterey bay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guatemala

Great View!!!

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: bedding and better breakfast
Really authentic stay! Beautiful property. I would just add a bit more variety to the breakfast! Great staff! Cheers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Don from Hemet, CA

Back again!

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: Location, beauty, historic significance.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Beautiful location on Monterey Bay. Near Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive.
Excellent experience, as usual. Everything absolutely first rate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by RWS from Pleasanton, CA

superb location, excellent breakfast

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: views, food, friendliness of staff
Cons: bed mattress
Location: walking trail along the ocean; half mile to the aquarium, parks in both directions; drive 5 minutes to the wharf
This Victorian BnB is right across from the ocean where seal lions have their pups and there is a wonderful walking trail to Monterey and Lover's Point (and beyond). Sunday breakfast was very fresh, tasty and well done. The wine/cheese were high quality. Parking is on the street and our room had a shared bath, all in a Victorian setting- very quaint. The bed needs a new mattress- not horrible but not up to current standards for fine hotels. Staff is very friendly and accomodating. Overall a beautiful weekend with one of the most beautiful views in the world..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Ocean view beauty

Posted Apr 4, 2014
We enjoyed the viewing the ocean from the main house as we enjoyed afternoon wine & the breakfast. The place is tastefully decorated with fireplaces making our rainy stay more cozy. Our bed was a bit too soft in rm 11, otherwise I'd give it a perfect score.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Misty

First Class

Posted Jun 8, 2013
Pros: Location cannot be beat. We had a view of the ocean. Very clean and well maintained.
Cons: Put out enough food for all guests at breakfast.
Location: Carmel, Big Sur, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Old Town Monterey.
On past visits we had often driven by this Victorian mansion and wondered what it would be like to stay there. The service is fabulous and our room exceeded our expectations. The only reason why I gave the overall experience 4/5 was there was a couple who checked in shortly after us who brought unruly toddlers. This place is not for kids but I don't know how the staff could have discouraged the family from staying there. With so many lovely antiques around, it is not a place for small children, so people with half a brain traveling with little kids should stay elsewhere. The other negative is there is not enough food put out at breakfast to feed everyone. When we arrived just before 9:00 a.m. the serving dishes were empty. They do put out delicious homemade cookies in the evening along with cream sherry and have coffee, tea, hot chocolate and water available 24/7.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Larry from Sacramento, CA, USA

Fine find.

Posted Mar 8, 2012
Pros: Location and the room
Cons: Narrow stairs
Location: Beautiful - overlooking Monterey Bay, short walk to a number of excellent restaurants and shopping.
The best B&B we've ever stayed in. Terrific location overlooking Monterey Bay, outstanding staff, interesting history. We'll definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Don't let the secret out....

Posted Jan 15, 2011
It was more than I expected. What a wonderful, tranquil retreat.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Strandnähe sehr schön, aber..

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Wer es plüschig liebt und nicht soviel wert auf Komfort für gute Betten und gute Bettwäsche legt, kann sich vielleicht wohlfühlen. Das ganze Hotel bräuchte eine Verjüngungkur