Ratings based on 1,100 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bend, Oregon

Am I paying more just for the name?

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Rooms were clean and hotel was close to the beach.
Cons: The hotel feels like more of a budget hotel. Either the rates should be lower or the hotel could use a renovation.
Location: The location feels a bit odd because ithere isn't much nearby, but its surprisingly close to the beach once you start exploring. Not much else nearby
We just took a trip through California and stayed in several hotels and were most excited for our stay in "The Hilton" assuming it would be a bit more plush than the rest had been. Much to our surprise it was the least luxurious of our rooms on the trip despite costing more, and the $15 fee for parking and no breakfast were added disappointments.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OAKLAND, United States of America

Hotel was fine, purchasing it was not

Posted Nov 27, 2016
The Hilton Garden Inn in Monterey was fine. The room was nice and the staff was professional. What I did not appreciate was Expedia's advertising of a cheaper rate and then "bait and switch." It has happened to me several times that Expedia will post a hotel rate for a cheaper price. Once you click on the hotel, the cheaper price is replaced with the original price. Here, the rate for the Hyatt Monterey was listed at $91/night or $117/night with breakfast. However, when you attempted to purchase the room, the price switched back to the original price ($159). I called Expedia to report the problem, but just got a cursory "apologize for the inconvenience" but they continued to advertise the lower price. While I was on the phone with Expedia, I used another computer to pull up the same listing and the same lower price was advertised, even though the Expedia rep claimed she could not find the cheaper price on her end. There did not seem to be any concern about the issue.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Great location! All the staff made sure you were taken care of.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Room and restaurant.
Cons: Near freeway.
Location: Near the Wharf and downtown.
All the amenities you need.. Central locale. Near PG, Monterey, Carmel, and Seaside.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great Hotel for familys

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Great customer service, room was clean, easy parking and a safe location.
Cons: The room was a little small for a two queen bed room, we had two adults and three kids. We were a little tight but all in all great hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Location: Close to the Aquarium area.
Good area, nice hotel and lots of underground parking for guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

A nice upscale hotel in Monterrey

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Pros: Close to everything we wanted to do in Monterrey and big sur.
Cons: Parking fees
Location: We visted the warf, downtown, restaurants, pebble beach 17 mile drive and big sur via us 1 south.
Clean and neat. Doesn't hurt your wallet. Its a Hilton for sure. Here is what i disliked: Parking is not free. They have plenty of it, so it should really be free. Also this Hilton did not honor my hhonors card since i booked on expedia. But airlines give you miles even if you book through expedia. Why can't Hilton?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel for wheelchair bound person

Posted Sep 26, 2016
What a joke I paid $407 for 1 night. I was suppose to have a roll in shower for my quadraplgic husband & did not get also he couldn't even move around the room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 23, 2016
Pros: location
good location and gave me free parking. Ordered room service never came they ended up going to wrong room. Then delivery free pizza really late which is not what i ordered to make up for mistake. We were already asleep so didnt enjoy
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA and County Cork Ireland

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Loved the pool area. We were there with family (all adults) and took advantage of the pool and hot tub. It was great talking with other international guests and learning about their experiences. The fire pit area was great for lounging and more talking! Will definitely come back.