Ratings based on 113 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, disappointed with hotel staff

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Beautiful location, plenty of restaurants to choose from and very close to the beach.
The room was cosy and clean, a little outdated, but we did not mind. The room walls were very thin, so if you are looking for a quiet place, pray that you are getting nice neighbors. The pool area and bathrooms were clean and nice. The hotel staff- particularly the reception area personnel- were not welcoming at all and they made us feel like we were inconveniencing them. Not a bad place overall, but we did not appreciate noisy and rude neighbors and the people we dealt with at the front desk.
4 out of 5
by Maria

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Nice Carmel location. A little noisy but not terrible. Would stay again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Altes Hotel in teurer Stadt

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Wir übernachteten im Juli 2016 für eine Nacht im Hofsas House. Unser Aufenthalt war gerade so in Ordnung. Anbei eine kurze Liste der Pros und Contras: Pro: -netter Empfang -Pool Cons: -alte Zimmer - sehr hellhörig -Zwischentüren zu anderen Zimmern die bei uns durch die Nachbarn "ausprobiert" wurden bis festgestellt wurde, dass unsere Seite verschlossen ist verging eine Minute. -Frühstück bestand aus Kaffee, Orsngensaft und Kuchenstücken. -kein Frühstückssaal sondern Mitnahme der Speisen auf das Zimmer ohne richtige Frühstücksmöglichkeit
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Motell, lite gammalt, men rent o välhållet , pool, bastu trevligt o lite bättre frukost än snitt motellen . Carmel är inte billigt avseende hotell o detta är ok
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Very close to shops and restautants

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Close to everything do you just park and walk everywhere. A quaint hotel with small pool and breakfast was nice which we took back to our room. Staff very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, Ca.

Clean, great staff, older hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: It is full of old world charm, if you like vintage, this is the place to be.
Cons: Not feasible but enlarge parking lot, elevator to the floors, soundproof the rooms.
Location: Beautiful Carmel...location of hotel was great...waking distance to beach and restaurants.
The staff and the room cleanliness were above reproach, however, it is an older hotel that has some issues. First, parking. We drove our 2016 Chevy Silverado and it was too large for their parking lot. They told us that we could park anywhere on the street; there was a space in front of the hotel, we parked and went to lunch. When we got back they asked us to move the truck because we were in a loading zone. By this time, our choices were limited and we had to park down the street. Next morning there was a smaller car parked where we were. I don't think there was a loading zone problem, just that they didn't want that large of a vehicle in front of the hotel..I wish they would have been honest with us. Second, even if we had been able to park in their lot, the path to our room was a stairway nightmare. I'm in good shape, but carrying our luggage up the stair-maze was difficult. AND we had to make several trips...not a good start to our stay. Third, the walls are paper thin. We could hear the people talking in the next room, and I think someone was wearing combat boots in the room above us. Most of our problems had to do with the age of the hotel and it's location. I want to make it clear that the room was clean and the staff were excellent, but I probably would not return, but find a hotel better suited to our needs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, CA

Nice, old-fashioned, comfortable hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: Everything mentioned above.
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Very easy walking distance to anything one wants to do in Carmel.
I have stayed at this hotel many times over the last 30 years, and it has always been the same. Simple, comfortable, quiet, and well maintained. The pool is lovely, and there's a sauna (nice on those cold summer nights). Some of the rooms have fireplaces, also nice on cold nights. The only problem, if you want to call it one, is that there aren't enough parking spaces for all the rooms, so you may have to park on the street.