Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield Ca

Rude staff

Posted Mar 20, 2017
We got there early and Jose let us check in and said come back in 2 hours to get key to RM 107 on first floor. We came back and he said he did not say that and only room left was on third floor. We are 65 yr old and had to go down and then up two flights of stairs with our luggage, I almost fell. Location was good but won't go back because of what I just wrote.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena CA

Great hotel near Cannery Row

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Cannery Row and it was fresh and clean.
Cons: There was trash on the ground in the parking garage when I arrived and it was still there when I left 3 days later.
Location: Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, lots of restaurants and a great Goodwill thrift store.
I was attending a conference at the Monterey Plaza Hotel but the block of rooms reserved was sold out by the time I registered for the conference. I went to my Expedia account and found the Holiday Inn Express literally just steps away on Wave St and for a room rate 40% less. No view to speak of, at least from my room, but plenty close enough to all the attractions of that part of Monterey and Cannery Row. The room was fresh, clean, well appointed and welcoming. The breakfast (included) was OK - scrambled eggs, veggie omelets, cinnamon rolls etc. Nothing gourmet but gets it done. Also good to have covered parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis

Great trip!

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Arrived to a beautiful sunny day in Monterey! Check-in went smoothly and quickly. Room was large and very clean. Hotel was in a great location! I traveled with my sister and her 5yr old daughter, along with me having to carry my infant son in a front pack- we were in perfectly comfortable walking distance to the aquarium and the wharf in the opposite direction. The complimentary breakfast the hotel provided in the lobby was one of the better ones I've ever seen from a hotel. I normally dont even partake in the offering lets just say, however my niece wanted a snack the first morning as we got ready and when I seen all they had to offer, I quickly made myself a little goodie plate lol! The following morning I was excited to grab one of the delicious muffins I had grabbed the morning prior. Overall, it was a great, very much needed little get away and I would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

One night stopover between SLO and SFO.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The location and the breakfast.
Cons: The pull out sofa and TV location.
Location: Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Seal and Otter watching.
The hotel was a in a great location, walking distance to Cannery Row and the Wharf. The room was spacious ( we had 2 adults and 3 grown children). The pull out sofa was extremely uncomfortable, my son felt like he was sleeping directly on the springs and you heard it every time he moved. The TV was way too far from the beds so watching TV was a bit difficult. The breakfast was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing hotel stay

Posted Mar 4, 2017
My friends and I had a field trip at the Monterey bay aquarium for one of our classes so we decided to book a hotel here so we didn't have to drive a far distance in the morning. This hotel was absolutely perfect for our stay. The staff was very nice and the room was clean and comfortable. In the morning they had the most delicious hotel breakfast I had ever had. They literally had the best omelettes, bacons, biscuits, muffins, fruits, pancakes, you name it! They even had a fridge with not just any yogurt but CHOBANI yogurt!! The good brand! They restocked the breakfast area during the entire breakfast: it was great service. Another bonus was that the staff allowed us to keep our car in their parking garage until after our field trip was done ( around 4) even though we had to check out by 12. This was perfect considering the fact that this hotel is near everything! Literally walking distance to the aquirium and walking distance to cannery row. Truly great stay for a great price!! :)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to c row

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: No comment
Location: Obvious
Cool to walk from room to cr Lots of food nearby Monterey is nature at its best Carmel is nature at its finest This reviewing process is lame
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Comfortable,clean, very nice breakfast and friendly staff.
Conveniently located near Cannery Row. Easy to walk to all shopping, eating and aquarium.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, Nevada

Convenient to Aquarium

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Coffee available 24/7. Free Parking
Location: Perfect location to visit Cannery Row and Monterey Bay Aquarium
Some rooms are more convenient than others. To get to our room on the second floor, we took an elevator, but then had at least 8 steps to go down to get to our room. Not easy if you have luggage or foot trouble. Sofa bed was very uncomfortable. However, king bed was good. Morning breakfast was informal, but adequate for us. All in all, this motel was ok for an overnight or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pennsylvania

Nice place to stay close to Cannery Row

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Clean, convenient and comfortable! Nice place to stay and good rates!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Marin Co., CA

Great hotel for families....walking to Aquarium.

Posted Jan 7, 2017
Pros: clean room, quiet, and very good breakfast...beyond most continental breakfasts.
Location: walking to the Aquarium and Cannery Row was perfect for our kiddos (age 6,8, and 10) boys played at the beach and a harbor seal came 5 feet from us
Family room was perfect for the 5 of us...quiet and plenty of breakfast choices. Our kiddos said they would give it a thumbs UP!!