Ratings based on 755 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Clean, comfortable, and great location.

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Very surprised by how nice this hotel was. Nothing fancy, but very clean, and the beds and pillows were ultra comfortable. The staff was great, and very helpful. Complimentary breakfast was good, and the afternoon cheese and wine hour was a treat. The location is also excellent. Great experience overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pC

Very well located

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Decent hotel. Clean with parking available. Breakfast is just ok but free. Very well located. Walking distance to pretty much everything. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by Jacqueline

Great area

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was centrally located to Cannery row. The breakfast was decent, but full of sweet carbs. I wish they had a plain cereal without so much sugar. The wine and cheese in the afternoon was also very nice. The room was clean. My only complaint was that the towels and linen smelled really bad of sweat. I assume it is related to their linen service. I loved the shower head and water pressure. We were in a room located near the elevator. Unfortunately, the elevator is really loud and the people coming out of it and dragging their bags down every step did not help. We had a great view, but did not get much rest. Do not get a room near the elevator if you are looking to sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stairs Alert

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Closeness to Cannery Row.
Cons: Warning about stairs on upper levels when booking a room.
Ask for the first floor, unless you don't mind navigating as many as two small sets of stairs with your luggage. Some street noise too on the Wave Street side of the hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bathtub in the bedroom!

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Good location Quiet A little tired Good breakfast
5 out of 5
by jay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Shaun

4 day visit

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
Standard Holiday Inn Express stuff really - youget what you pay for. Good size room for two beds and a sofa bed. Great location, quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arcata, California

Made an amazing place even better

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Detailed above.
Cons: My wife who has bad knees had difficulty getting into the bed. I am sure if I had asked for a footstool one would have been provided.
Location: We went on a half day whale watch expedition and saw close to 20 whales and possibly a thousand black dolphins which followed us for 20 some minutes.
My wife, granddaughter and I had a wonderful three day stay at the Holiday Inn Express on Cannery Row. We were able to park our car in the ultra safe underground parking structure and walk everywhere. The room was clean and very comfortable. There was a real attention to details. Example: We loved having the choice of firm or soft pillows. We started the day with an excellent breakfast with choice of omelets, bagels, breads and cinnamon buns. Juices, fruits and of course coffee and teas. Coffee and tea was available throughout the day. Later in the day after returning from the amazing experiences of whale watching and visits to the Monterrey Aquarium we had cheeses, crackers and wines available. The staff was friendly and helpful. And the flowering grounds beautifully calming and pleasing. A great stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 13, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Shavon

Monterey Bay Aquarium Vacation

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The location was walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The free breakfast was good. I did not like that my room was next to the lobby. The free WiFi was great. I would stay at this hotel again when I visit the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Next time I would ask ahead of time for a room away from the lobby