Ratings based on 983 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from California

Cozy but Nice

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: The room and corridors had a Clorox smell from the cleaning of the tile floors.
Location: Hotel is across the street from Monterey Bay and near a nice park with rental boats. Fisherman's Wharf is within walking distance on the bayside path
Rooms are somewhat small but comfortable. Included breakfast was very nice. Also included a wine or beer on rooftop restaurant which also had very tasty appetizers and food. The only minor inconvenience was that there are only small spaces for about 5 cars to park in the back of the hotel. The staff was friendly and attentive. We would return. Note: hotel is for adults only so not a family place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for leaving a review about our hotel! We appreciate the feedback & are glad you noticed that what we lack in size at this boutique hotel- we make up for in charm and attentiveness. While we apologize for the smell of cleaning materials, we would like to note that cleanliness is a top priority here & sometimes the scent of sanitation is unavoidable. However, we will explore other options to keep this at bay. Happy traveling!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Wonderful, but small room.

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Small european feel.
Location: Walk to the cannery, opposite the beach.
Everything wonderful you read about Hotel 1110 is true. But the room I was in (208) was cramped. Very cramped. It seemed that there was a 2 foot to 3 foot perimeter around the bed. Yes, I would definitely stay here again. Rooftop bistro is fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you found your room to be small. We apologize for this & will continue to do everything we can to make sure our guests leave happy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calif

Nice Hotel Old but Fresh.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Great place friendly staff. Nice roof top lounge with a great view and food and drinks. We'll be back for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! Happy traveling.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a hotel! Its an inn

Posted Jul 5, 2017
We got to this "hotel" at 11pm and it was locked. We called and the answering machine said their "business hours end at 9pm". There was an extension for the "inn keeper", when dialed someone picked up saying their check in hours end at 9pm, we said we are stranded on the street outside their hotel and she argued too bad we close check in at 9pm. after some convincing, she said, "ok hold on a second" and hung up the phone on me. After this, my several attempts to call back the inn keeper were unanswered. We were forced to find a new hotel to go to at midnight! I have never been to any hotel that closes check in at any hour. This is not a "hotel" that it claims to be but an inn (with an unresponsive off hours inn keeper). Maybe have prices like an inn and don't claim to be a hotel if you aren't one. Avoid!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Inside is so cute and kind of antique style! Room is a bit small but my bf and i didnt need anything luxurious for our 2 day get away. The complimentary breakfast was great!! Also as guests we got two complimentary drinks on the rooftop lounge. The hotel itself is beautiful and i think its ran by an older couple who were really friendly. The upstairs rooftop service was good up until we received the check and they charged us for the two drinks which we told them from the beginning we had the complimentary tickets. But because they already charged our card they were trying to say they weren't able to fix it because they use ipads blah blah but then a manager came over and basically refunded us the wrong amount and recharged our card the correct amount. This process took like half an hour, waste of time. So just make sure you check what they charge you before you give them your credit card!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing us with your feedback. We are sorry about the confusion with your credit card upstairs. We will continue to do everything we can to train our employees of how to handle such situations. We believe communication is key & appreciate that you have opened this dialogue with us. Happy traveling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Great little find

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: heated bathroom floors, jacuzzi bathtub, comfy bed and crisp linens, mounted wall fireplace, a cute little outside terrace
Cons: More parking options. the bathroom door opened on the outside of the bathroom rather than the inside and got in the way when walking around the room.
Location: Walking distance ~10 blocks to downtown area, restaurants and bars. Monterey bay beach was across the street- Major plus.
Hotel 1110 was great, was checked in right away. Got a complimentary glass of wine at the rooftop lounge overlooking the bay, complimentary Wifi, and complimentary breakfast the next morning with 4 choices including vegan options. There is very little parking here- 4 spots and 1 handicapped spot so street parking may be the only option. I'd say that would be the only downfall of this place. The room was decorated nice and cute, and have heated bathroom floors, jacuzzi bathtub, comfy bed and crisp linens, mounted wall fireplace, and a cute little outside terrace. Hotel is Adults only for sure, place was made for a couple of people and not families with kids. Definitely worth the price considering everything that was included and I would come back here for sure if I am ever in the Monterey-area again. Much better than a chain motel/hotel which is what I had in mind and that is exactly what this place seems like!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. We really appreciate you noticing all the details we put into our hotel. We hope you come and stay with us again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Great bathroom, so so everything else

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This was a decent place to stay. I made the mistake of booking the wrong day ( yes, this is my fault ) but I definitely made sure to call and make sure i would be able to check in a day ahead , and the guy who answered told me no problem, he would change my reservation. So, when we get there, the lady says I was supposed to call Expedia (which I booked through ) and have them change my reservation. Because if not, they won't get their money that day. This irritated me because it's only a day difference, they would get their money in 24hrs anyways. So she calls Expedia and they end up saying to hang up and that I have to call them from my end. She ends up telling them never mind, she doesn't want to put me through the trouble when it wasn't my fault in the first place. Too late, we have already been standing there with our luggage waiting for the Expedia call to go through. She ends up checking us in and giving us a free upgrade to a King size room. I really appreciated that! So although the trip didn't start well, it turned out alright. My favorite part of the room was the bathroom, very nice and luxurious, and clean! I loved the tub! In the room, they even provided a Dyson fan! However, besides the bathroom and fan, everything else was just okay. You get free wifi and about 10 English channels on the television. The windows either open out to your neighbors window or the busy street. The service from the restaurant and bar were terrible, huge disappointment after readi
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that there was a mishap with your reservation. Sometimes this happens with third party sites & we will do our best to work out the kinks with our guests who choose to not book directly. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our newly upgraded bathroom amenities. Regarding the service upstairs, we will pass along that information to our employees upstairs. We really do try our best to give our hotel guests phenomenal service & your happiness is important to us. Happy traveling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore. MD

Wonderful boutique hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Our favorite hotel on this trip! Friendly staff. Excellent breakfast, convenient to Monterey activities. Hotel has a European feel to it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and our aesthetic. We hope to see you again soon. Happy traveling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from p

Nice hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Very cute & clean comfy bed, effectient staff , in downtown close to restaurants & highway , free breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thanks for your feedback! We take pride in our staff and are glad to hear you appreciated their efficiency. Happy traveling. Come back soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Cozy and charming

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Wonderful 1 night stay! Nash is amazing and the breakfast was delicious! Lovely hotel with rooftop lounge/bar/dinner. Gorgeous rooftop views of the Monterey Bay! Wish we had more time to stay in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 27, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for writing us a review and telling us your thoughts regarding the hotel and the rooftop! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope you'll come back soon.