Ratings based on 942 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo

The comforts of home away from home

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Rooms, Roof Top Lounge, Jacuzzi, Staff and location.
Cons: Very small note, but having some surround music in the rooftop lounge and possibly some hotel specific parking would have helped.
I came here with my girlfriend during Feb 2017, and I must say that we were both pleasantly surprised by what this hotel had to offer. The staff are very kind and helpful, from the moment you walk in the door. The quality of the rooms were also amazing value for the money, we had a mounted fireplace, a large jacuzzi, an extremely comfortable bed and a whole variety of lighting fixtures to get the mood just right for relaxing at night. The rooftop lounge was also a great experience, we only wish we had more time to spend there but we had other plans. Or experience ended with the complementary breakfast the next morning which was well prepared and served. We hope to come back some day! Thank you for having us :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodations, as well as the staff. Our hotel aims to provide a truly unique experience, and we are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seoul, KR

Beachfront in Monterey

Posted Feb 18, 2017
A nice place to hode from the world. This hotel provides comfirtable rooms, and a rooftop bar with an ocean view, nice selection of cocktails and a dining place. And their breakfast, yammy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your stay! Happy travelling!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The room is lovely, although there are some signs of wear and tear. It is small, but very light. The bathroom is great. The roof top restaurant is limited, food wise, but a fabulous spot for a drink. The hot breakfast was great. The location is a few minute drive to cannery row or downtown. We had no trouble finding near by (free) street parking. It is 3 hr parking during the week but not sat or sun.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Laura (front desk), Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I hope your next stay and just around the corner. We will continue to work on updating our property & greatly appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A Different World

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: I loved the hotel appearance (overall), the food was fabulous, the staff was friendly, and the room... the room was AMAZING.
Cons: The jets in the jacuzzi would not turn on and the wifi was very weak.
Location: Safe; within walking distance to the Wharf, the beach, the park, overall accessible location.
Wonderful hotel, lovely staff/owners. My room was amazing! It had a king sized bed, fireplace, TV, Jacuzzi tub, heated toilet seat, jets in the shower, vanity mirror, and oddly enough one of my favorite aspects of the room were the lighting options. You can really do a lot with them to change the mood. The rooftop deck was phenomenal, the downstairs dining area is fabulous, the food was amazing! Honestly, this just made my list of top 3 favorite places to stay in California. I traveled as a solo female and found lots of comforts and safety here. It's a B&B so bringing a partner would be a ton of fun! Your stay includes a complimentary glass of wine and access to a library of DVDs at the front desk. I love that it's adults only! No screaming children to keep you up.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
We're happy to hear that you're happy & we greatly appreciate your feedback.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Best (free) Breakfast ever.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: The Breakfast was my favorite
Cons: Must do something about the Parking. Parking is on the street & you have to lug the luggage, Rooms are Too small, & they need to get In Room Fridges.
Location: Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf for Whale watching
Best (free) Breakfast ever. Resturant & Bar on Roof with great view of Monterey Bay, Price a little high. The Rooms were Tiny & the parking lot had 4 spaces - then on the street you go. I had to store my insulin in the bar refrigerator. no microwave or bathtub but the shower had jets.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 8, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Unfortunately we are a city hotel & parking is limited. While this is generally out of our control- we will do our best to address this issue as well as being more clear about which rooms have bathtubs. We are glad to hear you enjoyed breakfast & the view from the roof! It's our priority to make every guests experience a great one. Happy travelling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uK

Nice hotel, little far away

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Wonderful hotel,fantastic staff. Food great, just a little bit of a distance to cannery row
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 5, 2017 by Laura (front desk), Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the location. We try to do everything we can to make our guests feel comfortable in the hotel & are pleased to hear you enjoyed the food & our staff. Happy travelling!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ca. Central Coast

This turned out to be so nice!

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: It was well situated for what we had planned. It wasn't pretentious or slick or plastic or sterile. It was just embracing and gave you full value.
Cons: Unless we missed it, tell your patrons where and how to turn on the tub jets.
Location: Monterey Aquarium, art, nice walks, an art house film studio, a live theatre and music/dance venues.
Everyone did a nice job at this place, before and during our stay. There are so many thoughtful choices from space, set up, design, presentation, comfort and staffing to simple value that we were very happy puppies.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We take pride in maintaining a down to earth atmosphere & are glad you enjoyed your stay. Happy travelling.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Our room was clean, cozy and absolutely uniquely adorable! With double windows, it made for a quiet sleep. The fireplace kept us warm with a push of a button and the complimentary breakfast was delicious. The staff was helpful and professional... I'd stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by Nick, Hotel Management
Thank You
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

What a shame that the rooftop lounge was not open

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: Cute, old, personality, staff.
Cons: Parking facilities.
Location: monteray and Carmel-what more needs to be said?
Staff was incredible. Room is cozy (tiny). Bathroom was impressive. Parking is abominable!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by nick, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments, we offer reserved parking for $10 per night, however there are plenty of parking spots on the street at no charge within few feet that is very safe and accessible. Our staff is always ready to assist in locating parking location. We never had situation where we could not find parking even during car week in Monterey.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
thank you