Ratings based on 2,605 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from u.k.

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Sep 15, 2017
This hotel provided us with exactly what we wanted which was a comfortable two night stay before continuing our road trip. Staff friendly and courteous. Would recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Nolan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our guest survey. We do value guest feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Abrego. We hope you are having a great day and hope you might consider us during your next trip to Monterey! Have a great day!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Getaway

Posted Sep 14, 2017
We recently spent 2 nights here on vacation- the hotel itself is lovely but the price was very high and I was shocked to discover there was no AC in the rooms- our room was 81 degrees until 1 am- our second night we had a motorcycle group set up just below our window and they blocked off 15 parking spaces so we had trouble parking- we had to leave the window open because the room was so warm but they were all smoking below our window which was very unpleasant. They all began congregating again at 7am and smoking . For the price we paid -I just feel the management could have been more conscious of our situation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

A beautiful stop over

Posted Sep 14, 2017
This hooted was The perfect stop over on our road trip ! Patrick at the front was a polite young gentleman who made us feel welcome , the room was spacious clean and all up to date ! Swimming pool and hot tub was perfect after a day out on the boat whale watching , all in all deffinetly book here great hotel great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017 by Nolan, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our guest survey. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay and it means a lot when we receive positive feedback. We hope you are having a great day and hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Comfortable hotel that is well posited in Monterey

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The small restaurant was quaint and food was reasonably priced and tasty. The pool areas was secluded and very nice.
Cons: Better idea of the room you are going to get. Anything on the ground floor facing the parking is not worth staying in.
Location: Walking distance from downtown Monterey and the water. Outside of the tourist area!
Ultimately a great experience. The hotel is very well maintained and the staff was great. Word of caution however: I reserved a deluxe queen room. When we arrived and walked into our room it felt like a motel six room with a little nicer finish. It was very small, ground floor and people who walked down the steps looked right into our window. I told the hotel I wasn't happy with our room and to their credit they found us a larger room in the main building with a small secluded patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice place to stay

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: Very modern, clean, and comfortable. You can eat something right there if you like, They have a pool. Great place to call home base..
Cons: No improvements needed. Everything was in order and smooth.
Location: Close enough to downtown to walk there. The pier, the beach, and Cannery Row are near. Easy access from the freeway, but not on the freeway.
We found this place online, pictures looked good, and booked the room online. The place looked like the pictures when we arrived. Check-in was easy. The people at the front desk were friendly .The room was just as advertised and a nice place to stay. The hotel interior and decor was just as pictured. This shows they pay attention to detail, regarding coffee in the lobby area: coffee available, hot, cups, and caps, and sleeves, and stir sticks, and a garbage can, and CLEAN & neat. Plus they put coffee beans in the drip tray - nice touch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vacaville

No air conditioning

Posted Sep 6, 2017
The most uncomfortable hotel ever. The hotel has no air conditioning or ventilation; 4 miserable days of unsleepable heat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Good location, good facilities and clean rooms. The hotel looks very new and the staff were very friendly. The only downside if they include the breakfast part of the room rate along with having in room air conditioner for the hot days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from southern cal

Extremely Humid

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The service and the help were great. Plus its a great location.
Cons: The air somehow needs to be adjustible..
Location: Went to a funeral on 17 mile dr. 2 miles from the hotel. plus great dinner choices all within 5min.
All of my experiance"s were great , except for one thing. I was not aware their was no air conditioning in any of the rooms. It was so uncomfortable that my wife and i got up at 2:30 am and packed up and left for home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel just outside of the wharf

Posted Sep 4, 2017
The hotel was very nice with a spacious room and lots of natural lighting. It’s located just a half mile from the wharf making it an easy walk, or quick taxi ride to anywhere you want to go!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redwood City

Good Hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: It was clean and quiet.
Cons: Nothing
I was in late and out early. It provided a clean and nice place to stay.