Ratings based on 2,374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sydney, Australia

Huge hotel, very welcoming after being in the big

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Very nicely set out hotel with huge rooms and a quick 5 min drive from fisherman's wharf. We really enjoyed our stay here although they need to have king size beds.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Friendly, helpful staff, large room.

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Very solid hotel and a great price.
Location: Dinner at two amazing restaurants within walking distance.
We really enjoyed this hotel! Staff was friendly and helpful, our room was quite large and comfortable. The lobby bar/restaurant area service was excellent (we had a drink but not food). It's over a mile to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery area, but was walking distance to some fabulous downtown restaurants. Parking was free and plentiful. A very pleasant experience in an area with lots of very expensive, older hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Char, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Hotel Abrego I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the hotel and the Staff was friendly and helpful. Good to hear you had a drink in our lobby bar and had the opportunity to venture out and enjoy the many attraction and food places in the area. We are looking forward in welcoming you back in the near future. Best wishes, Dan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A Nice Surprise

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Opening the door to the room, we were delighted to find a gas fireplace, balcony overlooking pine trees, and lovely decor!
Cons: The carpeting in the hall was worn and dirty-looking. We were at first apprehensive about what we would find when we entered our room.
Location: Located close to some restaurants and other hotels but you need a car for the scenic views and attractions! The Monterey Aquarium is worth the visit!
My husband and I stayed here for three nights during our California trip. Although the hotel does not have a view of the beautiful coast, it is very lovely and convenient to Monterey and Carmel-by-the-Sea. We visited the Monterey Bay Aquarium, Cannery Row, and drove along the 17 mile scenic coastal highway. What beautiful views and many stops for taking pictures! There are also beaches with picnic tables along the drive, so next time we will be prepared with some food and a blanket.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Dotty, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at Hotel Abrego! We appreciate your 5 star rating and letting people know our hotel is very lovely and convenient to Monterey and Carmel. Looking forward to welcoming you back Warm regards, Dan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely price quality ratio

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Pros: Clean, spacious and updated facilities.
Cons: Tell your guests that they have received an upgrade due to the VIP+ status so they do not have to ask for it before they have seen the room.
Location: Monterey Fishermans Warf is located nearby.
Lovely hotel, conveniently located near the Fishermans Warf area in Monterey. Enjoyed a free upgrade to a nice room due to our VIP+ Gold Status. Definitely worth the VIP status within Expedia, nice VIP gifts in the room upon arrival. Room was nice and very spacious, including a fireplace and a bathroom with a seperate walk in shower instead of a combo bathtub/shower. Breakfast is pretty expensive for what you get. For American standards a hotel with a good price/quality ratio.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Rogler, Thank you for your review of Hotel Abrego I'm happy to hear your room was clean, spacious and the hotel is updated. I do apologize for not letting you know of your VIP+ Gold Status upgrade. We are all looking forward in welcoming you back when you travels bring you back to Monterey.. Warm regards, Dan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to highway 1 and downtown

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Clean, great friendly staff. Nice amenities and pool, gym.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Friend, Thank you for the high rating of Hotel Abrego and you nice compliments about our staff. We are looking forward in welcoming you back soon. Best wishes, Dan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Just spent 1 night enroute down the California coast. Nice clean hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice comments Warm wishes, Dan
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Husband was a bit shocked to find there was no air conditioning but with the mild temps it was totally fine just having a window open. Enjoyed our stay and ate breakfast at the hotel and I enjoyed the Oatmeal Creme Brûlée as others had mentioned - it was delish !
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Friend, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hotel Abrego Yes you are correct only some of our rooms have A/C but normally this is not needed since we enjoy the great coastal climate here.. Good to hear you enjoyed the breakfast and especially the Oatmeal Creme Brulee which is a signature dish of our chef. Looking forward in welcoming you back soon Best wishes, Dan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 17, 2016
I enjoy the complimentary wine and chocolate, the staff was friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Alex, Thank you for your kind words and looking forward to welcoming you back in the future. Best wishes, Dan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Convenience

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Pros: Convenience, cleanliness, comfort.
Cons: Complimentary breakfast.
Location: The Aquarium, Spanish Bay, Pebble Beach, 17 Mile Drive, the Carmel Mission, Pt. Lobos, Nepenthe and Moss Landing.
I have had the pleasure of staying at the Abrego many times. At least 3 of those times I was traveling alone and I felt very safe and comfortable. The staff is pleasant and helpful and it is so appreciated when you are far from home. Kudos to the Abrego Hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Rose, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of Hotel Abrego I'm glad to hear you are returning guests of ours and we appreciate your continued patronage. Your compliments of the staff is well appreciated and I know they think the same of you and it is so good to know you feel very safe and comfortable here which you should. I look forward in welcoming you back again. Best wishes, Dan
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Beautiful hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Hotel Abrego was by far one of the best hotels that we stayed in while traveling in California. The staff was friendly and the location was great. Our room was spacious and the bathroom was large (with a great walk-in glass shower). Our room had a nice gas fireplace, which added wonderful ambiance to the room. It was extremely clean and lacking absolutely nothing. My husband and I wished we could have stayed more than just one night!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Lyns, Thank you for your high marks of Hotel Abrego We appreciate your kinds words of our staff. I am pleased to hear the room was spacious and the bathroom large and the gas fired fireplace does add such a nice ambiance to the room. Looking forward to your return stay and hope you can spend a few days here. Warm wishes, Dan