Ratings based on 2,334 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Very nice motel.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
This place is perfectly fine for a one night stand but has no luxury or outstanding features. The best part was the food--abslolutely delicious dinner and breakfast choices. Ernie was an incredible "Ritz" quality server!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Absolutely Awesome enough said!!!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Everyhthing
Cons: Keep it up!!!
Location: Sites, Beach, Shopping, Gulf, scenic drives and much more...
Beautiful Property in a beautiful place with beautiful people come and enjoy!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
We enjoyed our 3 night stay. The location just a few blocks from the ocean was perfect. The room was modern, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. I would not hesitate recommending the Abrego hotel. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent place, Nothing Fancy

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: It is clean and feels new. The staff was very friendly.
Location: There is plenty to do nearby. The beach, the main drag with restaurants and all that is pretty close.
Nice place to sleep for a night or two. It is conveniently located to all the major stuff in Monterey. If you are looking for a really nice place to stay this is not it. However like I said before it gets the job done for the short stay that we needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2016
it is a nice hotel. convenient location. parking costs extra though. would recommend to friend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and Clean

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Room cleanliness and comfortable.
Cons: Nothing that I could see.
Location: Great location. Close to everything.
Pulled in late at night. They were quick to check us in an let us know that the dining was closing. We got settled and came back for dinner. Check out was a breeze. Did not get to go in pool but, it looked great. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great night sleep after a long drive. Morning was nice with a walk around the beach which is breathtaking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brea, CA

Great hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Very nice and clean to stay at. Great lobby. Very cozy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampton, NH

Nice hotel in good location

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Newer hotel located conviently to all activities in Monterey. Free parking a big plus. Well appointed rooms with mini fridge.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: loved the fireplace in the room!
Location: we rented a car, so getting around was very easy but it seemed like downtown monterey was within walking distance.
this hotel was better than i expected! room was very roomy and had a cute fireplace that warmed up the room nicely. also, liked that the hotel offered free parking!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Very Poor Arrangement on Contingency!

Posted Jul 3, 2016
We are a family of 5, and we reserved 2 rooms here on 22nd June for 1 night. Despite the popular reviews, we are very disappointed about the stay at Hotel Abrego. We came all the way from Asia, and were doing our California Pacific Coast Highway trip. This was the last stop of our trip before heading back to our home town, but it turns out to be an EXHAUSTING night. We arrived Monterey that night around 7:30pm, and did the check-in thing to ensure our rooms are secured. We headed back to our room after supper around 9:30pm, entered to our room and found the room HASN'T BEEN CLEANED at all!!! We immediately went to the front desk, and the staff said the computer system says our room is marked as "CLEANED", while it's not. There's NO house-keeping staff who can help us to clean the room at that moment. The front-desk staff said she could arrange ONE room from another hotel, while we booked TWO rooms at Hotel Abrego. There's nothing she could do to move our WHOLE FAMILY to another "hotel P". OK, 2 of us stayed at Hotel Abrego, and 3 of us moved to another "hotel P" she arranged. Once we arrived "hotel P", the staff in there said they required some more documents before he could check us in. So we waited and waited, and finally can settle down at 12:30 MIDNIGHT at another OLD and DIRTY HOTEL. Our trip was ruined and ended with this exhausting and unpleasant night, and there's NO single follow-up after as what they promised. NOT RECOMMENDED.