Ratings based on 2,501 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Accomodated my needs

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Shower is like a "grotto" shower in a pricey spa. Comfortable bed, good selection of cable channels. Restaurant has good food. Excellent jacuzzi.
Cons: They could use a vending machine on premises. Also the room decor could be more cheerful.
Location: Centrally located so convenient to all areas of Monterey but not right in the middle of Cannery Row, for instance, so it's quieter and more affordable
They accomodated my need for a hyper-allergenic room by removing feather bedding and furniture. Any issues I had were promptly addressed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Centrally located, perfect stay in Monterey

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, very comfortable accomodations, location
Cons: Spa center was under construction
Location: Short walk to the wharf and downtown Monterey, less than 10 minute drive to downtown Carmel
Check-in was quick and easy. A lot of room for the price, will absolutely stay here next time we come
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Great staff, very child-friendly

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Everyone we interacted with, from the manager to the utility service worker, was universally friendly and welcoming. Our toddler loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Location, service, room confort
Cons: We were 3 guests in the room. They could have prepared for 3 guests instead of us having to ask for items. Once we asked they delivered very quickly.
Nice hotel, good location, close to the city. The staff is very polite, friendly and responsive. Everything that we needed was delivered within few minutes. The hotel is located though on an intersection of a relatively busy street so we could constantly hear the traffic going by. Didn't eat there so I don't know how the food is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel,

Posted Apr 16, 2017
We stayed for 1 night, close to down town as well as the Cannerry Row. Pleasant experience. Would repeat
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Friend, Thank you for selecting Hotel Abrego as your choice hotel in Monterey. We look forward in welcoming you back soon Best Dan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean comfortable room close to downtown

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Easy check in. Abrego is a short walk to old downtown Monterey. Room was comfortable but a little noisy. We were in a wood-framed building and sound seemed to transmit through it when people bounced their luggage down the stairs or doors were slammed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a convenient location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
We stayed here during a family trip down the coast. Nice and clean, comfortable and close to amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Nice weekend getaway

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Birthday getaway: Needed a handicap accessible room, large room, plenty of space in the bathroom. Located near downtown, free parking, very clean. We enjoyed our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Friend Thank you for your nice review of Hotel Abrego. We are honored you selected us as your hotel while in Monterey. We look forward in welcoming you back soon Best wishes, Dan
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
A couple of the staff members were sweet and helped me when I couldn't open the complimentary bottle of wine; however, the room was disgusting. There were ants on the floor and I was sitting there doing my make up and they were crawling on me. I was so paranoid the whole time. The room was so dark even with all the blinds open and all the lights on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The personal attention of the staff and beautiful clean rooms
Location: Hotel is only five minutes from the Fisherman's wharf and easy access to the freeway
My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in Monterrey and stayed at Hotel Abrego and from the moment we checked in, we were impressed with the staff's attentiveness and hospitality. We were pleasantly surprised to walk in our beautiful room and there was a complimentary bottle of wine and two wines glasses along with a personal letter welcoming us...The personal touch was AMAZING. The room was clean, beautiful, and with a fireplace. I would definetely stay here again and would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Betty, Happy Anniversary, once again and we are so pleased you had such a great stay with us. We all look forward to your return visit to Hotel Abrego your new home in Monterey. Best wishes, Dan