Ratings based on 2,562 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Great hotel centrally located. Very typical hotel experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, close to all the attractions.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
We loved our stay at Hotel Abrego. Spacious and comfy room, courteous staff, free coffee in the mornings and lovely outdoor pool. It is close to all the Monterey has to offer. We walked to the sites, a pretty walk from fishermans wharf spotting seals in the harbour. There is also a free trolley service in town running to all the sites which was very handy. Thank you hotel Abrego for making our stay so comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Excellent location, within walking distance of downtown and a very comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel Abrego! We look forward in welcoming you back if your travels plans bring you back to Monterey Best always, Dan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Very nice hotel. A few minutes walking distance from everything.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel Abrego. We look forward in welcoming you back soon Best always, Dan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Perfect location and very friendly staff.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
This is our second time staying at Hotel Abrego and most likely not the last. The harbor is less than 15 minutes walking distance and Carmel is about the same time driving distance. It's located very close to the highway and with a very friendly staff, makes this hotel an easy choice for us to pick, every tine we are staying a few days in Monterey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by ., Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our guest survey. We strive to provide a comfortable and relaxing stay and it means a lot when we receive positive feedback. We hope you are having a great day and hope to see you back at Hotel Abrego in the future!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost a great boutique hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Roomy and comfy beds. Location was good and staff were all friendly and helpful. Great amenities except for the absence of air conditioning. We requested 2 fans but it wasn't enough to make us comfortable. Great sleep at your accommodation is top priority when traveling since you'll be out doing things all day. Maybe perfect for winter travel but not during summertime.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 11, 2017 by ., Hotel Management
Thank you taking the time to take our guest survey as we value feedback such as yours to constantly seek ways to improve guest experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, Ca

Great Hotel and centrally located

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Pros: big rooms, nice big shower (not a tub shower), the heater is a gas fireplace, centrally located to wharf, highway 1,
Cons: Ice machine on each floor. Had to go 2 floors down to get ice
Location: Close to the old downtown area, close to the wharf, Peet's coffee and Trader Joes right down the street. 5 minute drive to 17 mile drive.
We were there 2 nights. We got a standard room. King bed was very comfy, a really large room, with a gas fireplace, and a deck. The bathroom is just the shower and toilet. The sink area is separate. What a great idea. the shower is just a big nice shower, no bathtub ( I don't want to take a bath at a hotel anyway). It was really close to everything we did. I would stay there again in a minute.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Roger, Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel Abrego and for selecting us as your hotel of choice in Monterey. I'm glad to hear you would stay here again, if your travels bring you back to Monterey. We look forward in welcoming you back again. Best always, Dan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from b

NO A/C. we got burned by this. Clean.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
No a/c. Burned up. Not cool! OItherwise ok. Comfy bed. Clean. Need mo staff at desk. Layout AWKWARD. unless u like parking lot views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Dan, I am so sorry to hear the weather was warm which created a warm room for your stay. It normally always cools down in the evening so it's much more pleasant. I'm glad your found the bed comfortable and room clean. We do have rooms with a/c so please request those if your travels bring you back to Monterey. We would very much like to have you return to Hotel Abrego
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

One night in Monterey

Posted Jul 2, 2017
We were traveling as a family of four from San Francisco to San Diego on a road trip. We spent one night in Monterey at Hotel Abrego. This has by far been our favorite hotel on our trip. The hotel grounds are very well maintained and the rooms are newly remodeled. We particularly liked having a bathroom sink as well as the other sink outside the bathroom. The fireplace was a nice touch in the room. The rooms were very quiet and comfortable. We loved the location and found it easy to get around the area from the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Amy, Thank you so much for your excellent review of Hotel Abrego and I am so glad to hear we were by far your favorite hotel on your trip. We are looking forward in welcoming you back to Hotel Abrego if your travels bring you back to Monterey. Best always, Dan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Covina

Comfortable rooms, close to fishermans warf

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Great hotel. Comfortable beds. Hotel staff was pleasant & check in was easy. Close drive to Fishermans award and Cannary Row. Would stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Stacy, Thank you for your nice rating of Hotel Abrego We look forward in welcoming you back soon Best always, Dan