Ratings based on 2,484 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2017
A couple of the staff members were sweet and helped me when I couldn't open the complimentary bottle of wine; however, the room was disgusting. There were ants on the floor and I was sitting there doing my make up and they were crawling on me. I was so paranoid the whole time. The room was so dark even with all the blinds open and all the lights on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stockton

Wonderful Experience!

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The personal attention of the staff and beautiful clean rooms
Location: Hotel is only five minutes from the Fisherman's wharf and easy access to the freeway
My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary in Monterrey and stayed at Hotel Abrego and from the moment we checked in, we were impressed with the staff's attentiveness and hospitality. We were pleasantly surprised to walk in our beautiful room and there was a complimentary bottle of wine and two wines glasses along with a personal letter welcoming us...The personal touch was AMAZING. The room was clean, beautiful, and with a fireplace. I would definetely stay here again and would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Betty, Happy Anniversary, once again and we are so pleased you had such a great stay with us. We all look forward to your return visit to Hotel Abrego your new home in Monterey. Best wishes, Dan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF Bay

Always a pleasant stay

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: parking, location, price, amenities
Cons: noise levels
Location: shops, restaurants, walkable
We love staying at Abrego. We have been here 4-5 times and it is our preferred Monterey Hotel. They have wonderful rooms and a bistro on site with delicious breakfast and some good wine. The staff is hospitable and accommodating. We like the added convenience of mini fridge, bath tubs, fireplaces and Keurig machines (you can bring your own pods if you don't like hotel coffee choices). Parking is free, walking distance to shops and great restaurants. The only negative thing I'd list is that rooms could be be noisy sometimes depending on location. Top floor is best but as walls are thin and for this last stay, although we were on top floor in the main building, we were hearing a constant humming "mechanical" noise either from elevator across, or ice machine or mechanical room that wouldn't go away at night even if we switched off our AC/Heat unit. Other than occasional noise concern, we haven't had other issues. Quite the contrary - they take great care of us here! Thank you, Abrego!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 27, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Desi, Welcome back and thank you for your excellent review of Hotel Abrego We very much appreciate your positive review of the hotel and great to have you back once again. We truly love all the accolades and I am sorry some of our rooms have noise infiltration from other guest rooms. However it appears you have figured a way to avoid that by taking an upper floor. I will investigate room 1305 to see if we can find out what that humming noise was you heard while your were here. I look forward in welcoming you back once again to your home in Monterey - Hotel Abrego Best always, Dan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Redding CA

Very nice hotel clean modern. Good location

Posted Mar 17, 2017
The hotel was clean, had a gas fire place and a very large flat screen TV. the bathroom was spa like with an extra large tub/shower. It was decorated very nicely and modern. Our room had its own private outdoor patio. We were greeted with a comp bottle of wine. Nice white duvet and very comfortable beds. It was quiet. But close to everything we wanted to see. I only gave the amenities a 4 due to the pool and Jacuzzi being out of service during our visit because it was being rejuvenated. convenient bar and restaurant on the premises. Only negative was we did not have a microwave in our room, but we did have a refrigerator. And I drive a volt and it would have been nice to be able to charge it while staying there. I would go back and recommend it to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Monterey home base

Posted Mar 17, 2017
We stayed at the hotel Abrego for 2 nights, using it as our base to explore Big Sur, Santa Cruz and Monterrey. It is nicely situated to see everything the area offers. We parked our car for free and used "left" to get around in town. Very convenient. The beds and linens were of good quality, something very important to me. Everyone was pleasant and the room was spotless. The only con was, we did not get the "happy hour billing from the bar when we arrived at 5:30 pm".
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review of Hotel Abrego We appreciate you positive feedback and we are centrally located as a good base if your going to visit Santa Cruz and Big Sur. I do apologize that the Happy Hour was not given to when you arrived. We will have to make this up to you on your next visit. We look forward to welcome you back to your home in Monterey - Hotel Abrego Best always, Dan
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well kept hotel with great location

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Comfort and location
Cons: Sound proofing
Location: Enjoyed the proximity of not one but 2 French bakeries in the vicinity.
Lovely hotel that is well maintained for a 3 night stay! We enjoyed the size and comfort of our room with the added bonus of a little balcony and a fireplace. The location was within walking distance of the highlights in the area. The only concern is that the walls are thin so we heard a lot of what was going on in the halls as well as our neighbors coming and going at all hours of the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for your nice review of Hotel Abrego We do apologize you were disturb my some noisy guests next to you!. However we are happy to know you stayed with a for 3 nights and for the most part enjoyed your stay. Best always, Dan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario, Canada

Beautiful Hotel! Lovely Stay!

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Everything, we had no complaints.
Location: Great location! Close to all amenities including restaurants, fisherman's wharf and cannery row. All within a twenty minute walk!
We absolutely loved Hotel Abrego! Right from our first impressions to our check-out. The facility was clean, upkept and staff were very accommodating. The room was beautiful and very clean. Parking is free which is a great bonus! Such a great location. If we return to Monterey we would definitely stay here hands down!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for your excellent review of Hotel Abrego We appreciate your kind words and look forward in welcoming you back to your home in Monterey - Hotel Abrego! Best always, Dan
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Marin County, CA

Excellent Stay as Always!

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Location: Monterey Bay Aquarium, Denise the Menace park, DT Monterey, Fisherman's Wharf, Cannery Row, Old town Historic District, Fort Ord Dunes State Park
It is always a wonderful experience at the Abrego Inn! Our family frequently visits this hotel because we love Monterey and it's our getaway when times are stressful. It is so relaxing, the rooms are spotless, the beds comfortable, insulation is good, so it is very quiet, and it is located within walking distance of Denise the Menace park and very close to the aquarium. The hotel is kid friendly. Thanks Abrego Inn for a wonderful stay as always! We will return soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Susanna McG, Thank you for your excellent review of Hotel Abrego We very much appreciate your kind words and welcome back to your home in Monterey. We are all glad you find this as a place to relive your stress and relax and looking forward in welcoming you back soon. Best always, Dan
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice and clean but no AC

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: Clean, seems like it was renovated recently
Cons: add AC
Location: location is OK but need to drive to nearby attractions
Overall the hotel was nice and clean but would not go back because it has no AC. We (husband and two kids) were able to open the window which help to feel the brisk of fresh and cold air. We came here in the winter and I can't imagine to be here in the summer. We stayed one night. We received a complimentary bottle of wine; nice gesture. PROS: Clean and recently renovated CONS: No AC No counter space in the bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Clara, CA

Our favorite place to stay in Monterey!

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Clean room, wonderful staff, great location, good value.
Cons: n/a
We've stayed here at least 6 times over the last few years. We are always pleased with the staff at Hotel Abrego. They are all so welcoming and friendly. It's a great location and a great value for the area. We've never been disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Dear Ms. A, Welcome back and thank you for your continued patronage to us. This is your home in Monterey and glad you are stilled pleased to hear you are never disappointed with the Hotel. Best always, Dan