Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from montreal

Posted Sep 2, 2016
Very Nice view ! Old facility ... Over priced and definitely not worth 4 diamonds ... The food quality is very good The room and bathroom are more like a 3 star hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Disappointed, Overpriced Rooms, Food

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: The fireplace, the view from the dining room.
Cons: THE FOOD, Bushes and trees need to be trimmed, never blocking any room views.
Location: North of Big Sur
Considering the pricey rates, it's no surprise that the clientele is super uppity here. When we showed up to check in, one guest was complaining about the sleeve for the room key not having information about how the magnetic strip could be demagnetized by a cell phone (and she wouldn't let it go), and another complained about the "muzak" being too loud, which wasn't loud at all and actually Muzak at all. Being expensive, it's no surprise that the hotel is stuffy. And it's no surprise that the food is super stuffy and overpriced. That considered, you would at least expect it to be good. It was not, save the au gratin potatoes side dish. The prices were really obnoxious, considering the quality. More important, the view, which is the whole reason for staying here was largely blocked by a bush. Before booking, it's essential to know where they're going to put you. Don't accept a lower room (one sitting downstairs from the pool or on the first floor), or the view will be disappointing and therefore the room overpriced. Best thing about the place (and this was awesome), was the in-room fireplace. Kindling, newspapers, matches, and tons of different types of logs were provided, which was awesome. Also, it's INSANE that they serve breakfast in a room with a crap view... Every meal should be served where the great floor to ceiling glass windows are... It's incredibly frustrating to guests that breakfast must be eaten in a subpar room on the side.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great view and restaurants.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Property is in dire need of renovation. Very overpriced.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dayton ohio

Nice view

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Hotel good location and nice view to ocean from room, found the rate extremely expensive and needs to be mantained much better. Next time will stay at hotel In carmel rather then this hyatt ....not worth the view...staff however very nice and helpfull
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from knoxville

Worth the Expense

Posted Aug 3, 2016
The hotel was expensive but I don't have a problem with that if you get what you pay for. The bed was super comfortable. The bathroom was large and updated. We had a nice balcony to sit out and enjoy the view. They had free washer/dryer use that came in handy. The food in the resterant was very good, not your typical hotel food. All in all, a great stay that I recommend!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Poor customer service, great location, cheap rooms

Posted Jul 20, 2016
So, at about $6-700 a night you kind of have to do more than rely on the view to satisfy your customer. That price point draws customers who are looking for an above average customer service experience. I'm also not inclined to be fiddling around with coupons and vouchers at that price point. When I checked in at 11pm it was late, but still, the staff member handed me the keys and said have a nice day. I had to ask her to please tell me about the property, where the breakfast would be held. And which of my two rooms would have the inflatable mattress added. Emerson, the valet driver was the most courteous and attentive person I encountered at this hotel. He stands alone, however, when it comes to the rest of this place. The next morning I dialed zero and explained that my Expedia reservation included a breakfast, and wanted to know how that would work. The front desk explained which restaurant to go to and that everything would be taken care of. Most of the weight staff were non native English speakers and so I had to ask for stuff in multiple ways. When a plate was finished I just started putting them aside on the nearby table cause it was too much effort to flag someone down to take the plate. Food was one notch above Denny's BTW. So yea. When the meal ended I was presented with a full bill of $144. I Told the waiter thatbreakfast at was included, he said he would call the front desk to find out. He said that they said I had a coupon but should have been given it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Jul 19, 2016
When I checked in they forgot to give me information on the breakfast. They also forgot to give me the breakfast coupons. I asked for one inflatable mattress they put in two. The walls are thin and you can hear the people above you walking around. The street noise of passing cars drowns out the sound of the ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

overpriced

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Very beautiful ocean view but the room is small and stuffy. The hotel should offer more complimentary service to welcome customers. No water bottle in the room, the trash basket is hided in the cabinet under the sink. We even need to FIND the fan from closet since the room is too hot. I expect more from a 500.00 per night room. not a comfortable stay overall.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2016
Pros: good
Location: good
it was good trip and staying . Good hotel , nice staff , good location . Perfect
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Views and Nice Hotel.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: Terrific location and nice classic, rustic furnishings.
Cons: The rooms need an update. Ours was clean and comfortable, but showing its age. There were cigaret burns (in our non-smoking room) on the wall and rug.
Location: Close to Point Lobos state park and the beautiful highway 1. An easy drive to Carmel, Pacific Grove and Monterey.
Everything went well during our stay. The staff was friendly and attentive. Our room had a wood burning fireplace (which we used) and a gorgeous view of the ocean. Everything about our reservation was properly handled and all went very smoothly.