Ratings based on 4,454 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2017
This is a motel. We did not feel like that was represented in the booking
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert, CA

Very relaxing

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The quietness of the building I was using allowed for a very relaxing stay
Cons: Bedding! The beds were very comfortable, but the covers were lumpy and not too pretty to look at :)
Location: This hotel is located within walking distance from a lot of restaurants and the main attractions in Monterey. It is also close to the freeway.
The hotel is spread out which makes some of the units very peaceful and removed from the havoc that a lobby could bring about - not that I found much disruptions when I went to the lobby, but it could possibly be that way if there is a big group of guest checking in/out. The bed was comfortable and clean, although the covers were a bit lumpy. Some of the buildings do not have elevators. I found the fitness center, although it took a little effort since the entrance was not well marked. It appeared to be well stock with treadmills and the like.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Aug 15, 2017
The Hyatt is a great hotel with spacious rooms, clean facilities, and excellent service. It was a great hotel to rest for a few days while driving through the California coast. Ordered room service and the food was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

A Trip Back in Time

Posted Aug 10, 2017
This hotel has been on the Monterey Peninsula for a very long time. However, it now has a freeway separating it from downtown Monterey. It is not possible to walk anywhere from this hotel. A rental car (and cell-phone directions) is necessary to visit Monterey Bay, Carmel, and Ft. Ord. When you book, be very, very clear with the hotel about which rooms and which guests are eligible to receive free breakfast. There is a (currently 27 dollars a day) spa fee. This is reasonable if you are a golfer, otherwise we are supporting the golf course with only the opportunity to be struck by a golf ball (watch out!) at the course-side tables. The service staff was wonderful, prompt, and polite. Children were skateboarding in the parking lot that was the view from our room. Loud door slamming throughout the day and late evening hours echoed down the hallways. I think a new high-rise hotel in downtown Monterey Bay with a water view would be a better choice. We loved Cannery Row (not the Aquarium which was crowded dark and hot...better to go to San Carlos beach nearby and look at tide pools. The Dali exhibit at the art museum near this beach housed a wonderful presentation on Dali's Monterey years. A whale-watching trip (book from the company midway down Fisherman's Wharf with the smaller boat) was the highlight of the trip. Don't miss 17 mile drive. My first teaching job was a Ft. Ord Elementary School in 1960--62 (second grade)....trip with my daughter--the navigator---was pure heaven!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pleasanton, ca

Great stay!

Posted Aug 7, 2017
This is my 3rd time staying at the Hyatt Regency in Monterey. Easy check-in, friendly staff, great lobby, and very clean rooms. Especially love all of the extra charging stations in the room. The hotel is located on beautiful grounds, on a golf course, but can get quite busy with people (and kids) during the summers months. Overall a perfect experience every time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Very nice hotel except there should be an elevator in each building. We have to walk through building 4 to get to building 5'
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Had a wonderful stay. Staff was excellent . Made our stay enjoyable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading pricing

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: Nice comfortable room with a balcony view of the golf course
Cons: Shower fixture - hose would not allow shower head to point in decent direction
Location: Fisherman's Warf, Cannery Row, Aquarium all very close by.
Booked a room with Expedia. One night, $198.90. Expedia also said there would be a resort fee of $27.90. The extra fees actually brought the total to $302.87. So instead of a resort fee of $27.90, it was more like $103.97 in added fees. Stay away!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, excellent pool, beautiful property

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Good location, excellent pool, beautiful property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay with kids

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Excellent pool and outdoor playing activities Great view on the golf A Little far fromage the wharf but at lEast the parking is FREE