Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel, great staff

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Pros: The staff, relaxing environment and beautiful courtyard
We really enjoyed our 3 day stay at L'auberge Carmel. The boutique hotel is a good place for getaway vacation. The staff were very kind and helpful. The restaurant offers great food and drinks though at a steep price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Great breakfast , short walk to Ocean Ave, nice court yard
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allentown PA

Extremely nice but a bit stuffy

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Hotel was well kept and clean. Very elegant but a bit stuffy. We couldn't keep our room cool and the rooms were loud. You could hear your neighbors clearly as well as your typical old building noises. We did not sleep well but the facility was very nice with good aconifations. I was however a bit shocked when they told us they valet all guests cars only to find it moved two parking spots over and on the street when we walked by later that night. This wasn't a bad experience by any means but for the price we would try else where next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
..... Now is the time for all good men I do not write reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Carmel Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Service and staff.
Location: The location is close to the shopping restaurants and beach. perfect.
The amazing thing about this hotel is the service from the staff. Carmel does not have large hotel and resort options. This boutique european style hotel offers incredible service and the food is delightful. we had a bottle of champagne and ordered the salad and cheese board in the courtyard. Also utilized the driver. Great stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

fabulous

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Favorite hotel of our trip. Just lovely. Wonderful staff. Beautiful setting. Amazing breakfast. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from VA

A perfect European boutique hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
L'Auberge is the best hotel among other 5 star hotels we have encountered on our California trip so far. It looks like like it came straight from the Old Europe. An amazing mix of vintage and modern. The building is 100 years old and looks like a piece of Venice. Situated in the heart of Carmel and minutes from the entrance to the famous 17 Mile drive. Clean, very well maintained, lots of flowers. The staff are super friendly and make your stay a perfect holiday. And you get milk and cookies in the end of the day. Absolutely recommended
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Cancelled the reservations when we saw the room.

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Disclosure of penalties for cancellation
Location: Centrally located
The room was up a narrow flight of stairs facing a very close building on one side and a neighboring roof directly out the other window. At $400 a night it was not expected. We went downstairs and cancelled both nights and stayed elsewhere. We are now unable to get our money refunded because of some 7 day rule which was not stated by them. I made the reservations inside the 7 days so it should have been disclosed of the no refund policy. Your literature stated that you have no cancellation penalty but warned that the hotel might. They claim they haven't invoiced you yet so you should be responsible for the refund. Please forward that to me. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great boutique hotel in center of town!

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Includes breakfast, evening turn down service with fresh baked cookies, valet service and the staff is awesome.
Beautiful hotel with exceptional service. In the center of town and only a few blocks to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great location. Close to the beach and Ocean Blvd.

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms and perfect location
Cons: It was a bit noisy.
Location: Point Lobos, Carmel beach,
A wonderful small hotel in the heart of Carmel-by-the-Sea. The staff were amazing. Everyone from the front desk to the maids. The cookies and milk in the evening were wonderful. The reason I rated it a 4 versus a 5, is our room was at the front of the hotel on the second floor and was noisy at times. When we return, which we will, I will ask for a room in the back of the hotel.