Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic staff

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Great breakfast , short walk to Ocean Ave, nice court yard
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allentown PA

Extremely nice but a bit stuffy

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Hotel was well kept and clean. Very elegant but a bit stuffy. We couldn't keep our room cool and the rooms were loud. You could hear your neighbors clearly as well as your typical old building noises. We did not sleep well but the facility was very nice with good aconifations. I was however a bit shocked when they told us they valet all guests cars only to find it moved two parking spots over and on the street when we walked by later that night. This wasn't a bad experience by any means but for the price we would try else where next time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2016
..... Now is the time for all good men I do not write reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, CA

Delightful Stay in Carmel at L Auberge

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
We chose Carmel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, and our stay at L Auberge did not disappoint. The staff was wonderful, as was the included breakfast. The location was peaceful and quiet, the room was delightful, and the location was close to the beach, shopping and restaurants. We loved it and will come back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Lovely

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
I LOVED this hotel. Very charming, comfortable and within walking distance of everything. We will be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Carmel Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Service and staff.
Location: The location is close to the shopping restaurants and beach. perfect.
The amazing thing about this hotel is the service from the staff. Carmel does not have large hotel and resort options. This boutique european style hotel offers incredible service and the food is delightful. we had a bottle of champagne and ordered the salad and cheese board in the courtyard. Also utilized the driver. Great stay
5 out of 5
by Alexander from Oakland

Very good place to stay in Carmel

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and great service. The restaurant at the hotel is one of the best in Carmel. Very delicious food, presentation and service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

fabulous

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Favorite hotel of our trip. Just lovely. Wonderful staff. Beautiful setting. Amazing breakfast. Great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

highly recommend

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Orbitz
Stay at this hotel is a highlight of this trip. Beautiful courtyard, bedding and wonderful breakfast. We came to Carmel by the sea because we could not find a lodge in Big Sur. It is about 30 min drive to Big Sur, it is a very lovely place to stay overnight before heading for hiking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

A perfect European boutique hotel

Posted Jul 12, 2016
L'Auberge is the best hotel among other 5 star hotels we have encountered on our California trip so far. It looks like like it came straight from the Old Europe. An amazing mix of vintage and modern. The building is 100 years old and looks like a piece of Venice. Situated in the heart of Carmel and minutes from the entrance to the famous 17 Mile drive. Clean, very well maintained, lots of flowers. The staff are super friendly and make your stay a perfect holiday. And you get milk and cookies in the end of the day. Absolutely recommended