Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

great staff - great property

Posted May 29, 2016
very well run and charming. property is very good- breakfast Buffett is excellent.
4 out of 5
by Jack from Ohio

A comfortable and unpretentious location

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Pleasant staff, clean but small rooms and a wonderful location in Carmel made for a nice stay. Some noise in the hallways at times but nothing we haven't experienced at other hotels. Parking on the nearby streets was easy and available being you are away from the town center and parking meters and the "meter maids".
4 out of 5
by Rebecca from San Francisco

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Brunch was the best part. Hotel was overall in a cute neighborhood and so close to the lovely beach. Room felt like it was cheaply put together compared to the lobby - it definitely cheapened the feel of the hotel. I didn't appreciate being charged the amenities fee after I paid for my stay on Hotels.com - felt like a sneaky way to get ppl to pay extra when they thought the brunch, etc was included.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL, Martha's Vineyard

Charming, tastefully appointed, well staffed.

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Among other things, free and excellent jitney service to restaurants, etc., driven by intelligent, charming, and very prompt young men.
Cons: The guest rooms could use a little boost in color and interest.
Location: Location near the beach is highly desirable, even if you don't usually like beaches. Shops and restaurants are nearby.
This boutique hotel is a rare one among hostelries today. It is perfectly situated, being close to the beach. The staff are well chosen, well trained, friendly and helpful, and they are there when you need them. The interiors are charming, unpretentious, and very tasteful in a more or less mission aesthetic. One enters to a lighted fireplace with comfortable seating, and with offers of beverages. A full and extensive breakfast is included. In every respect, unless you are there for golf, it is in my opinion preferable to the Lodge at Pebble Beach. For those unacquainted with Carmel, and who generally don't care about the beach, be aware that this one is different. The surfers, throngs of happy dogs, squirrels, birds and people doing interesting things, are a kind of theater good for hours of pleasant relaxation. The standard rooms could be just a little larger, but they are cheerful and bright. Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
5 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Oscar from Buenos aires

Hermoso lugar

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Muy bien
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Almost perfect

Posted May 2, 2016
Great setting. Great historic building with beautiful decor in the common areas. Great staff. Beautiful town. Great complimentary breakfast. The decor in the rooms was a little lacking compared to the common areas. Since it's an older building there's no air conditioning. The hotel puts a large fan in the room but it did get a little stuffy. Still a great experience.
4 out of 5
by Maryellen from Dallas, TX

Quiet luxury in Carmel

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Hotels
We loved La Playa Carmel and can see it as being a great place to stay for an extended period of time. Beautiful building and grounds, cozy bar and healthy fresh breakfast were enjoyed by our entire family. Our kids' room faced the street and they said that it was a bit noisy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing room

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Room not good. Too bright, hot and noisey. Faced road. Couldn't open window without moving furniture. Couldn't make it dark with their shutters. Just didn't work.
5 out of 5
by ARNAUD from Paris

Un rêve au bord de la mer

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Magnifique hôtel perdu près de la plage. Jardins onirique laissant place à la détente. Personnel très attentionné. Petit déjeuner buffet très varié.