Ratings based on 175 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, NSW, Australia

Take a step back in time.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Loved the old time ambiance. Great breakfasts. Great location & shuttle service to local restaurants. Walking distance to beach.
Cons: Our room smelled unpleasantly stale. Not sure if it wasn't used too often, but even our luggage smelled of the stale smell after we had left.
Location: Close proximity to restaurants & walking distance to beach.
Really enjoyed the hotel. Staff were friendly & helpful. The view (although not from our room) was wonderful. Fabulous sunsets. A great feel of what Carmel would have been like decades ago. Wonderful breakfasts. Convenient shuttle service to & from local restaurants. Definitely would recommend to anyone travelling to Carmel by the Sea. During our stay our block had a blackout. The staff could not have been more helpful, offering drinks & very accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Best hotel in Carmel!

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Location, scenic views, first class staff.
Cons: Nothing, absolutely nothing.
Location: Short walk to ocean, shops and restaurants.
Magnificent ocean view, beautiful setting, great service, staff trained in sincere friendliness and kind attention. Small bathroom but clean and functional. Great breakfast buffet and cooked to order egg dishes. Wine reception in the evenings. Did I mention the staff? Can't mention them enough! A place you don't want to leave and can't wait fo come back to!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice, quite hotel with beautiful view.

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: view and court yard
Cons: Does not have any unground hot tub and spa.
If there is a complain, the hotel does not have any unground hot tub and spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Very nice

Posted Feb 4, 2017
We had a "cheap" room and it was very comfortable and very clean. The grounds were very nice. The breakfast that came with the room was excellent. Everything was very good and I would certainly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Jan 29, 2017
First time at the LA Playa, been to carmel aLot. This was wonderful, breakfast buffet was amazing with omelet bar, waffle bar and great pastries. Views are hard to beat and the grounds are beautiful, great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Very nice and big for a hotel room. Clean and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ

Over-rated hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Attractive lobby, nice breakfast assortment.
Cons: Rooms should be bigger with larger bathrooms.
Location: Hotel was close to beach, but, this is not a factor for a winter stay. Center of Carmel was about five minutes away by car.
I chose this hotel based on the many positive reviews and really do not understand them. I had requested a king size bed and we were given a very small room with a small bed. I immediately called to request another room and was told that requests for bed size were only honored subject to availability. I was also told that I did not book the room directly with the hotel, but, through Expedia and did not make the request with the hotel directly. I asked if there were any available king beds and we were then moved to a slightly larger room with a king bed directly across the hall. The staff member told me that we were being upgraded to an "ocean view". The view was meaningless as it was winter, the days were short, the window small and the view was not so good. I told him that I didn't care about the view, I wanted a larger room and bed. This room had the tiniest bathroom I've ever seen with a minuscule sink. The hotel was not fully booked, but, I did not feel like switching rooms again. The lobby was very pretty and the buffet breakfast was quite good, but, I would never stay here again or recommend this hotel to anyone. It is very over-priced for what it offers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful atmosphere, traditional and comfortable

Posted Dec 22, 2016
This hotel has a lovely feeling with beautiful furnishings and some ocean views. The bed was extremely comfortable and we received an upgrade to an ocean view room. We would definitely stay at La Playa again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Quaint Hotel by the beach

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Enjoyed my stay - the hotel staff and hotel itself is interesting. The breakfast was very good. I wished they had a restaurant open at night so of you just want to dine in, iys possible. No room service either. I wish the rooms were bigger and the toilets too. I don't know though if in the summer it will be too warm there since they don't have air-conditioning. They provide electric fans. But you need the close the shutters since the sunlight could wake you up. We went in November so climate for the rooms was very comfortable. We opened the window slightly but still had to close the shutters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel, good quality and good customer service

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The hotel is in a good location in Carmel, walkable to downtown with nice views of the Ocean. The main sitting area in the lobby was nice at night with the fireplace running. They had a good breakfast as well. The room was small, but comfortable and kept up to date. They have good customer service. We had a problem with our reservation and they exceeded our expectations in taking care of it. I would recommend staying here.