Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Al

Beautiful hotel easy walk to the beach and restau

Posted May 19, 2017
Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fabulous. Room was warm when we checked in but cooled down enough by abt 10:00 for sleeping. ( no a/c).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great historic hotel in a great location...

Posted May 3, 2017
This hotel is a beautiful historic building and in a great location. The rooms are a bit small and can get warm because there is no AC but it's nice and cool and night so the rooms cool down quickly with the windows open... the buffet breakfast is very good...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Danville

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Wonderful stay, excellent breakfast and great location! Would stay here again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from v

love la Playa. Always a treat

Posted Apr 25, 2017
1 block from beach. Best breakfast. Fabulous staff. Great amenities all 3 years I have stayed here and loved it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Park City, UT

Well located versus both beach and town.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Pros: Classic style and friendly staff
Cons: Was some construction noise during the day... wish this could have been avoided.
Great breakfast and lovely grounds. Had a room with a patio which was great for just sitting and relaxing with a glass of wine and a book.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Honeymoon Treat

Posted Mar 15, 2017
After getting getting married in San Francisco on march 7th my husband took me on a surprise drive to Carmel. We stayed at laplaya Carmel. First impression of the hotel was amazing. Beautiful grounds. Walking into lobby you can tell it was very clean and inviting. We were met by Sarah Jennings at the front desk. When she heard we just got married she upgraded our room to ocean view. Sean Williams was also at desk offering sangria right away. He walked us up to our room and actually returned a short while later with a bottle of champagne Both of them made our stay so amazing. They really cared. The room was amazing. Best service ever!!!! Also wonderful charming service from Karun. He was our driver from hotel to restaurant and back. I thought that was special service provided by hotel. Last but least amazing champagne breakfast included. I highly recommend to anyone and we will return!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from State College, PA

Nice, to a point

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: The location and the views.
Cons: Addition of an elevator and fitness room.
Location: Excellent restaurants and many shops within three blocks, and the ocean within two.
This hotel is in the center of Carmel-by-the-Sea and, like everything else in the city, it is pretentious. The hotel staff is excellent and attentive, but this can't compensate for the lack of significant amenities, including an elevator and fitness room. The vaunted champagne breakfast includes a good omelet and waffle bar, but otherwise lacks variety, quality foods, and service. The hotel caters to corporate, class-reunion, and other groups, and offers good gathering facilities for those. But for other guests, you are paying to be in the middle of Carmel, period.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overly expensive hotel..

Posted Mar 3, 2017
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Value for the buck.
Location: Location was great.
The first room we were given was so small we could hardly turn around in it, so we upgraded to a somewhat larger room that cost substantially more than it was worth. Overall our experience was one of being ripped off at every turn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Could not get a good nights sleep

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The walls are so thin I could hear snoring from the next room. I could hear people taking showers at 6 AM. The window treatments are shutters so light came in the room in the morning which made it difficult to sleep. The front desk attendant was indifferent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Rooms badly need renovation

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated. King beds don't belong in such tiny rooms.
For the price that we paid, we were very shocked to see the tiny room (barely room to walk around the bed and we struggled to find space for our suitcases), and the outdated furniture and decor was depressing. Ceilings are low and bathroom lighting was very dim. You will not want to spend any waking time in the room. Wine hour included just a tasting of one winery's wine; there were no small bites or appetizers. Breakfast was very nice....the one bright spot of our stay.