Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Cons: keep the pool area open later
Very professional staff and very helpful. Clean and well kept, good size room with all the expected amenities. Nice breakfast in the mornings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Bel hôtel, site superbe avec plomberie bruyante

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Chambre Village, donc très petite mais salle de bain bien équipée et bien pensée. La plomberie est toutefois très bruyante. Le premier soir, vers 1h15 du matin, la plomberie de l'hôtel s'est mise à faire un bruit d'enfer, réveillant une partie de l'hôtel, pour ne cesser qu'environ 45 minutes plus tard. Aussi, à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit, si le voisin utilise l'eau chaude de la baignoire, cela fait un bruit énorme. L'hôtel gagnerait à refaire sa plomberie. Pour le reste, le site est très beau et les déjeuners assez complets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Elegant but cozy close to everything

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay in Carmel at La Playa. We only wish we had stayed longer than one night! The hotel and grounds are immaculately kept- absolutely beautiful flowers. It's located 2 blocks from the beach and just a short walk into town. We enjoyed complimentary wine tasting and milk/cookies. They also offered sangria and breakfast. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, even helping us to check in ahead of scheduled time. Bonus, a really cool hotel bar. Best old fashioned and a while we didn't get to eat there, we were told by locals the food is yummy! We look forward to going back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Charming hotel. Great service and food.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Location: 2 minute walk to the beach and for shopping.
My husband and I had a wonderful getaway at this hotel. The facilities were terrific and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was a 10 :)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: The breakfast was just excellent.
Nice staff, great service (including wine tasting and cookies at night).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Awful room, bathroom tiny and very expensive

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
This was a 200.00 room that hotel charged 600.00. Ripoff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
La Playa was the perfect location for beach and other explorations. The hotel gardens are enchanting and the breakfast is amazing
5 out of 5
by Nancy from Aspen

Hidden jewel in Carmel

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Upgraded our room and treated us special
4 out of 5
by Michael from San Francisco

Classic hotel in Carmel

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel that is very dated. Rooms are small and very loud. Not sure if it was holiday weekend related, but there were quite a few little kids running in the halls in the mornings. Beautiful grounds so close to the beach. Very rare in Carmel. Service was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

great staff - great property

Posted May 29, 2016
very well run and charming. property is very good- breakfast Buffett is excellent.