Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Jan 8, 2017
Very nice and big for a hotel room. Clean and very comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montclair, NJ

Over-rated hotel

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Attractive lobby, nice breakfast assortment.
Cons: Rooms should be bigger with larger bathrooms.
Location: Hotel was close to beach, but, this is not a factor for a winter stay. Center of Carmel was about five minutes away by car.
I chose this hotel based on the many positive reviews and really do not understand them. I had requested a king size bed and we were given a very small room with a small bed. I immediately called to request another room and was told that requests for bed size were only honored subject to availability. I was also told that I did not book the room directly with the hotel, but, through Expedia and did not make the request with the hotel directly. I asked if there were any available king beds and we were then moved to a slightly larger room with a king bed directly across the hall. The staff member told me that we were being upgraded to an "ocean view". The view was meaningless as it was winter, the days were short, the window small and the view was not so good. I told him that I didn't care about the view, I wanted a larger room and bed. This room had the tiniest bathroom I've ever seen with a minuscule sink. The hotel was not fully booked, but, I did not feel like switching rooms again. The lobby was very pretty and the buffet breakfast was quite good, but, I would never stay here again or recommend this hotel to anyone. It is very over-priced for what it offers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful atmosphere, traditional and comfortable

Posted Dec 22, 2016
This hotel has a lovely feeling with beautiful furnishings and some ocean views. The bed was extremely comfortable and we received an upgrade to an ocean view room. We would definitely stay at La Playa again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Quaint Hotel by the beach

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Enjoyed my stay - the hotel staff and hotel itself is interesting. The breakfast was very good. I wished they had a restaurant open at night so of you just want to dine in, iys possible. No room service either. I wish the rooms were bigger and the toilets too. I don't know though if in the summer it will be too warm there since they don't have air-conditioning. They provide electric fans. But you need the close the shutters since the sunlight could wake you up. We went in November so climate for the rooms was very comfortable. We opened the window slightly but still had to close the shutters.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice Hotel, good quality and good customer service

Posted Dec 1, 2016
The hotel is in a good location in Carmel, walkable to downtown with nice views of the Ocean. The main sitting area in the lobby was nice at night with the fireplace running. They had a good breakfast as well. The room was small, but comfortable and kept up to date. They have good customer service. We had a problem with our reservation and they exceeded our expectations in taking care of it. I would recommend staying here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Menlo Park, United States of America

Surprised it wasn't nicer

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Carmel is a golf lovers destination! But if you stay here don't book an early tee time as no breakfast is available before 7:30a. Not even as a special request. Rooms are small. Central heating was too hot. Surprised it wasn't better.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Best place to stay in Carmel

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The location was perfect, the hotel was beyond charming, and the staff was extremely courteous and accomodating. Perfect place to stay for a special get away.
Cons: I didn't like that I had to leave so soon. Best experience ever with a hotel.
Location: Shopping, 17 mile drive, Monterey Bay. Plenty to do, or great place to relax-your choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Charming beautiful gardens close to the beach.

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Location: Close to the beach
Rooms are small but charming bathroom is tiny. Gardens and hotel are very charming
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, United States of America

Classic Pacific Coast Elegance.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Small and intimate.
Cons: Parking is "find your own" somewhere in the neighboring community.
Location: Shopping and beach access is within walking distance.
The hotel is situated within walking distance of the shopping area in Carmel by the Sea and beach. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully landscaped and the surrounding area is quiet and picturesque. The rooms are classic but updated with modern amenities. We will stay again and again whenever visiting the Monterrey Peninsula.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Excellent
AWSOME buffet breakfast, room, staff, atmosphere....