Ratings based on 422 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, United States of America

Classic Pacific Coast Elegance.

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Small and intimate.
Cons: Parking is "find your own" somewhere in the neighboring community.
Location: Shopping and beach access is within walking distance.
The hotel is situated within walking distance of the shopping area in Carmel by the Sea and beach. The grounds of the hotel are beautifully landscaped and the surrounding area is quiet and picturesque. The rooms are classic but updated with modern amenities. We will stay again and again whenever visiting the Monterrey Peninsula.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Location: Excellent
AWSOME buffet breakfast, room, staff, atmosphere....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, CA

Beautiful Old Hotel in Carmel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: The gardens and the pool are beautiful, as is the building itself. The staff are capable and friendly. And the location is great.
Cons: The lack of air conditioning was really a problem when we were there.
Location: We love the Mission Ranch for drinks out doors at sunset. Just roaming the streets of the town is a treat - and, of course, the ocean!
The place is gorgeous, the feeling of an old style country club. Beautiful grounds and well appointed rooms. The breakfast that is included is the best I've ever seen, but there is no restaurant. There is a bar and the bar serves food fro 2 to 11 pm. There's also a free shuttle to the restaurants in downtown Carmel. They also have some fun activities - a happy hour where drinks are a dime (but you actually have to have a 10 cent coin), wine tasting, etc. And the bar, dining room and terrace are all great. Our room was beautiful, with an ocean view, but there is no air conditioning in the hotel (usually no problem), but it was over 80º two of the days we were there and it got pretty stuffy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ON, Canada

Beautiful setting, great staff, extra values.

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Location: Excellent location! Walk to the beach and downtown shop and restaurants. A few minutes drive to 17 Mile Drive
Beautiful hotel in a great location. Walking distance to beach. Hotel offers free shuttle to restaurants, an early evening manager's wine tasting, nightly milk and cookies (freshly baked) and afternoon lemonade. Hotel has an intimate feel, rooms are clean and updated, breakfast buffet on the patio was AWSOME. Staff are courteous, friendly and knowledgeable. We had booked this hotel for one night as we were travelling to Los Angeles but stayed an extra night because we loved the hotel, the surroundings and the atmosphere. I could invision a smaller intimate wedding at this hotel being so beautiful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte, nc

Older hotel in with a lot of character

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Hotel facilities and grounds were very nice. Bar during happy hour and breakfast the next morning was great. Our problem was the room. The room was on a lower level under the bar. Despite being in the 50's outside- our room was really hot with no ac. It was also right along the street so opening the windows was loud and not very desirable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Gorgeous Hotel! So Romantic!

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Location: Perfect Walking Distance to downtown restarants and shopping! 5 Short Blocks.
This Hotel was Fabulous! Snacks and Treats all day Long and the Breakfast that is included is like a five star buffet! Book It!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Sep 16, 2016
Cons: keep the pool area open later
Very professional staff and very helpful. Clean and well kept, good size room with all the expected amenities. Nice breakfast in the mornings.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Bel hôtel, site superbe avec plomberie bruyante

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Chambre Village, donc très petite mais salle de bain bien équipée et bien pensée. La plomberie est toutefois très bruyante. Le premier soir, vers 1h15 du matin, la plomberie de l'hôtel s'est mise à faire un bruit d'enfer, réveillant une partie de l'hôtel, pour ne cesser qu'environ 45 minutes plus tard. Aussi, à toute heure du jour ou de la nuit, si le voisin utilise l'eau chaude de la baignoire, cela fait un bruit énorme. L'hôtel gagnerait à refaire sa plomberie. Pour le reste, le site est très beau et les déjeuners assez complets.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Elegant but cozy close to everything

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We absolutely loved our stay in Carmel at La Playa. We only wish we had stayed longer than one night! The hotel and grounds are immaculately kept- absolutely beautiful flowers. It's located 2 blocks from the beach and just a short walk into town. We enjoyed complimentary wine tasting and milk/cookies. They also offered sangria and breakfast. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating, even helping us to check in ahead of scheduled time. Bonus, a really cool hotel bar. Best old fashioned and a while we didn't get to eat there, we were told by locals the food is yummy! We look forward to going back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Charming hotel. Great service and food.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Location: 2 minute walk to the beach and for shopping.
My husband and I had a wonderful getaway at this hotel. The facilities were terrific and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was a 10 :)