Ratings based on 399 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2016
La Playa was the perfect location for beach and other explorations. The hotel gardens are enchanting and the breakfast is amazing
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

great staff - great property

Posted May 29, 2016
very well run and charming. property is very good- breakfast Buffett is excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Naples, FL, Martha's Vineyard

Charming, tastefully appointed, well staffed.

Posted May 11, 2016
Pros: Among other things, free and excellent jitney service to restaurants, etc., driven by intelligent, charming, and very prompt young men.
Cons: The guest rooms could use a little boost in color and interest.
Location: Location near the beach is highly desirable, even if you don't usually like beaches. Shops and restaurants are nearby.
This boutique hotel is a rare one among hostelries today. It is perfectly situated, being close to the beach. The staff are well chosen, well trained, friendly and helpful, and they are there when you need them. The interiors are charming, unpretentious, and very tasteful in a more or less mission aesthetic. One enters to a lighted fireplace with comfortable seating, and with offers of beverages. A full and extensive breakfast is included. In every respect, unless you are there for golf, it is in my opinion preferable to the Lodge at Pebble Beach. For those unacquainted with Carmel, and who generally don't care about the beach, be aware that this one is different. The surfers, throngs of happy dogs, squirrels, birds and people doing interesting things, are a kind of theater good for hours of pleasant relaxation. The standard rooms could be just a little larger, but they are cheerful and bright. Ask for a room with a view of the sea.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Almost perfect

Posted May 2, 2016
Great setting. Great historic building with beautiful decor in the common areas. Great staff. Beautiful town. Great complimentary breakfast. The decor in the rooms was a little lacking compared to the common areas. Since it's an older building there's no air conditioning. The hotel puts a large fan in the room but it did get a little stuffy. Still a great experience.
5 out of 5
by ARNAUD from Paris

Un rêve au bord de la mer

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Magnifique hôtel perdu près de la plage. Jardins onirique laissant place à la détente. Personnel très attentionné. Petit déjeuner buffet très varié.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Beautiful outdoor garden! Lovely place to stay. Close to all.
5 out of 5
by Alina from San Francisco

True gem with 5 star service

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
A big thank you to LaPlaya Hotel for making my husband's birthday extra special. Upon arrival we received a complementary upgrade to a room with the view from which we could hear the ocean at night. There are also three lovely delicious cupcakes they were offered with complements of the hotel. We enjoyed the room which was very clean and had a super comfortable bed. But most of all the hotel was so lovely and relaxing. The grounds are beautiful, the pool heated and accessible even on a cool spring afternoon. We loved having drinks on the patio by the fire pit with a view of the ocean & so enjoyed the complementary breakfast in the morning. The frittatas & bread pudding Were absolutely delicious, but the made to order waffles with whipped cream were out of this world! Did I mention that sangria, various wines and cookies and milk are offered at the reception in the afternoon? Loved lounging by the pool, walking the few blocks to lay out on the beach or shopping on Ocean Ave nearby. The staff were very sweet & accomodating. Will definitely return on our next visit to Carmel. La playa hotel is a true gem with five star service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange CA

Loved the complimentary Sangria.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The gardens
Location: Good location. Two blocks from downtown
Brunch was included in our stay and it was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic Hotel in beautiful location

Posted Apr 11, 2016
The hotel is ideally situated near to the beach and ocean avenue. Staff was incredibly helpful and the facilities were all of the highest standard. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a short break in Carmel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Was nice but the fact that it didn't have an AC was an issue. Also paid extra $100 for the ocean view but the window was so small that it made the view irrelevant.