Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to beach and golf

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: ConvinceN to all we like to do
Cons: N/C
Location: Near beach, golf, center of town and near town of Monterrey
go there every year to relax and golf. NNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the area. Thank you, Hotel Management Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n california

did not stay went to dear haven lodge

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Cons: clean it up
Location: great location not clean
did not stay stained carpet room smelled ............................
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guests stay a positive and memorable one. I am sorry that you chose to check-out, and not give us the opportunity to make things right.. Carpets are on a regular rotation for cleaning we apologize that the carpet in your room had stains. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you, Hotel Management Team
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Service is bad to non existent

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Everything needs work here, no idea how it is listed as three star.
Location: Location is close to beach, walkable to lighthouse and butterflies, but also backs onto cemetery, so depends how you feel about that.....
When we checked in the desk clerk made us wait 30 minutes while she called and recalled Expedia because of an error in the booking -- we had a reservation for three people but they said Expedia has sent in a reservation for two so they had assigned us a room for two. I had the reservation for three right there on my phone but she wanted someone to pay an upgrade. This did not seem like our problem but we had to wait 30 minutes non the less. After talking to Expedia and checking in people behind us, she slammed down the phone and gave us a room. The room was fine, too few towels and not as clean as could be, but fine. Free breakfast the next day was a joke -- white bread toast to make yourself, weak coffee, hard boiled eggs (?), and generic cereal (my son said it tasted strange). We skipped it on day two. We went out that day at about 9 am, came back at 3 pm, our room was not made up. We asked them about it, no promise of when it would be done. We asked them to deliver fresh towels at least (there were only two to start with and these were now dirty). We went our again to the theater at 6 and came back at 10.30, no room cleaning, no towels. We had to go to housekeeping and get the towels ourselves. This bad to non-existent service means was the rule, we will never go here again. There are many hotels around Pacific Grove, skip this one.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Nallely, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. I understand that you were dissatisfied with the service. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you, Hotel Management Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Do not waste your money here

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Location but never will stay here again.
Cons: The hotel staff which were rude and uncaring I expected at least that our room would be made up more than once after paying over a thousand dollars
We stayed at this hotel four nights and our room was made up once. When we complained we were told they were working on incoming guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Nallely, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback! Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you, Hotel Management Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Night away in Monterey

Posted Nov 23, 2016
first stay in Pacific Grove. Good location but could definitely use a facelift as the pool area and buildings are run down. Pretty nice floors and bedding. Shower tile grout looked old and dirty. Probably will not stay here again though nothing was really "wrong" with the property.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Lighthouse Lodge Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us. Our rooms were recently remodeled. The exterior renovation is on it's way which will include the pool area, and exterior of buildings, as well as walkways. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you travel to the Monterey area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nothing wrong waking up to the sounds of the ocean

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Pros: Clean comfortable room
Cons: Not much, I liked it a lot
Location: very good location without actually staying in town.
I could write a long review about things that don't really matter much. Basically, newly remodeled room was very clean and very quiet. The grounds, pool, jacuzzi, everything very well kept. Right near the beach, with the sliding door open we slept very comfortably to the sounds of the ocean. Very nice stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by Lighthouse Lodge Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for rating your stay 5 stars. We appreciate and value all guest feedback. We hope the next time you return to the Pacific Grove area you will once again choose Lighthouse Lodge and Cottages.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Rug was filthy, walls very marked up. Dirty
When I booked the room on-line I was excited. The rooms seemed charming. I had asked for a room with a fireplace, and upon arrival they didn't have one for me, so they game me another. Perhaps the first room would have been nice, but the room we were given was VERY dirty. The carpet as terrible!!!! SO dirty and stained everywhere. I really couldn't believe it for the price we paid. The fireplace didn't work anyway, and we had to ask for everything else such as an iron and board, extra towels for our child. The rest of the hotel looked very nice, and breakfast was amazing. I am hoping that we just got one of the bad rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Nallely, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I am very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We strive to make every guest encounter a positive and memorable one. We regret that we missed the mark on your most recent stay with us. I want you to know that we are using this feedback to improve our guest experience in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. Thank you,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from modesto, ca

Nice room and location, very friendly staff.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Location to the beach, cleanliness, good price, breakfast included ( toast, boiled eggs, oatmeal, cereal, )
Cons: Bed could have been better, needed a topper, too firm for me. Couldn't get Movies ordered even though it offered it
Location: Walking distance to the beach, very quiet, right next to cemetery ( a very old and interesting one) not a bad thing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 15, 2016 by Nallely, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are happy to see all the positive comments. We hope to see you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Rosa, United States of America

Very friendly & accommodating staff

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Close to Cannery Row and the aquarium. Within walking distance of a golf course & "downtown" Pacific Grove which has a number of restaurants & shops
The friendly and accommodating staff made our three night stay very enjoyable. However, the building our room was located in was definitely showing signs of wear & tear including a door that was hard to open & close. The room itself was on the smallish side necessitating a sliding door into the bathroom. The bathroom had been recently remodeled and was quite nice. The shower was great. So was the complimentary breakfast with the eggs benedict being every bit as good as those you would find in any nice restaurant. For the value, friendliness of the staff, and the location I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the Monterey peninsula.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Nallely, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we can't wait to welcome you back on your next visit to the area. Thank you,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2016
The sidewalk areas and entrys to the rooms had not been cleaned There needs to be more of a daily maintenance outside. The carpet was dirty in room 151. I selected this facility because it was pet friendly, however it was overpriced for the rooms and bathroom.. It was in a nice quite area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2016 by Nallely, Hotel Management
Hello, Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations to be met. We are working in getting this issues resolved. Sorry for the inconveniences. Thank you