Ratings based on 1,675 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. Well maintained, older motel

Posted May 27, 2017
I had a comfortable bed and cozy room. Breakfast was nothing to write home about. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod, MA

Conveniently located

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Location is great, close to the shore and short walk to Cannery Row.
Cons: The parking was limited. The bedding in the room was nice. The bathroom room s really tight in size and the shower head is too low and weak
Location: Close to Cannery Row and town for shopping & eating. There is a bike rental place just across the street, the staff was great, friendly & helpful.
My husband and I stayed for three nights on the tail end of a northern CA trip. We really enjoyed the Monteray area.Great restaurants and beautiful shore line.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from modesto, ca

Quaint hotel great location

Posted May 22, 2017
Hotel is quaint provided a simple breakfast options. Located within walking distance to restaurant, beach, and amazing views! Front office staff Julianna was very sweet and helpful during our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from arizona

Good location

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Plumbing.
Although the location was great, the plumbing was a problem. The bathtub didn't drain, so taking a shower necessitated standing in inches of water, and the water was lukewarm. As well, the toilet did not consistently flush properly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ewww

Posted May 14, 2017
Not worth the expense. It was horrible. Very small. Over priced. Breakfast was not worth getting up early.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san Jose, ca

Ok hotel but heater didn't work

Posted May 8, 2017
They tried lighting the pilot but that did nothing so we got a space heater from the office. Room was ok and location was great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Convenient to other places in Monterey Bay Area

Posted May 7, 2017
Older style hotel but functional & convenient. Close to beach & good views Car parking also convenient
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No AC in the rooms

Posted May 3, 2017
My first experience when I checked in with Juliana was the best part of the stay. She took great care of my boyfriend and I. Calling to the restaurant we were going for dinner. Sardine Factory. She and the restaurant took great care of us. Nice view of the water. Got to the room to find no AC, with the room incredibly hot and humid. There was a ceiling fan and a floor fan in the room. Unfortunately it was tucked into the corner of the closet and didn't notice it til the next morning. Tried to take a shower with absolutely no water pressure. Woke up hot more then once even with the windows wide open. Coffee in the morning downstairs wasn't bad and I'm the kind of person who buys green beans, roasts and weighs everything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Louis, MO

Great Staff, nice location but small room.

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: Very friendly staff, central location, elevator for 2nd/3rd floor access.
Cons: Cleaner, looked like micro and fridge had not been dusted down, balcony very dirty, sliding door needed oiling, hard to open. No hooks in bathroom.
Location: In walking distance to coast, natural marine reserve, about 20 min walk from Cannery Row area or scenic ocean view opposite direction.
Neg.....Chose a balcony room for optimal view. Not worth cost, very narrow with only place for bistro table to sit was at street end, not ocean view. It had about 3 dozen dead bees and cobwebs on it, staff said this was an ongoing problem, yet they did nothing to clean mess before check in. Sliding door to balcony very hard to slide. Room smaller than others with no couch or sitting area as others have, the fridge and micro were in closet area because of small room, bed almost against wall on one side, hard to get in/out. Bathroom had no hooks to hang towels, robes. May stay again but not this room. Note: Seem only about 10 percent of rooms offer any view of ocean area as buildings on front and side of hotel block view. Pos....Good continental breakfast, soft terry robe, nice location within walking distance to nature/beach areas. Free parking, close drive to town, scenic views along coast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Room was clean and fairly up to date. Maid service was excellent.