Ratings based on 1,713 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Very much appreciated the refrigerator and microwave in the room, and the continental breakfast. The hard boiled eggs were perfectly cooked.
Cons: Extra curtain for 1st floor rooms because with a power outage and blackout drapes, showering and dressing in the dark was tough.
Location: Monterey Bay Aquarium (about a mile). Lover's Point Beach and Park across the street. Monterey Bay Coastal Trail - great to walk, run, take pictures.
The hotel (outside and room) looks a little dated, but it's clean, dusted, and had no cracks on the wall, no unpleasantness in the shower, and no broken things. Looking at it, it's not the most modern place you could stay in, but there's pride in how it's taken care of. The first receptionist I met, Binaya, was friendly and helpful. The second - I forgot her name - was outgoing and enthusiastic, but borderline rude to the customer ahead of me. Their system messed up her reservation and charged her more, and the receptionist took a hands-off, not-my-fault, call-your-booking-website approach. Checking out was very easy, I just handed back my room card keys. Parking was easy, too. They had an underground parking and side parking. I parked on the side since my room was on the first floor. If other guests were loud, I did hear them. But nobody was loud and rude especially late at night or early morning. In the morning, there was a power outage (city's outage, nothing the hotel could do about it). A man call the front desk and let them know the power's out. Heard his words very clearly. Instead of an A/C unit, there was an electric tower fan. I was taken aback at first, but I went in the summer and it was chilly since we're right at the coast. So the fan was enough to keep cool. The fog rolled in the morning. I grabbed some items from the continental breakfast and ate it across the street watching the waters. I just loved that. What a calming start to the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
I am writing this review because I have to - per expedia. nice place though!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Walk to the beach

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Quaint hotel but you can literally walk right to the beach across the street. Parking in front of rooms and parking underneath in garage. Continental breakfast 7-10 with your basics. Room was small, but to be expected at the beach. Was nice to have microwave and mini fridge. Couple ants in the room, but other than that everything seemed clean. Definitely worth trying for the location and the price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LDN

Convenient for beach and Pacific Highway

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Large bedroom/living area but very small bathroom. Opposite the beach but a quite a walk downhill to the main centre. Free parking. Basic breakfast. Easy to get onto the highway.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami

Mediocre

Posted Jul 3, 2017
First, I'd like to say that I love the name of the hotel, the staff were wonderful, check-in and check-out was a cinch! The room we had was not what we saw in the pictures off of Expedia. It was dark carpets, dark walls and bedding. The sink was not part of a bathroom but part of the room! I don't know what I was expecting but something a bit more appealing. I'm not sure I would recommend to my friends unless they just need a place to crash and not enjoy their hotel room....which is probably all people want to do at that location anyhow. The location is breathtaking!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elk Grove, Ca

Centrally located hotel.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: The room was pleasant looking and very clean. The people at the desk were very friendly.
Location: The location is excellent. It is close to the ocean, there's a walking trail nearby, and it's within walking distance of the main part of town.
I was going to be in town for only one night. I was looking for a reasonably priced room that would be comfortable for my one night stay. Lover's Point Inn fit the bill. It's an older hotel, so there may be some flaws, but nothing major. I have had better breakfasts at other hotels, but the one provided was adequate.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Over priced Noisy Need more experienced staff at night Need more clean bathroom Bed was not comfortable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bed bugs?

Posted Jun 23, 2017
We spent 1 night and left, even through we paid for 2. We both woke up with bug bites around our shines and ankles. I didn't have a microscope, but some kind of bug bit us both the only night we stayed there. There r plenty of places other than this spot, go there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Lots of construction early in morning and parking lot is pretty bad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location. Well maintained, older motel

Posted May 27, 2017
I had a comfortable bed and cozy room. Breakfast was nothing to write home about. I would stay there again.