Ratings based on 1,355 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Great Location

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Pros: Location and cleanliness.
Cons: Size.
Location: Close to ocean, golf, Monterey Bay Aquariam.
It Is nice clean hotel in an excellent location. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They serve a good little continental breakfast. The only drawback was the size of my room. The bathroom sink was almost next to the bed. The bath and toilet room was so small you could barely shut the door when inside. Since I wAs there by myself it wasn't a problem. I would not want to share the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Good bargain

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast, friendly staff
This was a good room at a good price. My wife and I don't mind walking and it was not too far to walk to Downtown Monterey to walk. There is always Uber too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay Area

Good value in a great location

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff. Clean Great location next to the ocean.
Cons: The floor plan. But it's old, and it is what it is.
If you want a great location (assuming you think close to the ocean is a great location) at a very reasonable price, you'll be happy with Lover's Point. It is NOT a luxury hotel and certainly not suited for business travelers. But the mattress was excellent and all the amenities were provided. But this is an 'old-timey' hotel. Both the door and window in our room opened out onto the walk way, so the curtains were drawn at all times, which led to feeling a bit claustrophobic. We didn't have a view of the water from the first floor, but the upper floors would have such a view, but if I'd been there I think I still would have wanted the curtains drawn for privacy. If your plan is to be a sightseer and use your room for sleeping and napping only, this is a good choice for a few nights.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I was expecting a hotel with a view of the Bay

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTING
Location: THE MONTEREY SHORE LINE IS VERY BEAUTIFUL AND THE CITIES ON THE PENINSULA KEEP THEIR PARKS WELL GROOMED. THE AQUARIUM IS WORLD REKNOWN.
Our view was of an alley. The hotel was a tired worn out dump. There was no sound deadening in the walls; I could hear the toilets flushing in the adjoining rooms. I could not get a decent nights sleep due to all the noise generated in the building. Our bed was squeezed against the wall which made it necessary for my wife to enter the bed by crawling up from the foot of the bed. The entrance door was blocked by an refrigerator and a micro wave. The bath tub drain didn't operate, the side walks and steps were of inconsistent heights which made it dangerous to walk on. The room was cold when we arrived and the heater made noises all night long as well as the plumbing and. guest dragging their suit cases up the outdoor steps adjacent to our room. The hotel is a dump and should be closed until it can be brought up to builders codes. IT IS THE WORST HOTEL I HAVE STAYED IN DURING THE PAST 40 YEARS..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Strandnah, gutes Preis-Leistungsverhältnis

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Insgesamt gute Unterkunft, Strandnah, Zimmer werden instand gehalten und gut gereinigt. Etwas ältere Ausstattung. Frühstück einfach aber gut.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from California

Location, is great!

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: The view from the second floor and the clean room!
Cons: Maybe more variety for breakfast and parking could be better.
Location: Walk pathway by ocean, the park, small beach that is close by,
Love the location and being close to scenic walking path. Love the view from second floor and the sounds from the ocean and not loud, roudy people.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from w

Great location for walking, restaurants, shops

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Front desk was friendly lady!! Room was quiet. The rate was exellent. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great deal.

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: Location and cost
Right across street from bay in Monterey. Very inexpensive. Nice, helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Marin County, California

Super Room, Fabulous seafront location

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Pros: Great location, spacious room.
Cons: Simply a fact of the facility: some rooms have extremely limited ocean views.
Location: Across the street from the beach. Longish stroll to town. Charming town with several antique stores and good restaurants.
Fantastic view, spacious room, super-comfy mattress, very well maintained, very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from K

Perfect location at a great price

Posted Jan 9, 2016
We loved our stay at Lovers' Point. We walked right out our door to the rocky point to watch the sunset and the surfers. Clean room, wonderful service and good coffee!