Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
46% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

It was a NIGHTMARE! Do NOT stay here!

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Close to shopping and restaurants, affordable at $61 per night (with Expedia discount) "FREE" parking (if you get back early enough to snag a spot) otherwise be ready to park at a some random Filipino market and walk back in the middle of the night. 24 hour check in, be sure to call to wake the attendant up because he's asleep in the back. I was greeted by a big man in his PJ's with drool on his face. Cons: No HOT water in the shower (this should be a basic nesessity) bed sheets had cigarette burns, AC unit blew out dusty smell, toilet water BROWN, even after multiple flushing, awoken at 7 am by other teneants screaming and fighting violently (police had to be called) Warning: When I asked if I could cancel my second night reservation (after a traumatic morning for my kids (3 and 1) I was denied, even after all of my above concerns were expressed, they couldn't even offer me a different room. It's ok, I just wanted out of that place asap.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa ca

Only place available on the holiday weekend

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: It was available and took dogs
Cons: Needs to be upgraded and cleaned better
Location: Close to beach and Monterey
One of the rooms was very dirty and in poor condition. We ended up crowding into the other room and using the dirty room
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for spending the time required to leave your review. We are very disappointed to hear that one of your rooms was not spotlessly clean, and we wish that you had made us aware of this during your stay. We would have been happy to offer you an alternate. We hope that you will consider staying with us again when you visit this area, we would love to welcome you back. Best wishes, Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Too expansive for such an old motel

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: location maybe
Cons: everything
Location: Monterey is not far away and the ocean
We stayed here for one night with 2 kids. Receptionist was friendly but first sent us to an occupied room. The room was clean, but everything is soooo old, blanket were torn because of age, there was an old TV set in the room (my kids were amazed:). Everything requires renovation. There was a fan to make a little cooler at night. You need to driver to the ocean or downtown with all the activities. So I don't understand why it is over a hundred per night.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for providing a review of your visit. We are glad to hear you found our staff so friendly. We do have an old building but our staff work hard to keep all our facilities maintained to a very high standard. Thank you for highlighting the issue with your blankets, this was obviously overlooked and we apologise for the inconvenience. Rest assured they will be replaced. We hope this will not put you off returning when you are next in the area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Hotel was decent, room was clean the location was good and very close to the beach, the hotel was better than I expected it to be based on the other reviews, it wasn't dirty, but good for my one night stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 6, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations. We are please that you liked our location and cleanliness. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back again. Best wishes, Hotel Management.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not stay there!!!

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Do not stay in this hotel !!! Rooms are dirty, very outdated and world maintenance in this hotel do not exist. It's look ok on the picture but in reality it's a different story. Please go somewhere else.
1 out of 5
by Arlene

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
the space was small the beds are small the room are unsanitary there was mild in the bathroom. and people love live in there rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dangerous and unprofessional

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Do NOT stay here, the low rates are not worth the many problems with this place. Their WF-FI was not working and they had no idea when someone would come out and look at it. They are undertaking a renovation of the units, HOWEVER they are not using any professionals, only their family/friends are doing it; bathtub faucet leaked all the time. Water had high concentrations of visible rust, shoddy workmen ship visible all around their upgrades, sloppy sealant around windows and none around a/c. Many concrete stairs were separating from their steel support. Not all carpets replaced, mine showed multiple stretch marks and ripples, Window coverings not working or falling apart. Maid staff excellent! Sloppy construction safety practices, leaving boards in hallways with nails pointing up. Always the smell of marijuana throughout the building from guests. No idea when their pool was going to be available again. It seems to me that the owners/managers are trying to do everything on the cheap. I bet they do not have any building permits, as they removed and closed off older in ceiling A/C units, Units painted but no apparent rewiring Ice machine was not working as was the drink vending machine, apparently for a long time as there were spoider webs around each unit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Bath, room needs renovation

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms need new carpet, very worn and stained. Filter for Heater is FILTHY, looks like it has not been changed in 40 years. Several sockets in room not working, incomplete drywall around new sliding window, curtains need replacing. Furniture is worn, Bathroom was very clean and orderly, looks recently renovated. Door lock was difficult to operate, needs repair,was offered another room, but it had even fewer light. I needed light to use PC at the table. Bed comfortable, but seems old,as do the overall decor.
5 out of 5
by Renee

over all comfy

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
it was definitly a relaxing night with a loved one..we enjoyed pur stay thank you a lot. we will definitly book again in the mear future