Ratings based on 730 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

5 star for service!

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: The service
Cons: Nothing
Location: Carmel beach, Aquarium museum
I enjoyed my stay at this hotel. I was their to celebrate my anniversary with my wife. The management team and the staff did an amazing and went beyond my exception. Thank you Clib. B and Virginia Baker for make this moment extra special. I don't want else I can do to repay my thank you. If the opportunity present itself, I definitely will stay here again. Thank you staff! I highly recommended this hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the wharf and trails

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Location: It's in downtown Monterey and we had no trouble finding it. Short walk to the wharf and the trails; walkable to Cannery Row and Aquarium.
Easy to find. Walkable to the wharf, trails, Cannery Row and Aquarium. Needs free WiFi though. It's a standard offer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing stay

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Cons: Nothing
Location: Centralized
Staff , room, location everything was perfect Will be back
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice but not the best for the price

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: The exercise facility was great. It was nice that it was open 24hours, provided towels and water. It could use a little more lighting.
Location: The location was perfect. Within walking distance of the Warf and near many great restaurants.
The hotel was very nice and the staff were friendly and accommodating. It was quite expensive considering they didn't provide breakfast or free wifi. The toilet in my room constantly made a flushing sound. The door to the toilet didn't close all the way (it was a sliding door). So, in the middle of the night I could hear a loud flushing sound. I am usually a very sound sleeper but it would wake me in the early hours of the morning. During my stay, I asked how to get onto the wifi, they told me to accept the per day charge and they would take it off my bill. Then, when I went to checkout, the wifi charge was on my bill. I had to request the checkout staff member to get the charge taken off. She was very accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Monterey 2 days

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Toilet ran ad loud construction noise starting at 6:00, even on Saturday. The hotel was apologetic and allowed credit for valet for our trouble, $50.00. Overall a nice place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Glyn's Review

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: First class facility and staff.
Cons: Better communication between hotel and Expedia
Location: The location was satisfactory but not on the waterfront. There were plenty of shops and restaurants nearby.
Hotel was a nice facility and staff was more than efficient but my room did not match my confirmation. I had specifically requested a bay view room which was confirmed by Expedia. The room however was only a partial bay view from on corner of the room. There was also heavy construction in progress on another hotel directly in the view including a giant crane moving around constantly. The hotel management said they could not give a discount since the charges were paid to Expedia. They had no full bay view rooms available and said Expedia had not been straight forward with our confirmation which did not agree with the info the hotel had provided to Expedia. The hotel did offer to waive parking fees and gave food/beverage concessions. The room rate should have been a full bay view room. The hotel is a couple blocks from the bay itself, not on the bay frontage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA.

Not check in ready

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We checked in at least an hour early and our room is not ready yet. We suppose to get 5th floor with a good view, but because we don't want to wait long to get our room ready, we took the room they offered, which is the view of the construction site. We also, get the help of a bell boy to bring our bags up to our room, but it take at least 30min before we get our things. However, the staff are accommodating, nice, and polite. Room is clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Quick get away....

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Love the cookies....
Cons: The carpet in our room could have been cleaner...
Location: Location is close to everything!
Wonderful place to stay - this was my 1st time... I love the new dining/bar area! I would stay there again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

Room was soppose to be ready

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Had to wait 45 minutes for my room to be ready but the comped me 2 drinks while we waited. Still great hotel close to the beach. Worth the extra