Ratings based on 679 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: near everything
Cons: staff
Location: beach,food,trolley
ok to stay, near some good restaurant, front entry small, breakfast good but staff ask too many question and like police to watch the people,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Weekend at the Marriott

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The room was very clean with new bedding and comfortable.
Cons: The hotel is old and needs updating. Major renovation is needed.
Location: The location is excellent, can't say enough about this. Very close to shops and a very quaint part of Monterey as well as the ocean.
Nice location and close to the ocean, the hotel is a bit out dated with old style bar and decent pool and hot tub. Nothing to get too excited about other than the staff who were very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Big room, nice view, convenient location. I would recommend it to my friends.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hidden Valley Lake

Nice hotel close to Wharf and many resturants.

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Thought we would have a better ocean view than we did but all and all it was lovely. The free breakfast on the 10th floor was amazing, as was that view!!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tatsis

Construction, Construction, Construction

Posted Jul 7, 2016
The hotel is under construction since it is very outdated. No hotel facilities available. The reception area is temporary. Bee had to wait outside to check in. Breakfast buffet/restaurants below Martiot standards. Expedia did not advertise that there is construction at this hotel or else we would have never booked. We should get a partial refund for this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

2.9 Star Monterey Marriot

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Housekeeper could have done a better job refilling. We had two double beds in the room. That means there's more then one person. We had four people with only one shampoo, one conditioner, one body wash, one soap for each days we were there. We came into the room with four glasses which was fine. The next day two of our glasses was taken away and no new glasses was replaced. We always believe in tipping housekeepers as we understand it is a hard working low paying jobs. But not for this instance. No tips!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Noisy. Family next door in and out all night long. Slam doors etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Construction going on at time of stay, work times were communicated in advance...so no surprises. Staff was very accommodating, however front desk could've had more people working at peak times. Only stayed one night, but pleasant experience - would stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, close to the wharf and the trolley

Posted May 30, 2016
Room was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. The wharf is only 2 blocks away as is the free (on weekends) on-and-off trolley which was convenient for the aquarium and great restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location, comfy room, dated decor

Posted May 20, 2016
Overall a pleasant stay. hotel has a very nice location close to the beach (not as good as portola across the street of course, but given the huge construction going on over there, i'd say marriott is still a better choice) They are renovating the pool area and the construction goes on from 10 to 5 daily, not good news to someone who's used to a afternoon nap Room is clean and comfy. we had a city view room but still got a peek of the coast. decor is a little dated but doesn't matter that much to me especially with a renovated bathroom. i have no problem with it check in was easy. staff are generally nice. only thing is that they offer valet for 25/night at the hotel or you have to park a couple blocks away