Ratings based on 747 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Pleasantly surprised

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: The staff from the front desk to the valet staff.
Cons: The rooms are clean and comfortable, but some thought might be given to updating.
Location: Close enough to Cannery Row yet far enough away to avoid the traffic.
Having stayed at Marriott numerous times for work, we were pleasantly surprised at the pleasantness of the staff. Reflected an overall attitude of pleasing the customer as the priority. Also reflected excellent training by the management of the hotel. Felt welcomed and inviting. Rooms were typical Marriott styling and comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Room seemed smaller then normal - huge ceiling patch not done very well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

First time in Monterey--give suggestions

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Easy check-in. Convenient location for exploring by walking. Valet parked, so unloading was simple. We had one night in the town and asked for dinner suggestions. Desk staff should be more prepared to give several options and to offer 'must do' ideas for the evening and next morning. The dinner location offered was not the best. Long wait and so-so food. We explored after dinner and found a really quaint British Pub (cannot remember the name but it is very close to the hotel).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Mar 6, 2017
My family and I came to Monterey for our daughter's 2nd birthday to go to the aquarium and the entire staff was so happy for her birthday, she got several stuffed animals. The breakfast was really impressive. We would definitely come again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey Ca

Great location. Close to the Warf.

Posted Mar 4, 2017
The room was very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating. Housekeeping found out that we were newly weds and brought us a complimentary bottle of champagne.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Great view of the bay.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very poor air circulation, called maintenance but they were unable to fix; appeared to be a default setting that restricted use. Spacious room, well decorated. Polite staff and excellent service other than the sir.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very convenient to all of the sights

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Location: We really just used it as a home base for our dive trip, so we did not explore the local surroundings
Everyone was very friendly and helpful and we were very comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
stayed for one night with kids and seniors. very convenient location in downtown monterey, 2 min walk to shore. rooms are clean and comfortable, staffs are friendly.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, nice service with issues

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
The location is good and the front desk people were very nice. However we booked a 1 bedroom, which normally means there is a door. There was no door which is challenging with a young child. Also the breakfast buffet was very unorganized and chaotic. It's a nice hotel but maybe not the best choice over the crowded holidays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great Job Marriott

Posted Dec 16, 2016
The hotel was amazing. They had their Christmas decorations up and that made the hotel sparkle. I love the staff, they were very friendly. Keep up the great work. I would recommend this very clean hotel to everyone.