Ratings based on 257 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Be prepared for no AC

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: Location was very convenient
Cons: Squeaky bed, noisy, no AC
Location: Walking distance to the wharf and downtown Monterey with lots of shops and restaurants.
The location is very convenient to lots of attractions, which is the best part about this place. The bed squeaked with any small movement, which made for a rough night's sleep. The room we were in was a bit loud with street noise. I know that it doesn't get too hot in this part of the state, but the room was hot and stuffy and there was only a fan available, no AC. I might've opened a window, but there was only a patio door leading to a shared balcony, and no screen. The whole place was dated, but clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016
Ein Hotel mit Charme. Sehr gut gelegen und ein guter Frühstücksservice. Sehr empfehlenswert.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salaise sur sanne

Hôtel calme et bien situé

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Pros: La situation et le calme.
Cons: Améliorer l'occultation des ouvertures pour ne pas être réveillé trop tôt. Améliorer l'accueil au moment du petit déjeuner.
Location: Deux blocs en dessous, on peut trouver tous les commerces et restaurants. Possibilité d'aller à pied visiter la ville.
Hôtel est cosy, dans un endroit calme et bien situé, à proximité de commerces et des lieux à visiter. La chambre est confortable, bien décorée. Le petit déjeuner est complet. L'ambiance est feutrée mais manque de convivialité. Parking à disposition, très pratique.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mi, usa

Very nice B&B in downtown Napa

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Lovely room, nice breakfast, very friendly hostesses
Cons: N/A
Location: We enjoyed trolley wineries tour much.
We had a very enjoyable stay at Black Bird B&B. Perfect location, right in downtown Napa, short drive to Yountville and all Napa valley wineries. Very nicely decorated rooms, delicious breakfast, wine tasting hour every day. Overall, very nice experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Kleines Hotel in zentraler Lage

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Cons: Bessere Zimmerwartung
Location: Zentral in Montery, Altstadt, Strand und Fishermans Wharf zu Fuß erreichbar
Das Hotel hat geräumige Zimmer mit ansprechender Ausstattung und ist trotz der zentralen Lage relativ ruhig. Die Betten sind angenehm weich. Leider war im fensterlosen Bad die Entlüftung defekt und wurde trotz Ansage bei Ankunft während des dreitägigen Aufenthalts nicht repariert. Da sich auch das Oberlichtfenster aufgrund der defekten Kurbel nicht öffnen ließ, konnte das Zimmer nur über die geöffnete Tür gelüftet werden. Abgesehen von diesem Manko haben wir uns in dem Hotel sehr wohl gefüllt. Fishermans wharf, der Strand und der kostenlose Shuttle zur Cannery Row sind zu Fuß gut erreichbar.
4 out of 5
by donna j.

Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Christa, Hotel Management
Happy you enjoyed your stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Near Fishermans Wharf

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: Individual rooms and location.
Cons: Parking can be difficult but I cannot think of what could be done to improve it.
Location: All the main tourist attractions of Monterey are within walking distance.
We wanted a hotel that was a bit different in the centre of Monterey and what is what we got. Lots of space in the room which was nicely decorated. Breakfast is served in a room seating about 14 people and can be busy. Parking is tight but we always found a space. Internet speed better than most hotels.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2016 by Merritt House, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for such a great review of Merritt House Inn! Parking is tricky when it is a full house, that is true. The only other option is to use a parking garage located just down the street or leave your car on property as much as possible and walk to your destinations, which are very close by - Cannery Row, The Wharf, beautiful beaches, good restaurants, etc. We appreciate your positive feedback and hope to have you here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown

Posted Jul 13, 2016
Pros: It was just okay.
The room was rather dark and felt like we were in a cave.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
素敵な中庭があって、ホテル自体が素晴らしかった。室内の調度もシックな雰囲気でコーディネートされていて、広々としていました。椅子も3脚はあったと思います。とても落ち着ける雰囲気のホテルでした。歩いてフィッシャーマンズワーフ行けて、無料のトロリーの停留所もすぐ近くにあるし、周りの街の雰囲気も素敵で、食べる所も近くにたくさんあります。すぐ隣はスーパーという何かと便利な場所にホテルがあるので、不自由な思いは全然しません。そして、何と言っても朝食が良かったです。フロントに隣接する部屋でセルフサービスで取って食べるんですが、まあその豊富なことと言ったら、パンにしてもクロワッサンからベーグルまで何種類もあって、果物も数種類、ヨーグルトもゆで卵もあって、今まで泊まったホテルの無料朝食の中では一番良かったです。全部は食べ切れないってことだけが悔しかったけど、モントレーに行ったら、何としてもまた泊まりたいホテルです。 アメリカでは禁煙ホテルばかりでお困りのスモーカーに、中庭の端に灰皿があって、素敵な中庭を見ながら喫煙出来ました。
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Christa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your awesome feedback and we hope to see you again when you come back to Monterey!
5 out of 5
by judy from lake mathers ca

excellent inn

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
we had a excellent time,service was great and roon were large and done up with antiques.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by Christa, Hotel Management
Your wonderful feedback is very much appreciated!