Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Fair Oaks, Ca.

Stop and smell the ice plant

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: It's peaceful, clean and we love the Pacific Grove location. It also has free parking, about half under cover away from the trees.
Cons: The only issues we had were a fluorescent light bulb that only fully came on about half the time over the microwave/refrigerator area.
Location: We really like the location in peaceful Pacific Grove...5 min. walk to the ocean, 5 to 17 Mile Drive, 10 - 15 to Cannery Row or Fisherman's Wharf.
We had a pleasant 3 night stay. Other than meeting a group of family and friends for lunch on the second full day, it was mostly just checking out a couple of our favorite 'look at the ocean/bay' locations and having meals at Fisherman's Wharf. We didn't have time this trip to take the 17 Mile Drive over to Carmel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vietnam

Very clean comfortable and happy hotel

Posted May 29, 2017
Lovely clean comfortable and relaxing hotel. Large and airy rooms. Could do with some minor maintenance. (Tired window nets). Everything was very clean. Excellent, cheerful, charming, and entertaining staff on reception.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Dianne, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing the good news of your encounter. We hope you come again soon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anaheim

Low quality hotel in Pacific Grove

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Clean room . Bathroom window didn't close so cold air always in bathroom .
5 out of 5
by Judel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Basic room, very clean, friendly staff. Kids enjoyed the jacuzzi and pool -- but pool was deep so they need to be good swimmers. Hotel needs a remodel for a fresh look and more comfortable beds. However, everything was in perfect working condition in the room and perfectly neat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty, dingy, not well cared for.

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Brought my own pillow and blanket--which I never do! Hairs in the bathroom, light coat of dust everywhere, embedded grime. I asked to move to a cleaner room, and they did move me . . . the second room smelled like cat urine. Expedia found this hotel as an "unpublished 40% discount" and I would never make that choice again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 13, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, United States of America

Stay here if the only other option is your car

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Dilapidated hotel - absolutely everything is old, musty, stained, falling apart. Key cards to get in your room often don't work so you have to go to the front desk. While your at the front desk, pick up extra towels because the small barely threaded towel in room isn't enough to dry off. Oh, then ask how the weird plug in portable heater works because it gets cold in Monterey and the old single pane windows were so warped they don't actually close so its drafty. Not sure how the isn't a fire hazard. Good location so sleep there if it is your only option.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I cannot recommend.

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Hotels
The rooms sadly are in need of attention. The fitted sheets did not fit the bed & kept coming off. Our bathroom ceiling fan was hanging by two sides & looked like it was going to fall. It was also old & excessively noisy. The rear door from the back parking lot into the ground lobby/elevator area was locked by 9pm & hotel staff unavailable to come & unlock it. Was told it was broken so the room keys would not work. Very inconvenient having to trapse around the building in the dark & rain with luggage & bags.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated/not what was promised

Posted Oct 14, 2016 on Hotels
The location was wonderful, however for $244 a night and from the look of surrounding accommodations, I could not believe the condition of the hotel and damages in the room. It was also under construction, breakfast was served in an actual hotel room, and the TV channels offered were not available. For the price I paid, I was shocked. Never again.