Ratings based on 216 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
very long and chaotic check-in process; broken door handle and overhead light, torn curtains
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakhurst, CA

over booked

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The lady working the front desk was kind, her manager would not show her face. Booking is poorly managed
Cons: Booking and sending people to "Sister Motel"
Location: Alway lots to do in the Monterey Bay area
Made it to hotel to check on reservations, The hotel didn't have a room available. When I showed them the paperwork they dug a little deeper and decided my reservations were sent to their "sister" hotel. So we were sent from a 4 star hotel to a 2 star hotel "Magic Carpet" in a ghetto with homeless people hanging around. When we got to Magic Carpet and they didn't have are name on their list either Thank God !!!! If you want a good place to stay in Monerey area try the Holiday Inn. It was great. I'm not sure I will ever use Expedia again. And I know I will never recommend Monarch Resort again. If they are going to send customers to a different hotel it should at least be a decent hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Merced Ca

Good location-nice walk to downtown PacificGrove

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Location-and free parking.
Cons: Needs updating.
Location: Good location--golfing nearby--fairly close to beach--walk or drive.
We stayed at this hotel probably 10 years ago and it hasn't changed much-drapes need replacing; windows are single pane and you can see through some corners-need replacing; bathroom had some water damage to baseboards. Slept comfortably though; bed was firm but comfy. Rooms need an overhaul. Staff was very friendly. Had a reasonable continental breakfast. Free parking is always a plus. Walked to downtown Pacific Grove-long walk but very invigorating.
2 out of 5
by Michele from Fresno, CA

Ants!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
After spending a comfortable night I noticed something on the bed while getting dressed in the morning. The something turned out to be ants which were crawling on the bed. We did not bring any. Food into the room to attract them so I am guessing it was an existing problem. After a few minutes we noticed them crawling on the dresser, as well. In addition to the ants, I discovered that the lock on the balcony door did not work. The door had been unsecured the whole night. The hotel offers a continental breakfast which is adequate but the room is so small that we couldn't stay there to eat and it was very difficult to get to the food. It is unfortunate because the location is great but I would not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa barbara

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Orbitz
I enjoyed my stay at monarch resort. The only thing that I would like the resort to improve on is the breakfast room. It's really small. Only three small tables. My family and I were looking forward to having a complimentary breakfast but when we got there, there was no room for us. We either had to wait for a table or go eat to a restaurant. We ended up eating at a restaurant.
2 out of 5
by Carolyn from Boise

Great location, but the property needs a makeover

Posted Feb 17, 2016 on Hotels
The property is in a great location and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately, it is kind of a sad place that feels a bit run-down. The room was musty and the exterior is half painted. The outdoor seating was dirty. The breakfast that was included was very minimal and served in a dark room with not enough seating. The room was clean, so I'd stay there again if I absolutely had to. But I would look for a nicer place next time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Location, continental breakfast.
No fireplace room OK, but wished we had one. Initially put in a room adjacent to outside structural painting; room changed, sure enough painters back early the next morning (hotel less than 50% occupied). Central heating in room nonfunctional, bed stand light nonfunctional, toilet seat Very Loose. Continental breakfast quite good, location excellent for monarch butterfly and beach afficiendos.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose,Ca.

BUMMED OUT FROM THE START

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: From past experience it was great. NOT THIS TIME.
Cons: They need to replace shower heads. The shower head was so high we couldn't adjust it. The towels smelled old, .
Location: There were great restaurants and shopping. The beach was very nice.
We checked in ok, but when we got to the room there wasn't a fireplace. That's one of the reasons I liked this place the for fireplace. I was our 42nd wedding anniversary so I wanted to make it special. When I asked the desk clerk why we didn't get the fireplace he said that Expedia doesn't approve it. I didn't understand it. He said for an additional $20.00. I wasn't counting on any additional cost. Also, I didn't get very much sleep due to the people upstairs were stomping while pacing back and forth for hours. From 11pm to a1:45am, then again at 4am. I called the front desk both times and no answer so I couldn't report it. IT WAS A REAL BAD EXPERIENCE!
5 out of 5
by Sandra D from Stockton

Great place to stay for a getaway.

Posted Nov 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great getaway place. Clean room with fridge and microwave. Safe, clean neighborhood-perfect for a run or walk. Walking distance to beach and lighthouse.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older property and super basic.

Posted Nov 9, 2015
The hotel is very old. There was a space heater to warm the room. The breakfast room was really small so that only three parties could eat in the room. Most people have to take their food back to the room.