Ratings based on 768 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Australia

Got it Right

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Great room. Efficient check in. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Spacious room. Walking distance to restaurants etc. Easy parking. Fresh warm home cooked muffins for breaky. Clean spacious bathroom. High quality shampoo / conditioner / moisturiser. All the things that count
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto

Great hotel but avoid if hot

Posted Sep 28, 2016
The hotel is always great. This weekend was a little rough but only because I learned the hard way that the hotel has no AC. This is normally not an issue due to the cool weather but this week it was unusually hot and there was a big fire in Santa Cruz so we left the door open for some air but had to deal with a smokey smell. Not the best experience for my girlfriends birthday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, NY

Nice hotel on beach. Very comfortable and clean.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Staff very friendly, made suggestions and dinner reservations for us. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Beautiful view and rooms

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We had the ocean/harbor view it was gorgeous! You can hear the sea lions all day and night as well as see them. Our room was great as well! Very comfy bed and super nice bathroom! We did not take our car once since we parked it in their garage parking. Everywhere is within walking distance. We will be staying here again and again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Partial Ocean front room.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Nice room and complimentary breakfast brought to the room was a nice touch. Much better than to having to go to the dining room.
Very large and nice room with partial view of ocean and small park adjacent to the hotel. Loved the balcony feature. Room and large bathroom was very clean and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable with good bedding and pillows. Staff was very hospitable and allowed us a late check out of 1pm on a mid-week stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Meyersdale PA

Heaven on earth!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: I loved the royal treatment we received from the breakfast in the room to the fold down service at night. Also enjoyed the rooftop hot-tub. Perfect!
Cons: Include parking in the price of room.
Location: The location was perfect as it is centrally located to Fisherman's wharf and downtown, plus an oceanview.
I have never stayed in a more beautiful place. Monterey Bay Inn was like experiencing royalty. I could not have asked for better service or a better experience. Very pleased and would definitely recommend it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We stayed one night and the room was very nice with a great view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Beach, CA

Excellent value for ideal location

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Right in Cannery Row. Adjacent to beautiful waterfront park. Balconies overhang Monterey Bay. Continental Breakfast in your room was amazing with fresh fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. Friendly staff!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington, DC

Excellent rooms; good location

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Don't let the modest exterior appearance or common areas fool you. The room quality and service are comparable to any luxury hotel. And I had just come from the Mark Hopkins in SF and the Claremont in Berkeley. I was nervous when I saw the lobby (tiny but ok) but once you are inside the room, the high quality kicked in. There is turn-down service and exceptionally attentive staff. Binoculars in room allow you to spot the barking sea lions in the bay. Blooming geranium plant on the balcony is a nice touch. The hotel is located at one end of Cannery Row, making it a lovely, easy walk (15-20mins) to the other end where the aquarium is located.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Napa, CA

Lively hotel overlooking Monterey Bay

Posted Jul 3, 2016
The Monterey Bay Inn was so lovely! Right on the water, we so enjoyed just sitting on the balcony and watching the world, and being lulled yo sleep with the sound of the waves. Binoculars in our room made widlife spotting enjoyable. The seats and table on the balcony, and the potted geranium, we're good quality and homey. I think that's what so impressed me with this inn -- they seemed to try to touch every detail of the place and make it better. There was a complimentary continental breakfast included with our room -- delivered to the room, rather than in some horrid dining trough of a room. And it was good! Far exceeded expectations. The staff were all very pleasant. Overall, I can't say enough nice things! Just a wonderful stay, and really added to our trip! Oh, and so close to EVERYTHING! Juse great!