Ratings based on 773 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Oct 21, 2016
Pros: Great location, short walk to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Beautiful views from the roof terrace (which had a spa), with bonus added seal noises. The outside courtyard seating area with a fire was lovely.
Cons: View of a parking lot (probably should have asked and paid extra for a proper view, but I'd already had so many problems trying to change my Expedia reservations with other hotels, I just couldn't be bothered, and we were only staying two nights) with noisy garbage pick-up in the morning (it seemed to take forever). I think room 317 was a disabled access room, and the shower was a convulted mess of nobs, and a hit and miss of hot and cold. Also, we're pretty sure the king bed had bed bugs. My mother experienced the same biting/scratching feeling before in an old bed & breakfast in England, and was told it was bed bugs. My sister who shared the bed, experienced the same biting sensations.
Location: Wish I'd picked the Spindrift Inn, that looked cool.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hot Springs, AR

Vacation with my girlfriend

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: Walk the beach. Whale watching. Incredible food & overall incredible experience
Incredible. Large room with amazing ocean views. Extremely clean & well appointed
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Hotel overlooking the harbour

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The staff were friendly, and courteous and the hotel was in the best position, close to sights, shops and restaurants, while the room was so spacious.
Cons: The bar frig in our room did not keep items cold, perhaps the thermostat needed to be checked
Location: The hotel was in a perfect position, close to nearby eateries, tourist sites and a fabulous walkway around the harbour area, including beautiful views
Our room was so spacious, with a view that overlooked the park and the harbour. We fell asleep each night to the sound of the waves and woke each morning to a beautiful sunrise. A delicious breakfast was delivered to our room at the designated time after which we spent our day exploring Monterey and beyond. It was truly a perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gold Coast Australia

Got it Right

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Great room. Efficient check in. Friendly staff. Comfortable bed. Spacious room. Walking distance to restaurants etc. Easy parking. Fresh warm home cooked muffins for breaky. Clean spacious bathroom. High quality shampoo / conditioner / moisturiser. All the things that count
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Modesto

Great hotel but avoid if hot

Posted Sep 28, 2016
The hotel is always great. This weekend was a little rough but only because I learned the hard way that the hotel has no AC. This is normally not an issue due to the cool weather but this week it was unusually hot and there was a big fire in Santa Cruz so we left the door open for some air but had to deal with a smokey smell. Not the best experience for my girlfriends birthday.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, NY

Nice hotel on beach. Very comfortable and clean.

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Staff very friendly, made suggestions and dinner reservations for us. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Beautiful view and rooms

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We had the ocean/harbor view it was gorgeous! You can hear the sea lions all day and night as well as see them. Our room was great as well! Very comfy bed and super nice bathroom! We did not take our car once since we parked it in their garage parking. Everywhere is within walking distance. We will be staying here again and again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Partial Ocean front room.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Nice room and complimentary breakfast brought to the room was a nice touch. Much better than to having to go to the dining room.
Very large and nice room with partial view of ocean and small park adjacent to the hotel. Loved the balcony feature. Room and large bathroom was very clean and comfortable. Bed was very comfortable with good bedding and pillows. Staff was very hospitable and allowed us a late check out of 1pm on a mid-week stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Meyersdale PA

Heaven on earth!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: I loved the royal treatment we received from the breakfast in the room to the fold down service at night. Also enjoyed the rooftop hot-tub. Perfect!
Cons: Include parking in the price of room.
Location: The location was perfect as it is centrally located to Fisherman's wharf and downtown, plus an oceanview.
I have never stayed in a more beautiful place. Monterey Bay Inn was like experiencing royalty. I could not have asked for better service or a better experience. Very pleased and would definitely recommend it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016
We stayed one night and the room was very nice with a great view.