Ratings based on 946 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cleveland, OH

Great Hotel with Great Views

Posted Sep 24, 2017
This is a very nice hotel right on the water. The people were friendly and helpful and the room was updated and clean. I highly recommend this hotel. The only reason I gave them a 4 for the staff is that when we checked in the desk attendant did not tell us about the spectacular hot tubs. The hot tub on the top floor looks over the bay - it is breathtaking. Wish we could have enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from chula vista

Nice view

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Awesome view to bay Clean up to date room Close to everything
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sacramento,ca

Best hotel ever

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Beautiful view beautiful hotel , close to the beach, wonderful service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: comfortable
Cons: fix temp on top floor spa
Great hotel. Spa temp on the 4th floor was only warm. Beautiful location and view from room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Beautiful waterfront

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Great location on waterfront, nice room, walking distance to everything, daily parking fee added cost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Nice hotel w great views of the bay

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: View of the bay, proximity to town, beds, staff was nice.
Cons: Healthier choices for breakfast. Redo the bathrooms on the second floor, they are like a gymnasium bathroom.
Location: Near the shops in town, a short drive to nearby Carmel, close to a lot of restaurants and the piers.
Monterey Inn is a decent hotel, with clean rooms and comfy beds. The hotel itself is not luxurious, nor does it have a lot of amenities like a restaurant, gym or newer bathrooms but the view of the bay from the balcony is fantastic. The rooms come w/ a breakfast that with a little more effort could be so much more appealing. They offer yogurts, fruit and croissants every day. If you are quasi healthy, eating croissants daily is not part of your regimen. Offering some toast would be a welcomed addition. If you want a clean, reasonable hotel this would be a good choice. If you desire something a bit more upscale, keep looking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TN

Great Ocean Front View!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Great view of ocean and fullmoon! It was a warm day without air conditioning, but the floor fan and cool breeze from the ocean eventually cooled the room for a comfortable night. Very clean and lovely room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 2, 2017
The staff is always friendly. You can park your car before you check in and walk around town which is always nice. The rooms are always clean and the views are amazing. Can't wait to stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Inns of Monterey Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your room and had such a great stay. We look forward to having you back with us again. Sincerely, Management of Inns of Monterey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

Great location with terrific ocean view

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Best part of our recent 7 day tour of Northern California.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Aug 17, 2017
We stayed at this hotel for my girlfriend's birthday I was quite disappointed in the rooms the rooms were very dated and the views weren't all that great they said I asked for a Harborview which I know I didn't and we can barely see the Harbor Laying in our bed. The Monterey Bay Inn does not have much to offer for the price they want . Do research . All in All 3 stars,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 7, 2017 by Management of the Inns of Monterey, Hotel Management
We are very appreciative of your review and are truly disappointed that we failed to meet your expectations. Our mission has always been to provide a restful environment dedicated to personal and attentive service, and we are sincerely sorry that your stay was less than entirely comforting. We certainly work very hard to ensure the accuracy of our website room descriptors along with our hotel amenities and are very sorry that you felt misled. We will certainly share your feedback with our management team and hope that we might have the opportunity to welcome you back should your travels bring you to Monterey! Sincerely, Management of the Inns of Monterey