Ratings based on 738 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Desert

Great location, close to pier and shops.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Location: Recommend the Beach House restaurant at Lovers Beach for a nice dinner over looking the bay.
Nice place to stay and enjoy the area. 17 Mile drive is beautiful and take a picnic to spend some time on a beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from So. Cal

Convenient Hotel Near Fishermans Wharf

Posted Aug 23, 2017
My wife and I spent a couple of days s in Monterey for a short get away. The hotel is older but comfortable. The restaurant on the property is fantastic- superior food and service. The only drawback is the WiFi service. You get what you pay for and it's free. All in all a safe, comfortable hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Cons: Physical plant dated but clean and functional
Low key, well located, very convenient to restaurants, Monterey Bay Aquarium and Carmel. Staff very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from montreal

disappointed to start

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: the place was close to beach ,wharf and other activities, and it was not to noisy
Cons: availability of rooms for Expedia
Location: already answered
when we got our room it was terrible, l went to the front desk and told them I wanted to cancel my second night ,which was impossible ,they offered me an other room that was not offered on Expedia and that room was great ,so after all we really enjoyed our stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from long beach

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Sink leaked. Ice box fridge hard to reach, ice box needed defrost.bed was tiny for 2 adults and very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Quaint and safe. Staff at reception was very nice and heblpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient walking distance to all of the Bay.

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Situation, staff, cleanliness and amenities.
Cons: Nothing.
This was just a one night stop over but wished we could have stayed longer. Motel type hotel, but room was clean and well decorated with everything you would want for your stay. Staff couldn't have been more helpful. Discount breakfast at diner next door. Good choice of food, would recommenot this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Great Stay Close to Attractions

Posted Jun 26, 2017
I enjoyed my stay at the Monterey Bay Lodge. The hotel is quaint but its walking distance to fisherman's wharf, so that's a huge plus. The staff was great and super polite. I had accidentally locked myself out of my room. I expected some chastising but staff just made me a new key and smiled. The only thing keeping this from a five star review is the water pressure. It was almost impossible to shower because of the poor water pressure. All in all, we had a great time and encourage people to give it a try.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Day away

Posted Jun 25, 2017
I couldn't get the television on, the wifi password expired in the middle of the night. I couldn't reconnect. The room was clean and it was pretty quiet.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PH

Practical. Close to Cannery Row

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Cannery Row
Cons: I was advised by hotel staff to book directly with them because Expedia does not show other room options. Only queen bed option available in Expedia
Hotel is decent but appears old and due for refurbishing. Bring slippers because the carpets have had better days.