Ratings based on 1,788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect downtown gem

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Location was ideal, right in downtown Monterey within walking distance to Trader Joe's, petes coffee, restaurants etc. Also, I highly recommend upgrading to an ocean view room. It's definitely worth it!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Good For the Rates

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Nice for budget motel. Seemed recently renovated. Comfortable bed, nice staff, no frills place to sleep.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Comfort with a view

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: Large rooms and very clean, friendly staff, well taken care of.
Cons: Nothing, I could think of.
Location: Easy walk to the wharf and restaurants and of course Peet's coffee.
Nice motel close to everything and the wharf is in walking distance.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great weekend

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Rooms are very spacious and clean. Breakfast was simple but filling. Walking distance to gas startion and Dennys. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Monterey Downtown

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Pros: Walkability and location!
Cons: Very clean but a bit of a chlorine smell - it passed!
Hotel located in walking distance to local pubs, restaurants and stores. You can easily walk to the wharf too! We had never experienced this side of Monterey and truly enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Simple, clean hotel.

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: Simple, clean, relatively close to the downtown area.
Cons: An unloading area for the main building would be helpful. The parking is limited which meant unloading and bringing luggage from the 2nd parking lot.
Location: Downtown Monterey, Shopping, etc.
Simple, clean hotel. Keys didn't work the second day but the hotel staff was apologetic and quickly fixed the issue.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

No hot water for 15 hours?

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Location: The location is good, just off the Highway 1, but there is a small airport nearby so it's noisy. Monterey Aquarium is excellent, 15 minutes away.
On arrival we were told our room would have no hot water until 10:30am the next morning. I left, stunned that they didn't call me so that I could make arrangements somewhere else. Five minutes later, while I was at my car outside the lobby the desk person came out and told us that now they had put us in a different room which did have hot water. What the heck? So they were going to give us a broken room while they had other working rooms available - until they thought they would lose our booking? This motel is run down, badly needs new carpeting and refurbishment. There is no air conditioning, not really a problem in Monterey, but there is no fan in the room either - so no way to circulate the air in the stuffy room. For $200 a night this is a poor value - you are paying a high premium for staying in Monterey. If they are receiving rates like this they should put some money back into the facilities. The breakfast area is okay, although not much is on offer even by "free breakfast" standards. The attendant in the breakfast area was very hardworking, constantly in motion keeping things clean and restocked. He did a great job. Overall, we were disappointed in this motel. If I were to visit this area again I would stay in Salinas to get a better value for my money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location - a little rough

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Great location, the hotel has seen better days and needs some upgrades, there is a reason they are cheaper
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Confort à deux pas du Pacifique

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Chambre rénovée aux allures modernes. Céramique aux murs, tapis récent, très grand lit moelleux. Petit déjeuner satisfaisant. À la prochaine!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay for the money.

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Cons: Having to cross the street was less desirable but fine.
Location: It was not far from the Monterey Bay Aquarium and the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary in Pacific Grove.
We appreciated the microwave and frig. in the room for eating something small. The room was clean and comfortable.