Ratings based on 556 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bellingham, WA

Comfortable Stay

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Manager
Cons: Physical plant was a bit old.
Location: Grandma's Restaurant good breakfast.
The hotel manager was very responsive and helpful. It was an older builder but the bed was great. Grandma's Restaurant a block away was very good for breakfast. Had to be quick at rush hour to get out of the parking lot but other times it was fine.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bay area

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The Room was definitely wipe down with a strong cleaner when we checked in we had to leave the windows open while we went to dinner. Tells were threadbare, bed pillows were flat sheets smelled of bleach. The carpet was lumpy! The fireplace works and made everything else bearable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

absolute disaster

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: Monterey has lots to enjoy, especially the aquarium and walking by the ocean.
This hotel provided miserably run-down, pitifully disgusting furnishings, and misrepresented advertising. The rooms do NOT have air conditioning as advertised, nor hair dryers. It was horribly noisy day and night. Doors had to be slammed and forced, since they did not fit properly in the door frames. I was "guaranteed" by the front desk employee it would be "quiet". What a joke. The wifi was so weak it was useless. Needless to say, it was a miserable experience, and we were glad to drive away the next morning. Furnishings were putrid, dirty, and decrepit. There were no fitted sheets on the beds, so the mattresses were exposed. Toiletries were ridiculously sparse. The heater was on low all night, during Summer, even though the thermostat registered it as being off. There was no way to stop it from emitting warm air. The front office "staff" denied that this hotel advertised air conditioning, even though I see it there on the website clear as day! There was also NO continental breakfast, even though it's advertised. How could they get away with charging for such a pig stye while we suffered being there, and they misrepresented themselves? Expedia, please look into this place. They should NOT be allowed to have rooms on your website.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose Ca

backup choice

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: location is pretty convenient.
Cons: you can hear people talk loud and clear
Location: since I am a golfer, the location is easy to get to all golf courses such Spyglass, Spanishbay, Del Monte, Black horse, Bayonet etc
just a place to stay. I don't think it is worth the money you paid
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

deceived

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Pros: terrible
Expedia says breakfast included but it was not. the room was very dirty
3 out of 5
by Ronald

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
The room wasn't so bad it was the shower head that needed replacing as well as the TV. Other than that it appeared that there were some moderate renovations that have been done recently.
4 out of 5
by Robert V

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad hotel

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: It's terrible.
Cons: everything
I was awakened by the bed bugs andI found few bed bugs,it's terrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

There Was a Layer of Dust on the Curtains.

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: We checked in late, and they were very accommodating.
Cons: Could be way cleaner. In need of updating their decor: floor, curtains, bed, bathroom, closet.
Location: Driving distance from Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf. Close proximity to gas stations/ convenience stores, places to eat.
It's been a while since I've seen a standard definition TV, but there was one in the room. The carpet floor felt like it had geological layers from each decade that its been in existence. The key card to the room was a plastic punch card. This inn definitely needs an update. To be honest, my trip was a really bad experience, unrelated to the inn that I stayed at. However, staying in a room that was lacking in comfort did not help help me feel better about my trip. I love going to Monterey. I've stayed at other hotels before, and I'm not too picky about accommodations. I've learned to work with what I have. But this inn made my trip memorable, in ways that weren't necessarily favorable.
3 out of 5
by Shawna

never again!

Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
I was frustrated when we had to be the mediators between the hotel and hotels.com to ensure our stay for our vacation. The bed was super uncomfortable, the pillows were super flat, the tv didn't have any sound, the phone didn't work, the room didn't have a/c, just a table top fan, the soap in the bathroom crumbled after 3 uses, and honestly the only good thing about the room was the fireplace that I absolutely fell in love with.