Ratings based on 460 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fresno

Close to beach but very unfriendly staff.

Posted Apr 20, 2018
Not what the website featured. The staff unfriendly. The location was great.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Needs serious cleaning

Posted Mar 31, 2018
Superficially the room was clean. The sheets and bathroom were clean. However, the walls, baseboards were so grungy it gave an overall feeling of uncleanliness to the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2018 on Hotels
Amazing! Cozy place! Not busy or noisy
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 29, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Awesome for the price. Everything works, them beds they comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Rosario

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phuket, Thailand

Quiet little Jewel 5 minutes walk to the beach.

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Located across from Monterey rec trail. Short walk to beach, Fishermans Wharf or famous fish house restaurant. Can walk or bike to Pacific Grove, Asilomar or Pebble Beach. 10 minute drive to Carmel or 30 minutes to majical Big Sur, California.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a beachside hotel - beach quite inaccessible

Posted Nov 14, 2017
poorly lit; rundown; sketchy security - didn't feel safe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but needs a lot of work

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location vis-à-vis freeway, downtown, Denny's, etc, plus slightly lower cost than other hotels.
Cons: Painting the walls, resurface table, change bedding and mattresses (or cover with plastic), clean bed spreads, etc.
We paid too much for a Saturday night in November. Owner said price was higher due to Marathon. That doesn't justify the cost. He and a woman cleaning facilities told me that guests have been hard on the rooms, smoking where they shouldn't, spilling things and leaving the mess, etc. So I can understand how they'd be overwhelmed. My opinion is that they should close down for a week, then do some intensive cleaning, painting, and renovating, plus replace the mattresses, bed sheets, pads, etc. I don't want to disrespect anyone, but I've stayed many times in Monterey, and never felt uncomfortable in a room until this weekend. On top of that, the traffic was fairly loud. There was no access to morning coffee or tea, let alone anything else. I believe we should get a partial refund, but since Expedia managed the booking, the hotel office had nothing to do with the transaction.