Ratings based on 454 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Awesome for the price. Everything works, them beds they comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phuket, Thailand

Quiet little Jewel 5 minutes walk to the beach.

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Located across from Monterey rec trail. Short walk to beach, Fishermans Wharf or famous fish house restaurant. Can walk or bike to Pacific Grove, Asilomar or Pebble Beach. 10 minute drive to Carmel or 30 minutes to majical Big Sur, California.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a beachside hotel - beach quite inaccessible

Posted Nov 14, 2017
poorly lit; rundown; sketchy security - didn't feel safe
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location, but needs a lot of work

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Location vis-à-vis freeway, downtown, Denny's, etc, plus slightly lower cost than other hotels.
Cons: Painting the walls, resurface table, change bedding and mattresses (or cover with plastic), clean bed spreads, etc.
We paid too much for a Saturday night in November. Owner said price was higher due to Marathon. That doesn't justify the cost. He and a woman cleaning facilities told me that guests have been hard on the rooms, smoking where they shouldn't, spilling things and leaving the mess, etc. So I can understand how they'd be overwhelmed. My opinion is that they should close down for a week, then do some intensive cleaning, painting, and renovating, plus replace the mattresses, bed sheets, pads, etc. I don't want to disrespect anyone, but I've stayed many times in Monterey, and never felt uncomfortable in a room until this weekend. On top of that, the traffic was fairly loud. There was no access to morning coffee or tea, let alone anything else. I believe we should get a partial refund, but since Expedia managed the booking, the hotel office had nothing to do with the transaction.
3 out of 5
by LORENA ARREOLA

Posted Nov 6, 2017 on Hotels
Pictures online looked better than in person
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BED BUGSSSSSSSS!!!

Posted Oct 30, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I decided to quickly book a cheap hotel for a wedding nearby and instantly regret not paying more for a better hotel. The place we stayed out was filthy, the owner gave us probably the worst condition room. The bedsheets were worn down, we checked out the bed sheets and instantly found bed bugs all over the pillows. It was the grossest hotel experience I have ever experienced in my life. We asked for another room because it was already 1AM when we discovered all the bed bugs so we were too lazy to book at another hotel. I can tell you that the whole Inn needs to be exterminated because I can only imagine that there is a bigger bed bug problem. The next morning they probably just did a general cleaning of the hotel rooms without addressing the bed bugs. Oh well! Take it from me, do not book from here!
3 out of 5
by Kimberly

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 17, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Justin

Posted Oct 2, 2017 on Hotels
Will not stay there again eat early the place was dirty there was hair on the bed and all the towels mold in the shower
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

You Get What You Pay For

Posted Sep 24, 2017 on Hotels
Road noise is abundant since it's next to a busy road. Walls are thin, you can hear the neighbor's conversation. Not enough parking spots after 10pm. Somewhat clean rooms. Literally a place to rest for a night or two.