Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very pet friendly!

Posted May 2, 2017
One of the few places with no weight limits for pets. Very welcoming of pet owners, & even got some dog treats.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for reviewing the Monterey Peninsula Inn. We strive to make our four-legged guests feel just as welcome as their human companions!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Staff was helpful, dog friendly great room

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Very great location. You will love staying here would give higher rating if possible. Staff was so helpful and great to deal with.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 2, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn and mentioning our hardworking staff! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A-ok

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Location: jeninni ktichen in pacific grove is excellent
Overall very good for the price. Rooms were comfy and fresh. We had a king room and the bed was just fine. My only complaint is that the wall furnace (it got a little cold) makes ungodly noises. I told the staff so maybe it is fixed now, but still only a minor complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for your patronage and taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn! We apologize for the noisy wall heater and hope that we may welcome you back in the future for a more peaceful stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SF Bay Area

Very Nice Little Motel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Well cared for facilities and nice rooms for the price.
Location: Everything in the Monterey Bay area.
I was expecting this place to be a bit less polished. In fact, it is nicely appointed, very clean, generally quiet and quite comfortable. The facility is well cared for and the place had a nice feel to it. Our only complaint was the upstairs guests were noisy the first night and the floor is quite thin, so my wife and daughter were kept up late (I sleep with ear plugs, so was blissfully oblivious). They were not partying or being intentionally loud, but they were banging things around and generally not trying to be quiet. Fortunately, those guests left and the second night was very quiet. The way to avoid this issue is to specifically request a ground level room with no second story. The means you cannot have a kitchen, but it may be worth the sacrafice if you are a light sleeper and can't deal with the outside chance of thuds, thumbs and bangs above you. With that said, I want to say again that this hotel was an excellent value and that it would be foolish to let the noise incident keep you from considering it. The staff were professional and friendly. And the location was great. You can actually walk to the beach (assuming you're in relatevely good shape as it's down a hill and several blocks away). Pacific Grove was also an unexpected delight: good resturants, not crowded and close to everything in the Monterey Bay area. Given the price of hotels in the area, this is a real value.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn! We do apologize for the noisy neighbors, but are happy that did not take away too much from your overall experience! We hope to welcome you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's old but cute

Posted Apr 19, 2017
We had a very late check in but night manager was nice and courteous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn and mentioning our hardworking Night Manager! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice quiet hotel, close to the coast.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
We used this hotel as a stopover to break up the journey from LA to San Francisco. The area is lovely and the hotel was very comfortable and clean- our room looked like it was recently updated. The staff were very friendly. Would definitely recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn and mentioning our hardworking staff! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Cute updated motor lodge style accommodations

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Clean, modernized rooms with kitchen and fireplace
Location: Shop, explore beaches and lighthouse. Monterey Aquarium, cannery row and downtown Pacific Grove.
Monterey Peninsula Inn is a sweet little drive-up motel that is close to downtown Pacific Grove and has updated rooms. Our room was upstairs and had a mini-kitchen and fireplace. The room was clean and had all items needed for cooking meals in the room. The beds were comfortable and had plenty of pillows and blankets. A continental-style breakfast was included. There is a pool on-site, but was closed for repairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn! We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet hotel near downtown.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
I enjoyed my stay here. Staff is friendly rooms are updated
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn and mentioning our hardworking staff! We hope to welcome you back soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Mateo

Simple facilities in great location

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Location, rice
Cons: Bathroom facilities/shelving and lighting.
Location: This area is fantastic - with beaches, the ocean, golf courses, 17-mile drive and great small restaurants,
Hotel room was adequate and for the price + location very good value. The bathroom was a reasonable size but lacked space for placing personal items. Because I was on my own this was just about tolerable but if my wife had been with me we would have had to keep putting things away. There was space under the sink but I didn't want to put my stuff there. Fan in bathroom was very noisy and the closet lacked sufficient hangers. Continental breakfast was very basic. Having said all that I had a quiet comfortable no hassle stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn. We appreciate you feedback and will look into implementing changes where we can to improve our guests' experience. We hope you enjoyed your time on the Peninsula!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cal cal

The location is decent. Close drive to beach/shops

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The room was a little small. It was clean with king size bed however the bed was seriously the most uncomfortable bed I've even slept on. The biggest downfall was the construction that started before 8am. Hammering the fence outside our room/drilling for hours! Definitely should have been warned. When the staff asked about our stay I mentioned that and they had nothing to say. Not even a simple sorry or we understand. Won't be returning to this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 10, 2017 by Sabrina, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Monterey Peninsula Inn. In efforts to keep our property up to date, we do renovations during the off season. That being said, we understand lodging next to construction is not an ideal way to spend a vacation. We sincerely apologize that your stay was less than satisfactory.