Ratings based on 2,914 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Wonderful even in the fog

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: location on the beach, time and space to enjoy the ocean, sounds, birds, view from our room
Cons: Both beds need replacing. Although we enjoyed our meals at Spinner's, one of us lost it all around midnight...definitely food poisoning and not over-
Location: n/a
We loved the feeling of floating over the ocean in the nearly total quiet of the fog, watching the black birds land on the water and dive for food, then emerge and fly-skip over the top of the still water like so many launched stones. Except for the beds, which were a bit bouncy and hollowed out in the middle, our room was perfect, a comfortable size, nicely appointed, tastefully decorated, and the bath was the most thoughtfully designed we've ever seen. We look forward to our return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Pros: It is on the waterfront.
Cons: More menu choices at the restaurant.
Location: A great Antique store in next block for antique shoppers/browsers Glass bottoms boat tour at Fisherman's wharf.
Very nice clean and spacious room with balcony. Friendly and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

LOVELY HOTEL close to the Aquarium

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: close to the aquarium and the 2 day pass they offer to their guests!!! Facilities and restaurant.
Cons: window locks!
Location: conveniently located to everything!!! Monterey bay Aquarium, kayaking, shops and other restaurants nearby.
always wanted to stay at this hotel. Finally did on my bday! Conveniently located along cannery row. So if you are looking into going to the aquarium, this is less than a mile away from it. PLUS they offered a 2day pass ticket to the aquarium at a regular price of one! so perfect for families with young children! I think that was the best thing for me staying at this hotel since we have a 2 yo in tow! Lovely hotel. The views they have on their deck area is spectacular. I LOVE their restaurant (Schooners)! They also do room service! Loved it. The spa area on the rooftop is also very nice according to my hubby. The hotel facilities are very nice. The room itself I feel like is just okay. It was clean but nothing special. Could use some updates. Although the one we were given had a view of the cannery row and some water view. So it was nice to people-watch. What i did not like are the windows. If you have an older toddler who can easily open windows,Beware. They can easily fall over the window/building. The lever was low enough for them to reach especially if they'd be standing on the chair by the window. They need to put a lock to that. I got bites though. Flea or bed bug. I think I got it from the chair I was sitting on :(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Lauderdale

Whale watching in Monterey

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Lodge like feel, high quality furnishings, beautiful sitting areas for viewing the bay. Full service restaurant, bar, and in room dining.
Cons: I hate mandatory resort fees, added whether you use any of the services or not. At $39.00 a night they can add up. Include them in the room price.
Location: Monterey is a coastal town. Enjoy the views, take a drive through Pebble beach, look out for whales, which can be spotted from shore with binoculars.
After a week in SF we drove along the Pacific coast to Monterey, enjoying the coastal views along the way. Also, don't miss the 17 mile Pebble Beach drive for its stunning views of rustic, coastal California. The hotel itself was a very pleasant lodge like resort, with its own stunning views of the bay and city. The hotel is full service and has an excellent restaurant. The same menu is available for room service, and at the same price. Our king size room was large, comfy, had two balconies, one with a view of the bay, the other the city. The balconies are narrow, but large enough for two to sit comfortably out doors. The room also had a sitting area which included both comfortable lounge chairs and a couch, coffee table, etc.. Room service was impeccable, with a nightly check up to see if your room needed tidied up, or extra coffee. Meal service to the room was also rapid and excellent. Valet parking only is a bit slow. Expect 15 to 20 minute wait times after calling for your car. Attendants were polite and helpful though, offering water, advice and maps. Check in and check out was easy with highly professional but personable staff at the desk. We were provided with maps and suggestions on what to do, where to eat, etc.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Be prepared to have your patience tested.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Let me begin by saying that the Plaza is a great facility and for the most part, the staff is friendly. By the end of our 3 night stay though we came to the conclusion that the hotel is understaffed. It began with dinner the first night at Schooners. We didn't make a reservation (bad on us) and so the hostess told us we would have a 35 minute wait so we went to the bar. We sat at the bar for 50 minutes and the whole time there were two tables open right near us. When we finally went to inquire they said it would be just a little longer. 10 minutes later we checked again and then they tried to seat us at one of the two tables that had been empty the entire time! Then the wait staff was clueless and ran off with our menus before we ordered. When we finally got our dinner the food was quite good. All three mornings we went to the cafe on site. The coffee and pastries were excellent but once again the process of procuring them was frustrating. The lines were long and it was just too slow. The people were working hard and friendly but it was at least a 30 minute process each day. The last straw was the valet at checkout. We had been told to allow 5-10 minutes. When we called down they said they were busy and to expect 15-20. We went down in 15 minutes. After waiting for 35 minutes we checked with the desk and they said the car was "in route." 10 minutes later still no car. We checked again. After another 10 minutes the car finally showed up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WI

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Spacious room.....friendly staff! Only wish we could have stayed longer!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017
This is the first time I've been in the hotel and it is an awesome experience. The view is good and the facility is clean and nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Aug 3, 2017
We were there for 3 nights, the facility was nice as well as the staff. We were delighted to find that the hotel offer free schuttle service around the town and also free bicycles to use. We had dinner at the restaurant twice it was a great, food and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very Relaxing - great stay!

Posted Aug 2, 2017
We love staying at this hotel. Thank you for always being so accommodating and professional. Great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Perfect location

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: Nothing
Excellent location. Restaurant excellent. Staff excellent