Ratings based on 3,023 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
My husband and I came to Monterey for a mini baby moon getaway. We were very pleased when we booked the hotel because of all of the amenities but when we actually arrived I was quite disappointed. For starters we had to walk across the street from the hotel to get to our room, our view was of a bunch of bushes and other rooms that could look in, I also didn’t like that the fire place was also across the street, not near our room. It was misleading on the website. The first night we stayed we got a knock on our door and it was a staff member informing us that the jacuzzi and spa would be closed for a couple of nights, which meant that we would not have access to those amenities. This hotel was not cheap, so to have that taken away was hugely inconvenient. Very disappointed!! Monterey was beautiful but wish we would have stayed in a different hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The hotel was right on the bay.
Cons: Beds were a little uncomfortable for me. Just a bit too hard.
Location: The hotel is at the beginning of Cannery Row and close to everything.
Beautiful hotel. The hotel staff were amazing from checking in to the valet. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Dionne in Schooner's Restaurant was top notch. We couldn't have ask for a better stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Hotel charges resort fee

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Cons: Drop the resort fee, fix the machines and extend the hours of the jacuzzi.
Hotel charges a resort fee which is a joke. Their rationale is that they have work out facilities, 2 jacuzzis, valet and internet (which they say is free). News flash...most hotels have work out facilities, plus a pool, jacuzzi and internet which they do not charge for, plus their work out facilities actually comes with equipment that work. Funny thing is that the workers say this is a common complaint with guests. Most other hotels don't limit their jacuzzi to 8-8 either. Location is not downtown but in Cannery district.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oakland, Ca

Great hotel with all the amenities

Posted Nov 12, 2017
My husband and I celebrated my 69th b’day, and was able to enjoy the magnificent views from the spa. Drinks at Schooners and the views, matter of fact the views were everywhere! Staff was excellent and very friendly and helpful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south australia

Fantastic hotel!

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Fantastic room, overlooking the bay. Could see sea otters from our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from utah

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Excellent service and amazing hotel property located in a beautiful area of California
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pa.

Clean and Peacefull Hotel,but no smoking.

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Very Attentive Staff, Clean with a Great view.
Cons: Some kind of smoking area .
Location: Great Location, right on the Bay, near the Aquarium, close to the dock and many other sight seeing plac
Nice location, We went out Wale Watching, saw approximately 15 individual wales by noon. Then we drove to Big Sir with a great view of the Ocean thru a hole in the costal rocks! Third to Julie Phieffer state park where a small water fall goes into the Ocean, pristine, then back to Fishermans warf for a great dinner and a surprise Rose for my Honey. What a Day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Great location to relax. Clean room. Friendly Staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

woke up to the bark of seals

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: decor, spacious room, location, view, cleanliness
Location: Cannery Row, Aquarium, walk and bike path, harbor nearby, observe wildlife from window
We really enjoyed this beautiful hotel. Our harbor-view, 2Q room was very spacious, clean and pleasant. Enjoyed the afternoon hors d'oeuvres, the Friday evening jazz in the lobby and the restaurant downstairs. Excellent coffee shop on the ground floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orland Park, IL

Monterey Bay Visit

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Clean and quite!
Location: Plenty to do nearby. Went on a whale watching trip, drove down to Carmel. Great place!
We came down after a 7 day stay in San Francisco and we were very pleased with our stay at the Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa. It was very clean, quite and comfortable. One drawback would be that the hotel is spread out into three buildings. The couple we were traveling with were in building 1 and we were in building 3. the layout makes it confusing to get around but we managed.