Ratings based on 2,996 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Beautiful partial ocean view, however still slightly expensive for experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victor, NY

Beautiful hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: Great location, wonderful food, beautiful accomodations
This is a beautiful hotel on the water... You could watch sea otters and other wildlife right from the balcony and common areas outside. The food at the restaurant was wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Beautiful

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Lovely hotel, beautiful area. Hotel was in great location. Nice little shops
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from minnesota

50th Birthday

Posted Oct 8, 2017
It was my wifes 50th Birthday. Hotel is the best on cannery row. Great seal watching right at the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

Great view beautiful room

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Room overlooking Monterey Bay, spacious, one of the nicest hotel rooms I ever stayed in. Amenities in the hotel were great gym, hot tub and not the least was the overall experience I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an upscale experience in Monterey.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts

Wonderful spot to experience Monterey

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Anniversary trip for me and my husband. This was our final overnight on a PCH 1 road trip that started in LA and ended in San Francisco. Beautiful room with a beautiful view of the harbor. Just book the waterview now. We booked a street view then upgraded to harbor view and it cost more than if we just booked it originally through expedia but it's worth it. They even put binoculars in the room for you to use! Really, if you're going to Monterey, then you want the water view anyway. The hotel is a 5 min walkable distance to the other attractions on Cannery Row and fisherman's warf but away from the crowd. It's also just a 5 min walk to great restaurants on Lighthouse and is right along the walking/bike trail that continues to Pacific Grove. $29 nightly fee for valet parking (only parking option) and access to rooftop lounge/jacuzzi.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

It wasn't' as Good As I Had Hoped

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The lobby was very nice
It was a beautiful hotel but the room was small and overlooked the street with a small view of the ocean. They mixed up our credit cards and charge the wrong card instead of the one they should have. Everyone was very friendly almost too friendly it wasn't heart felt at all. I don't think that we will come back to this hotel, there are other hotels in that area that looked just as nice and possibly will charge our correct credit card.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, UK

Outstanding. Ocean view upgrade well worth it.

Posted Oct 2, 2017
This is a beautiful hotel where staff cannot do enough for you. The restaurant food was outstanding. The view from our large ocean view room was beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Vacation Unwind

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Pros: Staff, amenities, location, views
The Monterey Plaza Hotel was the perfect location for perfect destination. The hotel staff, room, amenities, were warm and welcoming from the first step. Friendly and helpful staff, large rooms and unbeivably beautiful views steeped in history. Our room was comfortable with a small balcony letting in the fresh sea air. Turn down service, plush towels and robes, and a king size bed so comfortable sleep was like being at home. Before heading out in the morning, take a few minutes, grab a coffee and sit out in the sun on the terrace over looking the bay to watch otters, birds, kayakers and so much more. The hotel is steps away from the beach, park, Cannery Row, every possible dining experience and shopping and the incredible Monterey Bay Aquarium. The Monterey Plaza is the place to stay in Monterey
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: The staff was excellent.
Cons: Thanks he bed was big and fluffy but very uncomfortable through out the night.
Great hotel and a great view of the Monterey Bay. Would tell my friends to stay here.