Ratings based on 2,554 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from tu

Overpriced

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Love the location ,right on the water. I don't love the lack of privacy. People walk back and forth pass our window, the same one we paid $400 a nite to enjoy the view. Room service took 40 mins+ the first nite, comes breakfast it took 1HR and a half!! Never been in a place that took so long. I stayed in many nice hotel, this place doesn't meet expectation!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Loomis CA

Posted Feb 20, 2017
The hotel is Average. Why we would go back: Great ocean view with beach access. I believe the only one in Monterey. Close to town and things to do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hi, thank you for your review and I am deeply sorry that we did not give you a 5 star experience. We are indeed the only hotel right on the beach in the Monterey area and I am glad you enjoyed it. Hope to see you back soon so that we cam improve on your previous stay. Kind Regards, William
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I had a very nice time been right at the water

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The accommodation and the view of the ocean
It was excellent been so close the water and the hwy and bessicaly be able to go any where and visit different areas and come back to a hotel where the ocean view is beatyful, Thank you I had a nice time
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hello! We love 5 star reviews and we love you! I have shared your great feedback and comments with the team here and they are delighted. Can't wait to welcome you back soon so that you can enjoy the view and ocean again! See you soon, William
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hickman California

next time.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
We had a wonderful time here, everything from the staff to the view was beyond what we had expected. Next time for sure we will be bringing the four legging family member so he could enjoy the experience we had. The only con I would say is the bathroom door should be a pocket door so there room to move around and the shower should have a door, it got a little wet in there, but other then the doors, nothing to complain about.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 19, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Hello Amelia, Thank you so much for your amazing review! We were so happy to read that you had such a wonderful time and that you will be coming back. We love four legged guests and even have a special doggy menu for them to enjoy. See you soon! William
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Great location steps away from the beach.

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Hotel was very nice with multiple options for eating without having to leave. The staff was very kind and helpful. The views were great and the hotel was central to stores, shopping and groceries. I want to go back soon. I love the lobby and all the cozy/ modern areas to sit and look out at the view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 17, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Hello Ashley, Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We can't wait to have you back to stay with us so you can hang out in our great lobby again! See you soon, William
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay area

Nice. Close to the beach.

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Nice view of the ocean from our room. Clean room, with great staff help. Will definitely stay there again later this year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you so much for your 5 star review! We love 5 star reviews and that is what we strive for. The ocean view from the rooms and lobby is simply breathtaking and we cant wait to welcome you back later this year. Take Care, William
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The view is the best you can get!!!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The view is the best!!! They charge you an extra fee when you get out, some resort thing!!! I didn´t like that.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Hi! We love our view too! Its the best view around from any hotel and we are so happy that you liked it. We do charge a small Resort Fee per day which is disclosed at the time of booking. It includes lots of goodies that other hotels charge for such as parking, WiFi, free in room Starbucks coffee and complimentary water each day. Thanks so much for your review! William
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I spent a great weekend here with my family and will always remember the good memories we had.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 12, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Hello! A 5 star review! You are a superstar! We enjoyed having you as much as you enjoyed staying at Monterey Tides and we cant wait to welcome you back. See you soon. William
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Great veiw, great food, great location and great staff.. but rooms could use some work, prices kinda high and toilet paper was the cheapest roughest ever..
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for your review. Although you seemed to love many aspects of the hotel I am sorry that you did not like our rooms as much. Next time you plan on visiting us please kindly request one of our fantastic ocean views rooms. I am positive that they will not disappoint you! Many Thanks, William
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Feb 3, 2017
We had a nice stay, room was clean and comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by William, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your great view and comments about the room. It is our aim to provide every guest with an exceptional experience and I hope that you will return soon so that next time we can get a 5 star review from you! Many Thanks, William