Ratings based on 2,681 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

VIEW!

Posted May 23, 2017
Spectacular view. Wonderful view of the ocean. Able to have bonfire at night. Love!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice view of the ocean!

Posted May 19, 2017
Nice room and easy access from the parking area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, Washington

Beautiful location, excellent view of the water!

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Location, food, service all top notch.
Cons: If you value your car's finish, park in the garage! Between the wind and the birds our car ended up pretty well decorated; no permanent harm.
Location: This. is directly on the Monterey beach, at the northern end. The Monterey aquarium is nearby.
We stopped here on our way down the California coast to Disneyland, turned out to be an excellent choice! Great restaurant and service! We'll stay longer next time so that we can enjoy the area further.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Do not be deceived by their advertising.

Posted May 15, 2017
We had a terrible night's stay. The room was below the first floor of the hotel and it was filthy, smelling like mildew. Do not be deceived by their advertising and online photos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n

Hotel by the sea

Posted May 15, 2017
I paid extra for ocean view and I was not disappointed. The staff were friendly and they had good facility for the guests. I only wish they would have a coffee cart and pastries for breakfast. There was also a lack of nightly entertqinment like music venue at the lobby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice outside. Didn't like the room

Posted May 15, 2017
Lobby and areas for outside were very nice. They made it very cozy and welcoming. The room in the pictures on Expedia look much better online then the room looks in person. Also the walls seemed very thin.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view but rooms are not great

Posted May 8, 2017
The lobby area is very comfortable and has an amazing view. We saw whales right out the windows during our entire stay. The room has horrible lighting. i could clearly hear talking, water running, and blow dryer from the adjoining rooms. The bed was not great. It is also a good distance from Monterey. You need a car or to uber to go to town. Staff was friendly particularly the bar staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ventura County, CA

Wonderful location close to sand and Monterey

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Location, quality rooms
Cons: My guest services lady was a bit rushed and I didn't feel welcomed, although she was busy.
Location: Centrally located for anything Monterey
This is one of my favorite hotels of all to go to, especially right before a storm comes through, because the hotel is right on the surf and you can actually feel the waves pounding the sand when you are laying in the gorgeous beds. I've been coming to this hotel for decades under various flags and management, and it is also really fun in the summer on sizzling hotel days. Those are my favorite times to attend. The hotel used to be more rustic, attended to by locals, and was a hidden value; now times have changed and you can expect more upscale, better restaurant quality, and to pay more. They put a lot of money into renovating the rooms and they are gorgeous. The amenities remind me of San Francisco boutique hotel quality. You could walk to Monterey on the beach if you wanted to, but it would be a couple of miles. The view of Monterey from this hotel at night is extraordinary. There are meeting rooms and the night life at the hotel these days reminded me more of a Friday or Saturday night than a Wednesday night in early May. Still like the hotel a lot and will stay again but I liked it in the past just as well for different reasons. The location is outstanding. I hope this review can help you make an informed decision for your needs when in the Monterey Bay Area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not What it Used to Be

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Location to the beach.
Cons: Check in follow up,call if you say you will call and let a person know the room check in is delayed. Toiletry amenities.
Location: Location was on the beach.
Our check in was very disappointing. Yes we did arrive early and our room wasn't ready. I completely understand that. But the clerk assured me she would call me when the room was ready. I never received a call. We returned to the hotel 45 minutes after check in time and I was told our room was still not ready. They put us in a different room at the other end of the hotel, far, far from where we suppose to be. We have stayed here many times before but it is just not the same anymore. It seems that they cater to business travelers. The toiletry amenities and towels in the room were insufficient, and the Wifi did not work. We will not be going back. Highly disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

My stay at Monterey Tides

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: location and view
Cons: Respect guests privacy and comfort
Location: not too many restaurants close by. next to state beach that is open to public.
Great location. outstanding view. Too noisy specially first floor where other guest hang out until very late at night and talk loud. How you can get some sleep with all the noise?