Ratings based on 2,870 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Awesome beach hotel

Posted Nov 23, 2017
It was great location. On the beach. Great view Liked the access to the beach and to Monterey. Clean. Great access to highway 1. The pool and lobby were fantastic. They provided fire kits to make fire on the beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Short but very pleasant stay, love the views, beach and the lobby with the large glass windows.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Away from the hustle and bustle

Posted Nov 18, 2017
This hotel is directly on its own giant beach. You’re welcome to have a bonfire on the beach. The rooms facing the ocean were great, however too bad they aren’t more private as anyone can walk past and look into your window if your curtains are up. However, the walkways are wide enough we could put our hotel chairs right outside our room and sit and watch the waves, drinking our own wine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ft Lauderdale

Beware and not worth $$$

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Don’t believe everything you see online. This property is awful! Old, rust, mildew, dirty, etc etc Website pictures show modern spacious rooms... they are small cramped beat up furniture, dirty carpet, common areas dirty, Elevators are small and scary to ride. The ac sounds like a jet liner in your room. It is a shame is not in better condition because it is right on the ocean front. The rates of the rooms are totally over priced for the quality of accommodations. Awful awful. I feel I’ve been ripped off!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B-ham

disappointed

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: renovated.. rooms weren't worth what we were charged.
Location: N/A
got to hotel and was greeting by a very nice gentleman. he checked me in and was very helpful. got to our room and our air conditioner wouldn't work. went to front desk to advise and they sent a maintenance person to get it working. around 2 am it quit working but didn't go through contacting the front desk for the repair to come back. while they were repairing the A/C we went to get a bite to eat. we had to go to the bar because the waitress was just a server not a real waitress. THE FOOD WAS AWFUL. It was put under a heat lamp and dried out.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Right on the beach

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: It's on the beach.
Cons: Make sure it's priced appropriately.
Location: It's right on the beach! If you feel like walking a fair distance, you can walk on the beach all the way to Fisherman's Wharf and the aquarium.
I got a pretty good deal on my room but I've read some of the other reviews and I do agree that charging $300 for these rooms is outrageous. The rooms are not fancy -- they're not different from your slightly-above-average motel -- but they are clean and well-maintained. That said, it's RIGHT ON THE BEACH and that's really what you're paying for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Good food. Soft bed. Loud waves. Beautiful sun rise. Coarse sand. Good times
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Hotel close to the beach

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Front desk service - more experienced staff
Location: Great location
My wife and I and our friends stayed on the 7/11/2017. We were all of the opinion that the hotel was not being maintained as well as other places that we have stayed. Our book-in time was 4pm. We arrived early ( at approximately 2.45) Our room was not ready until 4.40pm even though the hotel did not appear to be busy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Great ocean view within walking distance, orcquick drive, to Cannery Row. Great beach, bay and sunset views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, Ca.

Nice hotel with wonderful ocean views and access.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: The lobby was big with lots of seating with ocean views.
Cons: The bathroom are extremely small with older plumbing.
Location: The hotel is located only a few miles from the wharf and aquarium.
I stayed at this same hotel five years ago and it was a dump. It has been completely rebuilt and now it is clean and beautiful. The only draw back was the elevator did not work for the two days we stayed. I am in wheel chair and I had to use the service elevator and travel through the back work areas. They did not comp me anything for the inconvenience.