Ratings based on 2,744 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel on the beach!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Watched the sun set on Monterey beach! Enjoyed the laid back atmosphere.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Oceanfront upgrade not worth it

Posted Jul 17, 2017
We recently booked tides for the weekend and upgraded for oceanfront room but be aware of the conditions of the room before you book. The oceanfront rooms are right infront of the ocean but you have people walking right in front of your window. There's no privacy. The long shared balcony acts as hallway. Of course not for romantic getaway as there's no privacy and the public access to beach makes it always crowded. They seem low staff so do not excpect any service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Very outdated and dirty. It was like staying at a cheap motel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice old hotel by the beach

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: located on the beach, short commute to shopping/restaurants
Cons: toilets & shower to be completely replaced, carpets to be washed or completely replaced, lamps / decor in room to be dusted off.
Location: conveniently located literally on the beach, restaurant in the hotel had good food with a beautiful view but quantity of food was minimal
dont expect the ARIA or COSMOPOLITAN hotel when coming here...it is super old with minimal cosmetic face-lift done on premises, the only beautiful part about this hotel is it's view from the lobby, the lobby's cleanliness/design layout and that's about it. but if you're not the kind that's used to brand-new hotels (vegas style) then this'll do as it is somewhat clean, the cleaning staff were very nice, it is located on the beach (just walk down the steps out onto the sand), prices are reasonable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hudson, FL

Poor parking, great views

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: view
Cons: Fix shower, add wifi range extender, service rooms daily
Location: good location close to start of Monterrey.
Poor parking on right side..need to park way at other end of hotel. No wifi near ends of hotel, have to sit in lobby for that. Room service is upon request so we had unmade beds two out of 5 nights and no towels. Shower poor design. Only half glass and floor gets soaked. Great views in lobby. Disappointed for what we paid here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Out dated kind of 70s looking.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
The elevator sucks Website is misleading to what you really get. Pay for parking Pay for beach access Pay for pool access etc. loud. When people turn the water on in a different room it sounds like a static tv Chanel at full volume. Sorry for the bad review but it just was not a pleasant stay for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. Directly on the beach.

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Hotel staff was very accommodating to make our stay enjoyable. Rooms could use some updating and drainage needs some assistance. Awesome location! It was a a shame that the weather didn't cooperate so we could enjoy the outside ammenities. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Amazing view from lounge area

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: nothing
Location: The walk around Carmel was neat
We were surprised about the cold weather but despite that we loved being directly on the ocean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent view!

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Stayed here for one night. Got an ocean view room which was the best part about staying here. Great to have an ocean view right on the beach. The lobby area was also amazing. There was a bar with some couches so you could sit there and look at the view as well. We did not eat at the restaurant, so I can't give an opinion on that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A pleasant surprise right on the beach.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
This hotel was a pleasant surprise right on the beach. As far as the hotel I would've enjoyed a little bit bigger room . But overall a great find. I but overall a great find Booked through Expedia but found out later I would've got a better deal booking directly to the hotel