Ratings based on 2,804 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elizabeth CO. 80107

Very nice hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Great hotel with great views and good ammenities. The restaurant was great as well and we ate there several times. Beautiful sunsets and will definetely return. Thank you Steve F
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic location

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: The location...can't beat the beach front and views
Cons: Cleanliness of the grounds. Perhaps hire more maintenance people.
Location: Very close to everything!
I have always loved this hotel, however the cleanliness and upkeep of the facility is lacking from what it used to be. There was a lot of trash scattered around the main areas outside. Not the clean and tidy place it once was.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dated Hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2017
They have remodeled some of the hotel, and our room was done but the bathroom wasn't done right. You couldn't adjust the water temp, it was either really hot or cold no in between. Disappointing when your spending a lot of money to stay at a hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

overpriced / bad

Posted Sep 11, 2017
this hotel is so overpriced for what it offers. $ 300 a night with no ocean view. Rooms are small, dark painted, unappealing. old carpet. Building is moldy and old. We stayed there because it is on the beach. Bad idea. the beach is very dirty and the ocean water is so filthy and foamy and muddy. It is a public beach so all kinds of yahoos go there and leave trash all over. Save your money go somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Cod

California dream!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Easy access to Airport, town, presidio and right on the beach! Excellent staff- lots of activities for all ages. Family movie night, corn hole, fire dancers, camp fires on the beach. Pet friendly! They even get dolphins and seals to swim back and forth all day! Will definitely come back! The price is fantastic, too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from greenbrae

Great location, we had a great time.

Posted Sep 5, 2017
No hotel is really nice, right in the sea, you can hear the ocean even if your room is not facing it. Steph and overall really nice and clean and good. I'll be happy to go back there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Poor Upkeep on grounds

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Ocean Front experience
Cons: Cleanliness of the common areas
You will not beat the ocean front experience that this hotel has to offer. Unfortunately, it is very poorly managed. My wife and I sat in one of the common areas where people were ordering food from the kitchen. The dirty plates where sitting all over the common area from 3PM until the next morning - no one came around to clean up the common areas - it was disgusting! The thing is - plenty of hotel staff walked past the mess but I guess it 'wasn't their jobs'. I sure hope they get their act together because the location is second to none.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Mediocre hotel and stolen property

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Best feature: hotel is right on the beach Cons: 1. Front desk guy wasn't very friendly 2. They changed our 2 queen room to 1 king bc "we saw it was only two adults" Didn't even tell us at check in that it was changed. What if I'd been with a colleague? They'd expect us to share a bed?? 3. Restaurant host pointed out the bathrooms only to find all 4 toilets overflowing. Went to tell him & he already knew. Why send me to them if he knew?!? Gross. 4. Pool wasn't open on time & staff didn't seem to know where the keys were. 5. Left our iPad in the nightstand. Went back to get it and it was gone. Only people who'd been in there since we'd left was the housekeeper and room checker. We know 100% that we left it there. NOTHING worse @a hotel than thieving staff. Manager was less than helpful but Monterey PD was awesome! Shout out to Officer Holden! Crappy end to our stay. Besides the stolen iPad, this place is totally mediocre for the price. We will never go back and will warn all friends & family to stay away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fresno, CA

Wonderful hotel on the beach

Posted Aug 31, 2017
I loved the proximity of the hotel to the beach. It was easy to spend all your time on the beach. The hotel had great views from the lobby and from the restaurant and from the ocean front rooms. The only drawback in the room that I had was the bathroom area was very small but beyond that I loved the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Ok hotel. Close to beach.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
The hotel is nice but needs some updating in several areas. The keypads on the door are very outdated and did not work properly. We checked in the hotel at 4 o'clock and by the next morning , We had been down to the desk to get a set of different keys six times!. They finally had maintenance take a look at the problem, it still was not repaired. Staff was helpful but like I said a lot of things are outdated but you can see that they're trying to fix things up. Will maybe give it another chance later down the line .