Ratings based on 2,580 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from murrieta, ca

Nice hotel!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
I cannot believe the view here. It is amazing! The ocean sounds were amazing and the beach is literally a step away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Not really "Ocean view" rooms. Not a family place.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The view and access to miles of beach. We saw dolphins swimming by from the 4th floor balcony. Hotel provides pool towels/beach towels.
Cons: Need another casual diner-type restaurant for families. The formal restaurant and bar have super views, but the menus were disappointing.
Location: Don't expect to walk places as it is right off busy highway. You can walk down the beach a mile or so and access the wharfs I think. We did not.
If you book an ocean view room, know that the giant window in your room has the public walkway in front of it. All the oceanside rooms appear to be this way. So while technically your room has an ocean view, anyone can stand on that walkway and get the same view. There is no privacy to your view. You can put a privacy one way shade down, but you still see people walking by your room and the screen shades your "ocean view." You also have a room darkening shade to put down for sleeping. King bed room was small and really no room for a roll away bed - though we fit one in. Lobby bar and restaurant not a place for kids - it is more a trendy boutique place to have a business conference. Located right ON beach - biggest plus! Located right off highway too. If you like to sleep to crashing wave sounds (not gentle rolling waves) you will love the noise from "ocean view" room. It (and elevator noise on 2nd floor) was too much for me. Staff kindly moved us to 4th floor and comped a larger 2 queen room. No close walkable restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2017
We extended our stay in Monterey for a night and on our last night we stayed here. It was perfect for my family of 3. We walked just steps from our room to the beach and built sand castles. As we were leaving the next day everyone in my family agreed that we wish we had more days to stay and experience more of the hotel amenities. We are planning a return trip and will definitely book here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you so much for your great review and I am so happy to read that your family had an amazing time with us. I hope that you will return soon and that next time you will stay with us for longer! Best, William
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, Ca

Hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Anyone can put a hotel on the beach, however when it came to trying to sleep, there were many distractors, from people walking around to and the bonfires right next door to the room. There was also a huge issue in false advertising, the pictures shown for the room were generic and didn't show a bonfire/concrete wall separating us from the ocean, very misleading was expecting a full on private atmosphere, which didn't happen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hello! Thanks so much for your review and feedback. Feedback from our guests is so very important to us and serves as a vital tool for us to improve. I am sorry that you did not like your rooms. We are very clear in the descriptions of the rooms that the ocean view rooms on the ground floor do have a restricted view of the ocean due to the sea wall. I am sorry that you felt that we were still misleading. Kind Regards, William
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very beautiful view!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
My sister and I had a great experience. The hotel staff were very friendly. Right from the beginning of our experience the front man upgraded our room for free so that we may view the ocean from our window since it was my sisters bachelorette party. We were impressed by how funny and sweet he was. We talked about Dubai as that is where he was from. The view was phenomenal! We loved our room but the only downfall is how loud the waves were. This isn't anyone's fault though. They have an amazing bar with good food and drinks as well. We had a great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hello! Thanks so much for your amazing review! I am so happy that you had a great stay and that my team gave you a great upgrade to an ocean front room. Thanks for your kind comments about the Front Desk team, I have passed on your kind comments to them and they are delighted! See you soon, William
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from a

Descent hotel on the beach

Posted Mar 15, 2017
being on the beach is the only benefit to staying in this hotel. It is outdated, gym small, no vending machines, doesn't serve lunch & meal prices high. Had room on 1 st floor facing beach & loud people up late hours right outside our room on patio area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hello Laura, Thanks so much for your review and feedback. We have renovated all of our rooms, lobby, bar and pool so I am sorry that you feel that the hotel was still outdated. We do offer a great lunch in our restaurant overlooking Monterey Bay, I am sorry that you could not experience it. Thanks for the mention about the location, being the only hotel in Monterey that is directly on the beach, we really do have a unique location. Many Thanks, William
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unexpected charges

Posted Mar 14, 2017
After paying fully in advance, I was told at check in that there would be an additional $25 per day "resort charge". When I asked what it was for, I was told parking and Wi-Fi. I replied I wasn't leaving a car and wasn't going to use the Wi-Fi. I was told I had to pay the $25 a day anyway. Dishonest and sneaky!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. We do charge a $25 a day resort fee. The fee includes great amenities such as parking, in room Starbucks coffee, pool towels, complimentary bottled water and more. We are sure to be transparent with our charges and we make mentions of the resort fee on our own website. In addition the resort fee is stated as an extra charge on all Expedia confirmations. I am sorry that you did not see this on your confirmation. Kind Regards, William
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madera, Ca

Great location, great rooms

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Right on the beach, quiet rooms and close to everything. I highly recommend this place to everyone. Only bad thing was no continental breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hi Sarina! Thanks so much for your 5 star review! We love you! We are so happy that you had a wonderful stay with us and can't wait for you to come back. See you soon. William
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis

Great beach access, modern hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2017
Pros: Modern updates, location, beach access, fires on the beach at night, pool and hot tub
Cons: Check in, staff friendliness
Location: Monterrey Bay, Carmel-by-the-Sea, 17 mile drive
This hotel has awesome access to Monterrey Bay. We stayed one night and went for a walk by the beach. Other guests had made a fire and invited us to join in. We also took advantage of the outdoor hot tub and pool while there, which was great. The rooms are modern and up to date and felt clean. We did have multiple issues with our room keys. We also did have to have our smoke alarm serviced as it was beeping when we first arrived. Someone did come within 10 minutes of us calling to replace the battery, so that was appreciated. Also our room was not on the beach side, but on the freeway side and you could hear traffic throughout the night, especially in the early morning. Front desk staff would have been nicer during the check in and check out process, but overall it was a positive experience at a wonderful location. Thank you!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hello, thank you very much for your review and feedback. I was very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. I am so sorry that there was an issue with your smoke detector when you arrived. All of our smoke detectors are on a rotating inspection schedule and we are looking into what happened with your room. Next time you come please be sure to book one of our wonderful ocean view rooms. They are truly magical and nothing beats them. Kind Regards, William
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Mar 9, 2017
I was expecting that the hotel building is more renovated because its price was high.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by william, Hotel Management
Hello! Thanks so much for your review and feedback. The lobby, rooms, pool and bar have been completely renovated. The outside of the building is slightly older however still has much charm and character. Hope to see you back again soon for another stay. Regards, William